Thursday, Feb 27 2020 | Time 17:33 Hrs(IST)
  • Police constable suspended for kicking suicide victim’s father
  • Day chill revisits Kashmir; Rain, snow predicted from Friday
  • Inclusive sanitation as part of urban agenda can’t be ignored to achieve 5 trillion dollars economy: Puri
  • Govt shops accused of selling liquor to selected companies without permits
  • Number of COVID-19 cases in Switzerland reaches four
  • Confer Auroville ‘University of Peace’ status: Prof Swaminathan
  • Well settled process followed in Justice Muralidhar's transfer: Law minister
  • Army Commander presents bravery awards to soldiers at Investiture Ceremony
  • Aravali Hills: Selja writes letter to Haryana CM
  • SIAM proposes to set up South Asian Automotive Forum
  • Sixth Coast Guard OPV 'Yard 45006' launched
  • Delhi violence: Board exam postponed for Feb 28, 29
  • Delhi violence: CBSE asks for details of affected students from schools
  • OIC condemns Delhi violence
  • Srinagar to have more flea markets, Mayor seeks registration of street vendors
States » East » CAE

Mizoram records 22 pc voting in first two hours

Mizoram records 22 pc voting in first two hours

Guwahati, Apr 11 (UNI) Mizoram witnessed 22 per cent turnout till 10 am in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

The lone Lok Sabha constituency six candidates in fray for the parliamentary seat of Mizoram which is reserved for the Scheduled Tribes (ST) community.

Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded C Lalrosanga, a former Indian Broadcasting Programme Service (IBPS) officer and retired Director General of Doordarshan.

Sports journalist Lalnghinglova Hmar, also known as Tetea Hmar, is contesting as an Independent candidate backed by key opposition parties Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and Congress.

BJP has fielded Nirupam Chakma, a veteran Chakma leader as well as the state vice-president of the party.

TBC Lalvenchhunga of the newly-floated People's Representation for Identity and Status of Mizoram (PRISM) is also in the fray.

Lastly, independent candidates Lalhriatrenga Chhangte and Lalthlamuani are also taking part in the contest.

Lalthlamuani, who runs an NGO for the Jewish community, is the only woman candidate contesting from the Mizoram seat.

Of the total 7.84 lakh voters, 4.02 lakh are women and 3.81 lakh men. There are 52,556 first-time voters and a total of 6 third gender voters in the state. Among the 1,175 polling stations, 117 will be women-only booths, officiated by female security personnel and officials.

Bru voters lodged in relief camps in Tripura would also exercise their franchise today.

There will be 15 special polling stations established especially at the Mizo-Tripura border village of Kanhmun, where 12,081 Bru voters will cast their votes.

The ECI has also instructed the Tripura government to arrange transportation of Bru voters from their camps on the voting day.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Mizoram had a voter turnout of 61.95 per cent.


More News

Man dies after casting vote at polling booth in Borio of Sahebganj

20 Dec 2019 | 4:21 PM

Sahebganj/Jamtara Dec 20 (UNI) A man in his mid-sixties died after casting his vote at booth number 149 in Chas village under Borio Assembly area of the district.

see more..
Battle for Jharkhand: Polling begins for second phase for 20 seats

Battle for Jharkhand: Polling begins for second phase for 20 seats

07 Dec 2019 | 7:19 AM

Ranchi, Dec 7 (UNI) Amid elaborate security arrangements polling has commenced for the second phase of elections on 20 seats of the state including the most hyped Jamshedpur East from where Chief Minister Raghubar Das is battling his former cabinet colleague Saryu Rai.

see more..
27 41% average voter turnout till 1100hrs in 13 seats of Jharkhand

27 41% average voter turnout till 1100hrs in 13 seats of Jharkhand

30 Nov 2019 | 12:41 PM

Ranchi, Nov 30 (UNI) An average voter turnout of 27.41 per cent has been reported in the first four hours (till 1100hrs) of polling presently underway in 13 seats of Jharkhand in the first phase of the Vidhan Sabha Elections.

see more..
Jharkhand: 11 02 pc turnout till 0900 hrs

Jharkhand: 11 02 pc turnout till 0900 hrs

30 Nov 2019 | 10:18 AM

Ranchi, Nov 30 (UNI) An estimated 11.02 percent voter turnout has been recorded till 0900 hrs on Saturday in polling across 13 seats in first of the five-phased Jharkhand Assembly polls.

see more..