Saturday, Jul 4 2020 | Time 08:44 Hrs(IST)
  • 5 killed, at least 3 injured in road crash in U S state North Carolina
  • Optimistic about India's first COVID-19 vaccine: Mah Health Minister
  • Death toll of Pakistan's train-van collision rises to 22
  • Global COVID-19 cases supass 11 mln: Johns Hopkins University
  • Canadian ethics commissioner begins investigation into Trudeau
  • Brazilian president vetoes law requiring use of masks in public spaces
  • Castex takes helm of Macron's new cabinet
  • COVID-19 cases surpass 1 5 mln in Brazil
  • US Texas starts face covering mandate amid soaring COVID-19 cases
  • US: Four killed in small plane crash in Utah mountain area
  • MP CM mourns Pak mishap
  • Delhi cop dies after being hit by speeding car near US Embassy
  • Assam COVID-19 tally rises to 9799
  • PM sanctions ex-gratia of Rs 2 lakh each for next of kin who died in Assam floods

Wins for Goutham Parekh, Raghul Rangasamy in MRF-F1600, double for Arjun Narendran in ITC

Chennai, Jul 22 (UNI) Classy Arjun Narendran from Coimbatore (Arka Motorsports) underlined his dominance by achieving a double in the premier Indian Touring Cars category, while Goutham Parekh and Raghul Rangasamy split the two races in the MRF F1600 class as the third round of the MRF MMSC-FMSCI Indian National Racing Championship concluded at the MMRT here on Sunday.
With the championship winner in the MRF F1600 eligible for the Mazda Road To Indy shootout in the United States later this year, there was considerable jockeying for points.
At the end of the triple-header this weekend, 19-year old Arjun Datta maintained his overall lead with 96 points after two rounds, ahead of Rangasamy (84), Parekh (68) and Sandeep Kumar (67).
With two more rounds and six races to be run in the coming weeks, the Championship was wide open.
The first race in the MRF F1600 was a stop-go affair due to two stoppages following collisions and was reduced to a total of five laps.
Chennai-based Parekh, first runner-up in 2015 season before taking a two-year break, started fourth on the reverse grid and moved to the front with Sandeep Kumar and Nabil Hussain in close attendance. The order remained unchanged as they crossed the finish line.
In contrast, the second MRF F1600 race ran its course of eight laps without incidents as 25-year old Rangasamy, starting from pole position, gradually pulled away from Parekh while behind them, Datta managed to hold off Sandeep Kumar to complete the podium.
For Rangasamy, who hails from the nearby temple town of Mamallapuram, it was his first ever win in the championship.
Earlier, Arjun Narendran gave yet another fine exhibition of his driving skills to score a double.
His win today was far more comfortable than Saturday’s. The defending champion was off a great start from fourth position on the reverse grid as he made three places in the very first lap with bold overtaking to get his nose in front.
Behind him, Arjun Balu (Race Concepts) took a while to move from third to second by which time, Narendran had opened up a sizeable lead.
Balu finally worked his way into second spot, but after three laps, going into the Bridge Complex “S”, the engine blew forcing him to retire. It left Narendran all alone in the front as he crossed the finish line well ahead of team-mates Ashish Ramaswamy and N Leelakrishnan.
The second-place finish fetched Ramaswamy 18 more points that helped him maintain his championship lead with 101 points.
“I had a good start and managed to get past the three cars in front in the very first lap. I put in some consistent laps and increase my lead. After three laps, I couldn’t see anyone in the rearview mirror as Arjun (Balu) uncle retired, but I wasn’t sure why'', Narendran said later.
Also achieving a double this weekend were Bengaluru’s Varun Anekar of Race Concepts (Super Stock), Vinod Subramaniam from Erode (Performance Racing) in the Esteem Cup and Goanese Chrys D’Souza (Unikek Racing) in the Indian Junior Touring Cars category.
The two Volkswagen Ameo Cup races today saw different winners with Ghaziabad’s Jeet Jhabakh and championship leader Dhruv Mohite from Kolhapur taking the honours, both surviving close competition.
UNI GV CS 1730
More News

Paraguay to restart football season on July 17

04 Jul 2020 | 6:19 AM

Asunción, Jul 4 (Xinhua) Paraguay's first division Apertura season will resume on July 17 after a four-month coronavirus hiatus, the country's football association said,
The sport's return in the South American country comes after officials approved strict sanitary protocols for clubs, officials and venue operators. Among them are regular laboratory tests and an order to play all matches behind closed doors.

see more..
No reason to doubt integrity of World Cup Final 2011: ICC

No reason to doubt integrity of World Cup Final 2011: ICC

03 Jul 2020 | 8:53 PM

Dubai, Jul 3 (UNI) The International Cricket Council on Friday claimed there is no reason to doubt the integrity of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Final 2011 in which Sri Lanka lost to India, saying that world governing body has not been presented with any evidence that would merit an investigation.

see more..
Foreign and Indian coaches to have a 4-year contract: Kiren Rijiju

Foreign and Indian coaches to have a 4-year contract: Kiren Rijiju

03 Jul 2020 | 7:41 PM

New Delhi, Jul 3 (UNI) Sports Minister Kiren Rijiju said on Friday with focus on the 2024 and 2028 Olympics, and to ensure that Olympic-bound athletes are able to train consistently with one coach and therefore work on improving their performance, foreign and Indian coaches will now have a four year contract in alignment with the Olympic cycle.

see more..
Consistent hard training kept me motivated during lockdown, says Suraj Karkera

Consistent hard training kept me motivated during lockdown, says Suraj Karkera

03 Jul 2020 | 7:28 PM

New Delhi, Jul 3 (UNI) When Hockey India announced a month-long break for all members of the Indian men and women's hockey core probables group on June 19, everyone except Suraj Karkera decided to make their way home.

see more..
AFC Women's Asian Cup 2022 in India a huge motivation: Bala Devi

AFC Women's Asian Cup 2022 in India a huge motivation: Bala Devi

03 Jul 2020 | 7:09 PM

New Delhi, Jul 3 (UNI) Women's Team forward Bala Devi feels that the announcement of India as the hosts for the AFC Asian Cup 2022 has further motivated her to remain at peak fitness as and when she can hit the training ground once again.

see more..