Friday, Dec 6 2019 | Time 19:09 Hrs(IST)
  • Hyderabad T20I match: India wins toss, opts to bat
  • Govt likely to seek action against Cong MPs under Rule 374
  • Amit Shah arrives in Pune for national conference of DGPs, IGPs
  • 2 Insas rifles with 383 live cartridges recovered by Dumka Police
  • Sisodia meets Maliwal on fourth day of her strike
  • End of withdrawal process, 237 candidates to battle out in 5th phase
  • Mein reviews preparations of Parshuram Kund Mela
  • Attack on girls has shaken conscience of nation: Prez
  • Setback for Lalu Yadav as Jharkhand HC rejects bail in Dumka Treasury Case
  • Reverse buyer seller meet on textile in Bengal starts with 50 international buyers from more than 20 countries
  • 'Extra judicial killing cannot be answer to serious concerns over safety of women': Yechury
  • All eyes on Jamshedpur East as Jharkhand gears up for second phase of polls on 20 seats
  • I-League: NEROCA FC beat Aizawl FC 1-0 in first Northeastern derby
  • I-League: NEROCA FC beat Aizawl FC 1-0 in first Northeastern derby

Abbott stars as dominant Australia seal series 2-0 against Pakistan

Perth, Nov 8 (UNI) Australia eased to a 2-0 triumph over Pakistan in their three-match
Twenty20 International series, winning the final T20I here by 10 wickets.
David Warner (48 not out off 35) and Aaron Finch (52 not out off 26) saw through
the chase, but the victory was set up by the bowlers. After putting Pakistan in, the
Australian pacemen ensured only two visiting players got to double digits.
They were restricted to 106/8, with Kane Richardson taking 3/18, and had it not
been for Iftikhar Ahmed’s 37-ball 45, Pakistan wouldn’t even have managed that.
The target was of no threat to Australia, given the form their openers are in. Warner
and Finch closed down the chase in just 11.5 overs to complete their fifth win in six
T20Is – the first T20I of the series was washed out, an ICC report said.
Pakistan made a cautious start with the bat, with Imam-ul-Haq and Babar Azam
waiting for the poor deliveries. The caution cost them, though, with Azam –
Pakistan’s captain and their best batsman this series – trapped in front by Mitchell
Starc. Azam reviewed, only to see the screen flash umpire’s call. That’s where the
implosion started.
Mohammad Rizwan was dismissed off the very next ball, Starc sending in a typically
quick inswinger that cleaned him up. Sean Abbott was then brought on, and he had
Imam, on a 15-ball 14 at the time, caught at mid-wicket. Pakistan were 22/3.
It was then that Iftikhar closed down one end with a counter-attacking knock, but
wickets continued at the other. Haris Sohail holed out off Ashton Agar – the only
wicket to fall to spin on the day – and Richardson then ran through the middle order
with the scalps of Khushdil Shah (8), Shadab Khan (1) and eventually, Iftikhar.
Iftikhar had batted valiantly to score a 45, finding the fence six times, but the
Australians discovered he had a problem with the short deliveries, and he was
caught attempting to hook one over fine leg.
Perhaps early wickets could have given Pakistan a foothold in the match, but the
Australian openers ensured they were never in with a chance. Warner and Finch hit
13 boundaries between them, five of them sixes, as they chopped down Pakistan’s
paltry total. The chase was over in no time.
Abbott was named Player of the Match for his 2/14 that began the Pakistan
Brief score:
Pakistan - 106/8
Australia - 109/0
More News

Cricketer Brian Lara to visit Delhi Golf club as a Usha's Ambassador

06 Dec 2019 | 6:39 PM

Kolkata, Dec 6 (UNI) Usha International, India’s greatest choice in Sewing Machines,
Electric Fans, Premium Lighting (TISVA), and Small Domestic Appliances, today
announced a new partnership with former West Indies cricketer Brian Lara, widely
acknowledged as one of the world’s greatest batsmen ever.

see more..
I-League: NEROCA FC beat Aizawl FC 1-0 in first Northeastern derby

I-League: NEROCA FC beat Aizawl FC 1-0 in first Northeastern derby

06 Dec 2019 | 6:34 PM

Imphal, Dec 6 (UNI) Neroca FC defeated Aizawl FC, 1-0 in the first Northeastern derby of Hero I-League 2019-20, here on Friday.

see more..

All India Railway Hockey Championship for Men 2019-20 Inaugurated

06 Dec 2019 | 6:30 PM

Hyderabad, Dec 6 (UNI) The three-day 78th All India Railway Hockey Championship for Men 2019-20 was inaugurated at Synthetic Hockey Stadium in Railway Sports Complex, Secunderabad on Friday.

see more..

Priti Lamba bags Bronze Medal in 5000 Mts running race in South Asian Games-2019

06 Dec 2019 | 6:10 PM

Hyderabad, Dec 6 (UNI) Ms Priti Lamba clocked 17:09.

see more..

Pro Volleyball League: Madras HC orders VFI to maintain status quo

06 Dec 2019 | 5:48 PM

New Delhi, Dec 6 (UNI) The Madras High Court, acting upon the injunction application by Baseline Ventures, has ordered the Volleyball Federation of India to maintain a status quo ahead of the second edition of the Pro Volleyball League and gave two weeks for the two parties to come to an amicable solution.

see more..