Friday, Aug 7 2020 | Time 18:36 Hrs(IST)
  • Chhagan Bhujbal performs pooja as Bhavli dam overflows in Nashik
  • Three corona positive in Phagwara
  • UCO Bank reduces MCLR rates
  • Lanslide : Kerala govt seeks IAF help for rescue operation: CM
  • SAD terms CM Tarn Taran visit as photo op cum joy ride devoid of compassion for poor & dalits
  • Kolkata Centre For Creativity, Ina Puri and Mash join hands for 'STAND WITH BENGAL'
  • Bindra to participate in 'Sunfeast India Run As One' initiative to raise funds
  • MLA Dr Yathindra Siddaramiah tests positive for COVID-19
  • landslide: 15 ambulances, spl medical team dispatched to render medical assistance to those affected
  • Amara Raja Batteries Ltd reports a revenue Rs 1,151 04 crore and PAT of Rs 62 68 crores for qr ended June 30, 2020
  • Handloom awards conferred on weavers, artisans
  • TNPCB directs customs to clear 740 tons ammonium nitrate in 3 days
  • Kisan Rail to help farmers get proper market, price for their produce: Tomar
  • Setting an example, Sinha stays in guest house before taking oath as LG
  • SC refuses to entertain plea seeking NIA/CBI probe into agreement between Congress and Communist Party of China

Double for Sohil Shah in MRF F1600, maiden ITC win for Ishaan Dodhiwala

Chennai, July 21 (UNI) Bengaluru schoolboy Sohil Shah completed a fine double
in the premier MRF F1600 category as the third round of the MRF MMSC-FMSCI
Indian National Car Racing Championship drew to a close at the MMRT, here on
VW Motorsport’s Ishaan Dodhiwala from Hyderabad notched his maiden win in
the Indian Touring Cars class after his team-mate Karthik Tharani was disqualified
for a couple of infringements and subsequently banned for one race, while Rithvik
Thomas (Race Concepts) of Bengaluru chalked up his third win of the season in
the Super Stock category.
Other winners of the day were Viswas Vijayaraj (DTS Racing) in the Formula LGB
1300, while Mumbai’s Saurav Bandyopadhyay drove away with the honours in the
Volkswagen Ameo Class.
The saloon car race was fiery with Tharani being disqualified for his violations. The
Stewards subsequently slapped a one-race ban, which will take effect for the next
round of the championship scheduled for August 16 to 18.
Consequent to the disqualification, team-mate Dodhiwala was declared winner
followed by Nikanth Ram (ARKA Motorsports) and Arjun Balu (Race Concepts).
The Stewards, following the post-ITC race hearing with Tharani, ruled that ''the
competitor was called to give the explanation as to why he ignored the ‘drive
through’ penalty board for five laps and ignored the ‘black flag’ for the remaining
three laps of the race.
“In view of the fact that the competitor is a highly experienced driver and he is
also a driver-trainer, the Stewards were of the opinion that exemplary sanctions
should be imposed on this driver and a sentence of not being permitted a start
in the next race of this championship (One race only).”
Ireland’s Lucca Allen completed a double by winning both the Formula 4 SEA
races to make up for disappointing outings in yesterday’s double-header.
More News

Luis Garcia named new Mallorca coach

07 Aug 2020 | 4:59 PM

Madrid, Aug 7 (Xinhua) Former Getafe and Levante coach Luis Garcia Plaza has been named as the new coach of Mallorca.

see more..

Young hockey players need to learn right techniques early: Bharat Chetri

07 Aug 2020 | 4:38 PM

Bengaluru, Aug 7 (UNI) Former India hockey captain Bharat Chetri has said that younger players in the country need to learn the right techniques of the sport at an early age and urged them to upgrade their basic techniques while growing up.

see more..
ICC claims number 1 position in sports for video views on Facebook

ICC claims number 1 position in sports for video views on Facebook

07 Aug 2020 | 4:01 PM

Dubai, Aug 7 (UNI) The International Cricket Council's video channel on Facebook got the most number of views in the first half of 2020, receiving more than double the engagement of other global sporting federations, the cricketing body said on Friday.

see more..

Davila fires Pachuca to first win of new Liga MX season

07 Aug 2020 | 2:49 PM

Mexico City, Aug 7 (Xinhua) A first-half goal from Chilean forward Victor Davila gave Pachuca their first win of the Liga MX Apertura season.

see more..

Former champions Clijsters, Murray get 2020 US Open wild cards

07 Aug 2020 | 2:19 PM

Washington, Aug 7 (Xinhua) Former champions Kim Clijsters of Belgium and Andy Murray of Britain received wild cards to play the 2020 US Open, the organisers announced.

see more..