Friday, Aug 23 2019 | Time 05:53 Hrs(IST)
  • China supports Russia’s diplomatic effort to extend New START Treaty - Envoy to UN
  • Google says blocked 210 YouTube accounts over coordinated moves around Hong Kong rallies
  • Chinese envoy to UN says unacceptable to use China as excuse to leave INF Treaty
  • Modi gets French Prez endorsement - no third party should incite violence in Kashmir
  • No third party should 'incite' violence: India, Pak can resolve Kashmir bilaterally: Macron
  • Seventeen killed in Nigeria road accident
  • Trump administration still undecided on foreign aid cuts - Pompeo
  • France has always stood by India in its fight against cross border terrorism: PM Modi
  • Trump, Johnson expected to discuss possible bilateral trade deal at G7 meeting - Official
  • Italian president to decide on snap elections next week after new round of talks
  • UN to stay out of US-Danish dispute over Greenland - Spokesman
  • Italy’s M5S leader aims for new ‘solid' majority in Parliament
States » South » MSE

Kundgol, Chincholi bypolls : EC identifies 85 critical booths

Bengaluru, May 16 (UNI) The Election Commission has identified as many as 85 polling stations as 'most sensitive' among the total 445 polling stations in the Kundagol,Chincholi Assembly segments, which goes to bypolls on May-19.
Briefing mediapersons on Thursday on the elaborate arrangements made for the bypolls, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sanjiv Kumar said that all critical polling stations would be provided with additional security forces to ensure free and fair elections.
“We will deploy Central paramilitary forces in these polling stations and provide them with special police protection, webcasting facilities. As many as 46 micro observers will be posted here apart from 6 videographers,” he said.
The Commission is also monitoring expenditure by candidates and has put in place 48 static surveillance teams, 30 flying squads, two video viewing teams and 19 video surveillance teams.
Referring to measures taken to prevent poll related violations he said that of the total Rs 79.64 lakh seized so far in these constituencies, Rs 48.82 lakh is in cash and 1.11 kg worth precious metals worth Rs 30 lakh. The highest seizures have been made in Kundgol at Rs 72.22 lakh. Over 169 litres of liquor worth Rs 82,715 have also been seized, the CEO said.
A total of 3,83,313 voters will exercise their franchise in these two assembly constituencies and of these 4,340 are Persons with Disability (PwD) voters and 138 service voters. The highest number of PwD voters are from Kundgol with 2,487 persons, the CEO said.
The campaign would comes to a grinding to halt by 1700 hours on Friday evening for both the Assembly segments.
While highest number of 18 contestants including BJP and the Congress are in the fray for the Chincholi Assembly segment, as many as 8 contestants are in Kundagol Assembly seat.
More News

As many as 63 Urban Local Bodies will go for elections on May 29

28 May 2019 | 6:28 PM

Bengaluru, May 28(UNI) Back on the heels of the conclusion of the Lok Sabha elections, as many as 63 Urban local bodies in Karnataka will go for polls tomorrow.

see more..

Vishakhapatnam (North): TDP’s Ganta Srinivas Rao declared winner by margin of 1944 votes after result kept on hold

24 May 2019 | 9:35 PM

Vishakhapatnam, May 24 (UNI) The Election commission on Friday evening declared TDP Candidate and HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao as the winner from Visakhapatnam North Assembly seat after the result was put on hold in view of the differences in VVPATs slips and EVMs.

see more..

Local body election counting postponed in AP

24 May 2019 | 9:25 PM

Hyderabad, May 24 (UNI) The counting of votes for the recent elections to the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTC) and Mandal Prarishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTC) were postponed, Telangana State Election Commission said on Friday.

see more..

Election defeat to LDF: Kerala BJP demands CM's resignation

24 May 2019 | 7:14 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 24 (UNI) Kerala BJP President PS Sreedharan Pillai on Friday demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan for the humiliating defeat of CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) in the State.

see more..
YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

24 May 2019 | 6:50 PM

Amaravati, May 24 (UNI) The YSRCP which registered a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh garnered 49.

see more..