Wednesday, Jul 17 2019 | Time 01:50 Hrs(IST)
  • US seeks talks without preconditions, but Iran must show it is ready - State Department
  • French Parliament passes bill on Notre Dame restoration
  • Iran refuses to negotiate cutbacks in missile program under any conditions - Mission to UN
  • Trump says Turkey prohibited from buying more F-35s due to S-400 acquisition
  • Germany’s Merkel congratulates Ursula von der Leyen on confirmation
  • Three men stand accused of assassinating Maltese Journalist - Reports
  • US hopes justice will be rendered in Khashoggi killing - US envoy for Iran
  • Minor dies in road accident in Tripura
  • Punjab will become desert, if robbery of its river waters continues unabated: Sukhbir
  • Three get imprisonment till death for gangrape, murder of 19-yr-old girl in Sangli
  • One needs right mentor to get right path in life: Maurya

IPL: Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by five wickets

Mumbai, Apr 15 (UNI) Mumbai Indians (MI) defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) by five wickets in the 31st IPL match, here at Wankhede Stadium on Monday.
MI won the toss and put the visitors to bat first. With the help of AB de Villiers and Moeen Ali's half-centuries, RCB posted a challenging target of 171 runs in stipulated 20 overs.
In reply, riding on explosive batting display of Quinton de Kock (40 off 26 ) and Hardik Pandya (37* off 16 ), MI reached the target with one over to spare.
With the virtue of this win, MI reached at number three in the points table. This was MI's fifth win from eight matches. On the other hand, It was RCB's 7th defeat in as much matches.
Chasing a total of 172 runs, MI got off to a flying start as their openers Quinton de Kock and Rohit Sharma displayed some explosive batting and scored 70 runs in 7 overs. Left-handed de Kock was more aggressor, scoring 40 off 26 balls. The South African hit five fours and two sixes.
Soon, the hosts lost both the openers in the eight over. Moeen Ali dismissed both the openers. The off-break bowler first removed the South African, followed by Sharma for 28 runs.
Ishan Kishan, who came at number four, hit three sixes to clear his intention. He added 33 runs off 17 balls for the third wickets with Suryakumar Yadav (29).
Kishan was dismissed by Yuzvendra Chahal for 21 runs.
Krunal Pandya, who was not looking good at the crease, scored 11 runs in 21 balls. He was dismissed in the form of fifth wicket.
However, Hardik Pandya took the hosts over the line.
He hit two huge sixes and as much boundaries in the 19th over of MI's chase to finish the game in style.
Hardik scored 37 runs in just 16 balls, hitting five fours and two sixes.
For MI, Lasith Malinga took four wickets for 31 runs in his four overs quota. The left-arm pacer was adjudged Man of the Match.
More News

Sunfeast Kolkata School Football League kicks off its second edition

16 Jul 2019 | 10:10 PM

Kolkata, Jul 16 (UNI) Sunfeast Kolkata School Football League, one of the most
awaited school football tournaments, is all set to commence its second edition in

see more..

TATA Steel PGTI Feeder Tour season to tee off this week

16 Jul 2019 | 9:53 PM

New Delhi, Jul 16 (UNI) The 2019 TATA Steel Professional Golf Tour of India Feeder
Tour season is set to tee off this week.

see more..
ISSF Jr World Cup: Vijayveer Sidhu clinches Gold

ISSF Jr World Cup: Vijayveer Sidhu clinches Gold

16 Jul 2019 | 8:18 PM

New Delhi, Jul 16 (UNI) Vijayveer Sidhu on Tuesday clinched his third gold medal in the ongoing ISSF Junior World Cup in Suhl, Germany.

see more..
KIIT athletic track to be named after sprinter Dutee Chand

KIIT athletic track to be named after sprinter Dutee Chand

16 Jul 2019 | 7:55 PM

Bhubaneswar, Jul 16 (UNI) Founder of Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology
(KIIT) and Kalinga Institute of Social Sciences (KISS) A Samant today declared
the international standard athletic track in KIIT & KISS after Sprinter Dutee Chand.

see more..

‘Tough’ is easy for Sharath’s Team India

16 Jul 2019 | 7:53 PM

Cuttack, Jul 16 (UNI) India may have got the toughest group opponents from among
the teams participating in the 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships,
beginning at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium here from tomorrow.

see more..