Thursday, Sep 19 2019 | Time 14:09 Hrs(IST)
  • Many coaching centers shift outside Kashmir
  • Israeli Prime Minister calls on Opposition leader to meet, form unity Gov't coalition
  • Mamata meets Amit Shah, discusses NRC issue
  • 28786 Provident Fund claims of Rs 257 82 cr settled during 2018-19 in J&K
  • Ghani says he asked for Pakistan's help in Afghan elections, Khan promises to assist
  • Communication gag: Contractors face problem to file e-tenders in govt offices
  • Former Jharkhand Congress chief Ajoy Kumar joins AAP
  • Business, other activities remains crippled in Kashmir
  • No business activity in historic Lal Chowk on Thursday morning
  • Communication gag: Contractors face problem to file e-tenders in govt offices
  • Veteran Kannada actor Padmadevi passed away
  • Ex Kolkata top cop yet to join probe with CBI, agency writes to DGP seeking active contact info
  • Air strike kills 30 in ِeastern Afghanistan
  • Guv Seeks Clarification from Bengal Legislative Assembly after Mannan and Sujan Chakraborty seek his intervention
  • BJP and Sena leaders slam Digvijaya Singh for his 'anti Hindu' statement
States » North » DIE

Election campaign ends in Punjab, Chandigarh

Chandigarh, May 17 (UNI) Campaign for the May 19 Lok Sabha elections in Punjab and Chandigarh concluded on Friday evening, leaving the rival parties in anxiety, about their winning chancels.
Though there is multi-cornered contest between the Congress, the SAD-BJP alliance, AAP and the Punjab Democratic Front (PDA), consisting of the Bahujan Samaj Party, Left parties, Punjab Ekta Party and Lok Insaaf Party, the main electoral battle is between the Congress and the SAD-BJP alliance, in most of the seats.
All parties campaigned aggressively in the state, to lure the voters in their favour.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah and Union Minister Smriti Irani, apart from other Union Ministers, Shiromani Akali Dal patron Parkash Singh Badal and party president Sukhbir Singh Badal held rallies and road shows, seeking votes for the SAD-BJP alliance.
Bollywood actor and BJP candidate for Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Sunny Deol added star power to the campaign as besides him, his father Dharmendra and step-mother Hema Malini also canvassed in the state.
They highlighted the achievements of NDA government and failures of the Congress government in Punjab and also the controversial statement made by Overseas Congress chief Sam Pitroda, over the 1984 anti-Sikh riots.
For the Congress, its chief Rahul Gandhi and his sister Priyanka Gandhi, Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh and state Cabinet Minister Navjot Singh Sidhu addressed the election rallies and held road shows, to drum up support in favour of the party candidates.
They prominently raked up issues of unemployment, farm distress and also incidents of sacrilege in their meetings, to lure the voters.
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati held an election rally in favour of PDA candidates, while AAP convenor and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and his deputy Manish Sisodia also campaigned in the state, for the party candidates.
Polling for the 13th Lok Sabha constituencies will be held from 0700 hrs till 1800 hrs on 23,213 polling booths on Sunday.
The Election Commission has deployed over 1.25 lakh employees and over one lakh police officers for the smooth conduct of elections in the state. As many as 42,689 ballot units and 28,703 VVPAT are being used in this election.
A total of 2,07,81,211 electors, including 98,29,916 female and 560 transgenders, will decide the fate of 278 candidates in 13 Lok Sabha seats of Punjab.
Prominent SAD-BJP alliance candidates, who are in the fray, include Union Ministers Hardeep Puri (Amritsar) and Harsimrat Kaur Badal (Bathinda), actor-turned-politician Sunny Deol (Gurdaspur), SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal (Ferozepur) and former SGPC President Bibi Jagir Kaur (Khadoor Sahib).
Besides, former Union minister Manish Tewari (Anandpur Sahib) of Congress; Preneet Kaur, wife of Chief Minister Capt Amarinder Singh (Patiala) of Congress; Punjab Congress chief Sunil Jakhar (Gurdaspur); Punjab Ekta Party chief Sukhpal Singh Khaira (Bathinda); human rights activist and PEP nominee Paramjit Kaur Khalra (Khadoor Sahib) and AAP leader Bhagwant Mann (Sangrur) are also in the fray.

The SAD had bagged four seats (Ferozepur, Bathinda, Khadoor Sahib and Anandpur Sahib), while its partner BJP won two seats (Hoshiarpur and Gurdaspur), followed by Aam Adami Party, which emerged victorious on four seats (Faridkot, Sangrur, Patiala and Fatehgarh Sahib) and the Congress could get only three seats (Amritsar, Ludhiana and Jalandhar) in 2014 Lok Sabha elections.
The Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat is witnessing a triangular contest between sitting BJP MP Kirron Kher and her rivals- former Union ministers Pawan Kumar Bansal of Congress and Harmohan Dhawan of AAP.
More News

Pawan Kajal should step down on moral grounds: BJP

24 May 2019 | 8:01 PM

Kangra, May 24 (UNI) BJP on Friday demanded Pawan Kumar Kajal of Congress, who lost to BJP's Kishen Kapoor in the Lok Saba polls from Kangra-Chamba LS seat by the highest margin of 4,77,623 votes, to resign as MLA from the Legislative Assembly representing Kangra on moral grounds, as he has lost the mandate of people of Kangra.

see more..

Cong functionary quits

24 May 2019 | 8:00 PM

Ashoknagar, MP, May 24 (UNI) In the wake of Congress General Secretary Jyotiraditya Scindia losing from Guna parliamentary constituency, a party office-bearer tendered his resignation, Congress sources said on Friday.

see more..

More women MPs in Lok Sabha, at 78 highest so far

24 May 2019 | 7:43 PM

New Delhi, May 24 (UNI) Representation of the fair sex has seen a rise in the 17th Lok Sabha, with as many as 78 women representatives being elected, the highest so far.

see more..

LS polls: 203 candidates lost security deposits in Haryana

24 May 2019 | 7:29 PM

Chandigarh, May 24 (UNI) Haryana Joint Chief Electoral Officer Dr Inder Jeet on Friday said that except for the winning and runner-up candidates, the remaining 203 nominees lost their security deposits in the 17th Lok Sabha elections in the state.

see more..
Cabinet recommends dissolution of 16th LS; Govt resigns

Cabinet recommends dissolution of 16th LS; Govt resigns

24 May 2019 | 7:20 PM

New Delhi, May 24 (UNI) Prime Minister Narendra Modi called on President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday here and tendered resignation of his government following the mandatory norms and paving the way for the formation for the new ministry.

see more..