Friday, Apr 19 2019 | Time 00:20 Hrs(IST)
  • CPI backs Diggy in Bhopal
  • 'Defamation case against Ratan Tata, other directors of Tata Sons with non-application of mind': HC
  • CPI backs Diggy in Bhopal
  • MI beat DC by 40 runs
  • Modi snatched public money to benefit few industrialists: Rahul
  • BJP expels rebels Manikrao Kokate, Bhausaheb Wackchoure for contesting against official nominees in Nashik, Shirdi
  • Suspension of cross-LoC trade will not help BJP: Mehbooba

Hyderabad’s Satyanarayana Raju blasts to easy victory

Chennai, Jul 6 (UNI) Satyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) from Hyderabad turned in a
brilliant performance to win the Pro-Stock 301-400cc class race in the second round
of the MRF MMSC fmsci Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship at the MMRT here on Friday.
Riding the KTM RC 390, Raju, a 20-year old Computer Science student, who won the championship
last year in the Honda CBR 150 category, authored a lights-to-flag victory that underlined
his absolute dominance in the six-lap race that saw him lead a 1-2 finish for his team,
Gusto Racing, with last year’s champion in this category, Kozhikode’s Amarnath Menon
coming in second ahead of local challenger Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alisha Abdullah).
Reflecting on the race, Raju, who also posted the fastest lap of the race (01:54.744)
that bettered his pole-winning time of 01:55.425 in the qualifying earlier on Friday
said “I had a good start and really pushed over the first three laps to open up a
comfortable gap. Thereafter, I eased a bit, not wanting to crash like I did in the
first round last month. Yeah, it feels good and I must also compliment the MRF slick tyres
which worked quite beautifully today with good grip, especially through the corners.”
While Raju vanished into the distance, behind him, Menon fought to hold off Prabhu
while behind them, battle raged on for minor positions in an entertaining race.
Earlier, in the premier Super Sport Indian 165cc class qualifying run, it was a familiar
story of defending champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing easing his way to pole position
with a scorching lap of 01:55.625 which, incidentally, was his best effort at the MMRT.
Second on the grid for Saturday’s Race 1 was arch-rival Rajiv Sethu of Idemitsu Honda
Ten10 Racing who timed 01:55.952, ahead of Deepak Ravikumar, also of TVS Racing (01:57.041).
Championship leader KY Ahamed (TVS Racing) who was the quickest in yesterday’s free practice
session could only put in just three laps due to dust in the carburettor, finished fifth
in 01:57.674 behind Sarath Kumar of Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing (01:57.516).
Others qualifying for pole positions in their respective categories were:
Pro-Stock 165cc: Mithun Kumar (Idemitsu Honda Ten10 Racing, 02:06.163).
Novice (165cc): Alexander AS (Sparks Racing) (02:09.323).
Girls: Sruthi Nagarajan (Apex Racing Academy) (02:15.891).
Idemitsu Honda India Talent Cup 2018 organised by MMSC:
Anish D Shetty (Hubballi) (02:05.032).
Novice (CBR 150): Kritik Vasan Habib (Karnataka) (02:13.568).
TVS One-Make Championship – Open (Apache RR310): Yashas RL (Bengaluru) (02:01.629).
Novice (Apache RTR 200): Karthik Mateti (Hyderabad) (02:15.511).
Girls (Apache RTR 200): Anne Jennifer (Chennai) (02:19.920).
Results (Provisional):
Pro-Stock (301-400cc) Race 1 (6 laps):
1. Sathyanarayana Raju (Gusto Racing) (11mins, 38.079secs);
2. Amarnath K Menon (Gusto Racing) (11:39.897);
3. Prabhu Arunagiri (Team Alish Abdullah) (11:40.966).
UNI KS SB 2048
More News

19 Apr 2019 | 12:00 AM

Mumbai got to off to a good start as both Rohit Sharma (30) and Quinton de Kock (35) shared a 57-runs-partnership, but a poor shot selection by Rohit gave a reason to home team to celebrate as Amit Mishra dismissed Rohit.

see more..

18 Apr 2019 | 11:57 PM

Chasing the target Delhi started on a positive note and they added 48 runs during their six over power play.

see more..
MI beat DC by 40 runs

MI beat DC by 40 runs

18 Apr 2019 | 11:41 PM

New Delhi, Apr 18 (UNI) Excellent bowling spell from Pandya brothers Krunal not out 37 and Hardik's magical 32 in the last overs helped Mumbai Indians beat hosts Delhi Capitals by 40 runs in the IPL here at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground on Thursday.

see more..
Mumbai Indians post 168 runs against Delhi Capitals

Mumbai Indians post 168 runs against Delhi Capitals

18 Apr 2019 | 9:59 PM

New Delhi, Apr 18 (UNI) Mumbai Indians posted a total of 168/5 runs against Delhi Capitals in the IPL match here at the Feroze Shah Kotla stadium on Thursday.

see more..

BCCI: Another Me Too?

18 Apr 2019 | 8:09 PM

New Delhi, Apr 18 (UNI) A petition has been filed by a Delhi-based social activist before the Supreme Court seeking directions to sack Rahul Johri as BCCI CEO on the ground that several sexual harassment complaints had been registered against him.

see more..