UNI News
  • Tuesday, 17 May 2022

IPL: LSG to take on RR, eyes playoffs spot

Mumbai, May 14 (UNI) Newbie Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) will be looking to seal playoffs berth when they take on Rajasthan Royals in the IPL match on Sunday here at Brabourne Stadium. Lucknow are placed second on the points table with 16 points in 12 outings while Rajasthan are on the third place with eight wins to their name. In their last outings, LSG suffered a massive 62-run loss at the hands of Gujarat Titans. On the other hand, RR lost to Delhi Capitals by 8-wickets. Lucknow opening duo KL Rahul and Quinton de Kock, who fell against the Titans in the previous game, will look to post quick runs on the board. Deepak Hooda too has the ability to make a difference with his batting prowess. Mohsin Khan and Dushmantha Chaeera can inflict early wicket in the powerplay. Avesh Khan and Jason Holder will have to up their game to keep RR batters silent. The Royals are highly dependent on Jos Buttler, who has scored 625 runs from 12 matches including three centuries and as many as fifties. Skipper Sanju Samson will be needed to shoulder more responsibility in the top order. Devdutt Padikkal has returned to form after a sorry start which adds positive. Shimron Hetmyer has been instrumental in the middle order and have played a vital knocks for the team. Yuzvendra Chahal, who is at joint top among wicket-takers with 23 scalps, is the bowling mainstay and will lead the bowling attack. Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult and Prasidh Krishna will also chip in to restrict RR batters. Teams: Lucknow Super Giants: KL Rahul (c), Manan Vohra, Evin Lewis, Manish Pandey, Quinton de Kock, Ravi Bishnoi, Dushmantha Chameera, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Ankit Rajpoot, Avesh Khan, Andrew Tye, Marcus Stoinis, Kyle Mayers, Karan Sharma, Krishnappa Gowtham, Ayush Badoni, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya and Jason Holder. Rajasthan Royals- Sanju Samson (wk/c), Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie van der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell. UNI BAV GK