Friday, Apr 20 2018 | Time 18:10 Hrs(IST)
image image
  • Following observations for the past 24 hrs were recorded at 0830 hrs
  • SAD condemns power tariff hikes, demands complete roll back
  • Heavy rain likely in few North-eastern states, J&K
  • Modi Govt is destroying judiciary: Congress
  • Impeachment is being used as a political tool, alleges Jaitley
  • AP CM fast a farce: YSRCP
  • German police defuse WW2 bomb after evacuating central Berlin
  • Fixed Term Employment : CPI(M) Congress terms another attack on working class
  • Armed Maoists abduct a Gram Rakhi and three villagers
  • Rupee depreciates by 33 paise to close at 66 12 against USD, 13-mnth low
  • India will not allow Judge Loya to be forgotten: Rahul
  • IMD warns of high energy swell waves with height of 2-3 mts
Sports Share

Goan windsurfers overcome stiff challenge Army Yachting Node, Mumbai

Panaji, May 19 (UNI) Goan windsurfers overcame a stiff challenge from the Army Yachting Node, Mumbai, to register a clean sweep on the second day of the All India Board Sailing Championship organised by Goa Yachting Association (GYA) and Volvo Penta at Dolphin Adventure Sports Centre, a YAI-accredited training centre at Hawaii Beach, Dona Paula, near the city today.

In the only class resisting the Goa tide, the BIC Nova class, INWTC Goa’s Naveen Singh Rawat took all four races of the day, pushing Santosh Dethalia of DSSC Bhopal into second place.

In a gusty morning south-westerly wind gusting to 15 knots (28kmph), Goa’s Dayne Coelho did well to match reigning national champion AYN Mumbai’s Jerome Kumar on the upwind leg in the Olympic RS: X class, picking the right wind patches for his relatively light weight. He sped ahead of his rival on the downwind leg, which is his strength, to finish a minute ahead of Jerome. Dayne did equally well in the relatively calm afternoon north-westerly winds of 9 to 12 knots to stay ahead of the pack in every race.

Despite capsizing in Race 8, AYN Mumbai’s Jerome Kumar did well to recover and hold on to second place.

However, he lost out on a podium place in Race 6, having committed to the southern side of the course when the wind gusts all favoured the northern side. The AYN sailors are formidable competitors, and have won the national crown on a number of occasions.

Russell Lobo in the Youth Olympics RS: One class, Raunak Pai in the Men’s Raceboard class and Katya Coelho in the Women’s Raceboard class finished far ahead of their rivals in all the four races of the day.

In the BIC Nova Class, Naveen Singh Rawat of INWTC Goa pulled ahead of his rivals in all four races of the day, pushing Santosh Dethaliya of DSCC Bhopal, who won three of the four races yesterday, into third place in one race, second place in two races, and off the podium in Race 7.

The All India Board Sailing Championship is sponsored by Lourenco Marine, dealers in advanced stern drives and marine engines. It is supported by O Pescador Beach Resort (hospitality partner), Magsons (refreshments partner) and Kaltenberg Castle (beverages partner), Amit Earthmovers, Frugurt (nutrition partner). It has the approval of the Sports Authority of Goa (SAG). Races start at 11 am and 2.30pm tomorrow, off Hawaii beach at Dona Paula.
More News

20 Apr 2018 | 4:17 PM

The Indian National Team which has been on upsurge over the last couple of years are currently ranked 97 and were on an unbeaten run for 12 official matches from a span which extended from June 2016 to November 2017.

 Sharesee more..