Monday, May 20 2019 | Time 17:55 Hrs(IST)
  • ADB Country Director praised the rapid economic growth of Bangladesh
  • Pak SC orders to club Aafia case petition with other similar petition
  • Thirsty Marathwada: NCP MLA on hunger strike to bring water
  • Huge maturing of democracy taking place: Jaitley
  • Two killed, fifteen hurt after buses collide in Mah
  • Tejaswi rejects exit polls, compulsions of market on sale
  • Ten Indian puglists assured medals at 2nd India Open Boxing Tournament
  • Oppn to meet EC again to raise VVPAT counting issue, Naidu continues to meet leaders
  • No credibility to exit polls: Naidu
  • AIPF urges Govt: to oppose Hydrocarbon scheme
  • Pragya Singh Thakur says sorry, again
  • Bangladesh bans fishing for 65 days to save fish
  • Ukrtransnafta says suspended Russian Oil transit to EU through Druzhba pipeline
  • Exit polls: Sensex jumps 1421 90 pts, highest single day gain since 2013
States » South

DMK-led Front announces constituencies for LS polls

DMK-led Front announces constituencies for LS polls

Chennai, Mar 15 (UNI) The Opposition DMK would field candidates

in its traditional strongholds as the constituencies to be contested by

it and other alliance partners were announced here on Friday.

The DMK, which would be contesting 20 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats,

would field its candidates in all the three Parliamentary constituencies

in Chennai--North, South and Central Chennai.

It would also contest in Kancheepuram (R), Vellore, Tiruvannamalai,

Arakkonam, Sriperumbudur, Dharmapuri, Kallakurichi, Salem,

Nilgiris (R), Pollachi, Dindugul, Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, Thanjavur,

Tuticorin, Tenkasi (R) and Tirunelveli.

DMK's key ally, the Congress, which was allotted nine seats was given

Tiruvallur, Karur, Krishnagiri, Sivaganga, Aarni, Trichy, Theni, Virudhunagar,

Kanniyakumari, besides the lone seat in Union Territory of Puducherry.

While the MDMK led by Vaiko was allotted Erode, the CPI(M) would contest

from Coimbatore and Madurai and the CPI in Tiruppur and Nagapattinam (R).

The IUML was allotted the Ramanathapuram seat, the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal

Katchi (VCK) led by Thol Thirumavalavan was given the Reserved constituencies

of Villuppuram and Chidambaram.

The Kongunadu Desiya Makkal Katchi (KDMK) was allotted Namakkal and the

Indhiya Jananayaga Katchi (IJK) would contest from Perambalur.

Talking to reporters after announcing the list of constituencies, DMK President

M K Stalin said the Party's manifesto was being finalised and would be released

in the next four days.

He said he would also release a separate manifesto for the 18 Assembly by-elections

which were being held along with the LS polls.

The list of candidates would also be announced soon, he added.

UNI GV 1300

More News

AIPF urges Govt: to oppose Hydrocarbon scheme

20 May 2019 | 5:32 PM

Puducherry, May 20 (UNI) All India People’s Forum (AIPF) here on Monday urged the administration to oppose the Hydrocarbon scheme by all means and not to provide any cooperation in it.

see more..
TN govt committed on release of Rajiv assassination case convicts

TN govt committed on release of Rajiv assassination case convicts

20 May 2019 | 5:00 PM

Salem, May 20 (UNI) The Tamil Nadu government was committed to the
release of all the seven life convicts in the Rajiv Gandhi assassination
case and exuded confidence that Governor Banwarilal Purohit would take
a decision on the matter, Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami said on

see more..

BJP youth wing organise agitation in Puducherry

20 May 2019 | 4:21 PM

Puducherry, May 20 (UNI) The youth wing volunteers of the Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday held a demonstration at Avvai thidal Saram here.

see more..
Arvind Kumar launches Smart Parking, EV charging facilities at Metro station

Arvind Kumar launches Smart Parking, EV charging facilities at Metro station

20 May 2019 | 3:43 PM

Hyderabad, May 20 (UNI) Municipal Administration and Urban Development Principal Secretary Aravind Kumar has launched Smart Parking and EV (Electronic Vehicle) Charging Facilities at Metro station here on Monday.

see more..

IIT-Madras/CCBR new centre inaugurated

20 May 2019 | 3:35 PM

Chennai, May 20 (UNI) The new premises of Center for Computational Brain
Research (CCBR), Indian Institute of Technology Madras, was inaugurated
on Monday here.

see more..