Sunday, Oct 20 2019 | Time 14:53 Hrs(IST)
  • President calls upon Indian diaspora in Philippines to avail of opportunities that India offers
  • Dr Vardhan shares India’s vision for inclusive health at G20 Okayama Health Ministers’ Meet
  • Indian troops hit launch pads in POK
  • Rains lashes several dists, Chennai, suburbs
  • Millions of Indians are proud of your work: Rahul tells Abhijit Banerjee
  • Stage set for bypolls to 2 Assembly seats in TN
  • Global economic risks & imbalances reinforce need to strengthen global co-operation: FM
  • Rs 60 lakh fraud : Octogenarian ex-diplomatic Secy lodges police complaint against own sister
  • UN Chief condemns Afghanistan killings
  • Strong bond between India and Philippines, says Kovind
  • We must do everything possible, says Guterres
  • Train services both in SER and ER affected at busy Howrah station after two bogies of empty Kalka Mail derailed
  • Trump abandons plan to host G7 summit at his Miami golf course
  • Kodagu district admin issues orange alert for heavy rains
  • Notification of Mahadayi Tribunal verdict very soon: Prahlad Joshi

Team of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 announced

Team of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 announced

London, Jul 15 (UNI) New Zealand’s captain and Player of the Tournament Kane

Williamson has been named captain of an ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019

team that includes six players from Sunday’s dramatic final at Lord’s.

Newly-crowned world champions England are the most represented with four

selections in the XI while runners-up the Black Caps have two in the team,

named by a panel selected by the ICC to honour players who performed well

in the tournament.

The other representatives come from the losing semi-finalists India and

Australia, who have two each, while Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan rounds

out the team.

The side was selected by former internationals and commentators Ian Bishop,

Ian Smith and Isa Guha, along with cricket writer Lawrence Booth, while ICC

General Manager Cricket, Geoff Allardice, was the fifth member and convener

of the committee.

The team of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 (in batting order) is:

Jason Roy (England) – 443 runs at 63.28

Rohit Sharma (India) – 648 runs at 81.00

Kane Williamson (c) (New Zealand) – 578 runs at 82.57

Joe Root (England) – 556 runs at 61.77

Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) – 606 runs at 86.57, 11 wickets at 36.27

Ben Stokes (England) – 465 runs at 66.42, seven wickets at 35.14

Alex Carey (wk) (Australia) – 375 runs at 62.50, 20 dismissals

Mitchell Starc (Australia) – 27 wickets at 18.59

Jofra Archer (England) – 20 wickets at 23.05

Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand) – 21 wickets at 19.47

Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 18 wickets at 20.61

Jason Roy gets the nod at the top of the order for his tone-setting brilliance

for England that saw him overcome injury during the tournament to help his

side to the title.

Roy had five scores of more than 50 in seven innings during the tournament,

including one massive ton against Bangladesh in Cardiff and also produced

the throw from the outfield that tied the Super Over and gave England the


Alongside Roy opening is India’s Rohit Sharma. One of the easier selections

in this XI, considering the Indian star was the tournament’s top run scorer and

cracked a record five centuries in all.

Williamson comes in at No.3 and will captain the side.

The Black Caps star scored more runs than any captain has ever done before

at a World Cup and led his side with aplomb from start to finish.

Joe Root will come in at No.4 for this team after a World Cup that saw him finish

as England’s top run scorer, fifth overall in the tournament, with tons against

Pakistan and West Indies and three half centuries.

Shakib Al Hasan scored his runs this summer batting at No.3 for Bangladesh,

but for much of his career he has come in at No.5 and it is there that he appears

in this team.

Shakib had a quite wonderful tournament, averaging 87 with the bat with two

centuries and five further half centuries, and yet still managed to chip in with 11

wickets as well with his left-arm spin.

Fellow all-rounder Ben Stokes is also a cast-iron selection – his heroics in the

final were the stuff of fairytale but he was also a picture of consistency throughout

the tournament for England.

Behind the stumps, Alex Carey effected 20 dismissals this tournament, only

Kiwi Tom Latham managed more, while the Australian also bludgeoned 375 runs

at an average north of 60.

Alongside Carey is his compatriot, and the tournament’s top wicket-taker with

27, Mitchell Starc.

Jofra Archer – hero of the Super Over in the final and appearing in his first

World Cup – claimed 20 wickets at an impressive economy rate of 4.57 to

earn his spot.

New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson finished second in the wicket charts with 21,

including three in the final as well as an astonishing catch, while also going at

less than five runs an over.

Last but by no means least is Jasprit Bumrah, the world’s No.1 ODI bowler

who lived up to that billing with 18 wickets while still only going for 4.41 runs

an over – better than any other bowler on the top wicket takers list.


More News

Dortmund down leaders Monchengladbach 1-0 in Bundesliga

20 Oct 2019 | 8:40 AM

Berlin, Oct 20 (Xinhua) Borussia Dortmund returned to winning ways after Marco Reus scored the only goal of the match to beat front-runners Borussia Monchengladbach at the eighth round in Bundesliga on Saturday.

see more..

Win in Eibar takes Barca top as Real Madrid crash in Mallorca

20 Oct 2019 | 8:38 AM

Madrid, Oct 20 (Xinhua) FC Barcelona moved to the top of the Liga Santander table after they enjoyed a comfortable win away to Eibar on an afternoon when Real Madrid suffered a surprise defeat in Mallorca.

see more..

Sultan of Johor Cup: India lose final 1-2 to Great Britain

20 Oct 2019 | 12:23 AM

Johor Bahru (Malaysia), Oct 19 (UNI) The Indian junior men's hockey team lost to Great Britain 2-1 in the final of the 9th Sultan of Johor Cup on Saturday.

see more..
Ajeetesh & Rashid Khan share lead;Karandeep slips to 3rd spot

Ajeetesh & Rashid Khan share lead;Karandeep slips to 3rd spot

19 Oct 2019 | 11:54 PM

Chandigarh, Oct 19 (UNI) After dropping one stroke on the first hole, Chandigarh’s Ajeetesh Sandhu played a near perfect golf to register one under par on the 7th, 10th, 13th, 14th, 15th and 17th holes to return a card of 67 (36+31) in the second edition of the Jeev Milkha Singh Invitational presented by TAKE Solutions which seems to be heading towards a fascinating finish as multiple contenders emerged on day three of the Rs 1.

see more..
Punjab and Sind Bank win Surjit Hockey for 11th time

Punjab and Sind Bank win Surjit Hockey for 11th time

19 Oct 2019 | 11:46 PM

Chandigarh, Oct 19 (UNI) Punjab and Sind Bank, Delhi clinched the title for the 11th time in the 36th Indian Oil Servo Surjit Hockey Tournament by beating Indian Oil via penalty shoot out with a 6-3 margin and bagged Rs 5.

see more..