Friday, May 25 2018 | Time 06:40 Hrs(IST)
image image
  • N Korea says open to resolving issues with U S after Trump scraps summit -KCNA
  • France's Macron urges US, North Korea to continue efforts towards a summit
  • Trump-Kim summit called off after broken N Korea promises -U S official
  • Putin says failure to save Iran deal would have lamentable consequences
  • Putin says Moscow regrets cancellation of U S -North Korea summit
Sports Share

PKL season 5: Tamil beats UP Yoddha 34-33

Sonepat, Sept 13 (UNI) Tamil Thalaivas defeated UP Yoddha 34-33 here tonight at the Motilal Nehru School of Sports.
Ajay Thakur scored five points in the last minute to lead Tamil Thalaivas to a much-needed victory as they narrowly beat UP Yoddha 34-33.
It was just the Thalaivas second victory of the season and UP Yoddha were left to rue their errors. Thalaivas were second best for most of the match but came up the goods at critical moments of the match. Nitin Tomar scored 14 points for UP Yoddha but his effort went in vain.
Tamil Thalaivas remain rooted at the bottom of Zone B table with 21 points from 10 games. UP Yoddha are second with 37 points from 14 games.
Nitin Tomar got the UP Yoddha to a flying start as he scored with a two-point raid in the first minute. Tomar scored two more points as UP Yoddha asserted their dominance to lead 6-0 after three minutes. Tamil Thalaivas were reeling underthe Yoddha onslaught and suffered an all out to trail 1-9 in the fourth minute.
Ajay Thakur and Prapanjan scored raid points in the next two minutes as Thalaivas trailed 3-9. Prapanjan came up with a super raid in the 12 th minute as Thalaivas reduced the gap to five points.
Nitin Tomar scored two more raid pointsin the 19 th minute as UP Yoddha went into the break leading 18-12. Tamil Thalaivas began the second half brightly as they inflicted an all out in the 21 st minute to trail 16-20.
The next few minutes saw both teams trade raid and tackle points as it was 23-20 in favour of Yoddha in the 29 th minute. Yoddha defence sent back Ajay Thakur to the bench in the 33 rd minute as Nitesh Kumar achieved a high five and UP Yoddha led 26-21. With less than five minutes left on the clock,
Tamil Thalaivas trailed 23-26. Prapanjan scored with a two- point raid in the 37 th minute as Thalaivas trailed 25-26.
Tamil Thalaivas forced an all out in the 38 th minute to lead 29-28. Nitin Tomar came up with a super raid in the 38th minute to tilt the balance in Yoddhas favour as they led 31-29. Ajay Thakur scored a raid point in the 39th minute as Tamil
Thalaivas trailed 30-31. Ajay Thakur came up with a brilliant moment as he scored a super raid in the 40th minute to give Thalaivas 33-31 lead. Thakur scored another raid point in the dying seconds to lead his team to a 34-33 victory.
More News
Nagarjuna presents car to Badminton player Sikki Reddy

Nagarjuna presents car to Badminton player Sikki Reddy

24 May 2018 | 10:23 PM

Hyderabad, May 24 (UNI) Tollywood Hero Akkineni Nagarjuna and Telangana Badminton Association Vice President V Chamundeshwarinath on Thursday presented the Ford Eco Sport car to International Badminton player Sikki Reddy who had won bronze medal at Commonwealth Games at Gold coast, Australia.

 Sharesee more..

Sachin Tendulkar to attend sports festival on May 26 in Nagpur

24 May 2018 | 10:02 PM

Nagpur, May 24 (UNI) Cricket icon Sachin Tendulkar will attend the
concluding ceremony of 'Khasdar Krida Mohatsav' here on May 26,
sources said.

 Sharesee more..

Uber Cup: Japan, China, Korea, Thailand enter semi-final

24 May 2018 | 8:55 PM

Bangkok, May 24 (UNI) Top seeded Japan, China, Korea and Thailand won their respective matches on Thursday and entered into the finals of the Uber Cup Badminton competition.

 Sharesee more..
KKR and SRH to come up against each other in penultimate match of VIVO IPL 2018 on Friday

KKR and SRH to come up against each other in penultimate match of VIVO IPL 2018 on Friday

24 May 2018 | 8:26 PM

Kolkata, May 24 (UNI) Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Sunrisers Hyderabad will
come up against each other in the penultimate match of VIVO IPL 2018 at the Eden
Gardens here on Friday.

 Sharesee more..


24 May 2018 | 7:55 PM

The Sunrisers need their most-experienced bowler – Bhuvneshwar Kumar – to strike
a rich haul.

 Sharesee more..