Monday, Aug 26 2019 | Time 10:04 Hrs(IST)
  • Seven killed, 11 injured in south China expressway accident
  • Blast outside Pakistan consulate in Afghanistan
  • Hong Kong protests turn violent, 15 policemen injured
  • Trump discussed possibility of using nuclear bombs to stop hurricanes - Reports
  • Iran's FM urges diplomacy over tensions with US
  • Asian stocks down in early Monday trade amid escalation of US-Chinese trade war
  • Trump had spat with other G7 leaders over proposal to return Russia to group - Reports
  • US forces' risks rise after Seoul refused exchanging intelligence with Tokyo - State Dept
  • China hopeful of creating another investment hub in Lingang
  • Rohan Bopanna, Divij Sharan in US Open doubles with different partners
  • Rohan Bopanna, Divij Sharan in US Open doubles with different partners
  • Kerala CM, Opposition leader congrat PV Sindhu on winning Gold at BWF
  • Kerala CM, Opposition leader congrat PV Sindhu on winning Gold at BWF
  • Almost 20 people detained during protests near G7 summit in France's Biarritz - Reports
  • Heavy rain alert sounded in MP
States » South » MSE

Campaign ends for bypolls to 18 Assembly seats in TN

Campaign ends for bypolls to 18 Assembly seats in TN


Chennai, Apr 16 (UNI) The campaigning for the byelections to 18 Assembly seats, which also goes to the polls along with 39 Lok Sabha seats on April 18, ended on Tuesday evening.

This would be the first time, a sort of 'mini' election was being held along with the Parliamentary seats, when polling would be simultaneously to fill 18 of the 22 Assembly seats.

This is the first time, bypolls are being held to fill such a large number of vacancies in the electoral history of the State, proving an acid test for the leadership qualities of the ruling AIADMK and the principal Opposition DMK, who were without the presence of two personalities late Chief Ministers

J Jayalalitha and DMK Chief M Karunanidhi.

More than the Lok sabha polls, the bypoll to 18 Assembly seats is more crucial for the stability of

the government, and the party has to win a good number of seats to ensure a simple majority in

the 234-member House.

The AIADMK has also got the support of all its allies for the bypolls to all 22 seats to be contested

by it. though by-poll is being held only for 18. For the remaining four seats it will be held on May 19.

The strength of AIADMK in the Assembly has come down to 114 from 136 (when it won in 2016)--three short of a simple majority--after the disqualification of 18 rebel MLAs owing allegiance to TTV Dhinakaran, who later founded the AMMK.

Three Independents, who won on AIADMK 'Two Leaves' symbol in 2016 Assemblky polls, have also turned against the Government and were supporting Dhinakaran, who was elected as Independent from RK Nagar Assembly seat in the by-election, which was held by Ms Jayalalithaa.

Three other MLAs too were said to be moving closer to AMMK.

While 18 fell vacant following the disqualification of rebel MLAs, two fell vacant following the death of sitting members (Tiruvarur held by Mr M Karunanidhi and Tiruparankundram held by AIADMK MLA

A K Bose) and Hosur fell vacant following the conviction of former Minister P Balakrishna Reddy by

a court.

Recently, the Sulur seat also fell vacant due to the death of AIADMK MLA Kanagaraj on March 21, taking the number of vacancies to 22.

Byelections would be held for Perambur, Tiruporur, Poonamallee, Ambur, Gudiyatham, Sholinghur, Tiruvaur, Thanjavur, Hosur, Harur, Pappireddipatti, Andipatti, Manamadurai, Nilakottai, Paramakudi,

Periyakulam, Sattur, Vilathikulam.

For the ruling AIADMK it will be a test of the popularity of the post-Jayalaitha regime headed by Edappadi K Palanisami and Deputy Chief Minister O Pannerselvam.

The party split after the revolt by Panneerselvam against Jaya’s close aide V K Sasikala and her nephew Dhinakaran, who were since been expelled after the warring EPS-OPS factions merged

and disqualified rebel legislators, a decision by the Assembly Speaker upheld by the Madras High Court.

The reunited factions have recognition as official AIADMK, plus the hugely popular 'Two Leaves' symbol and the flag from the Election Commission.

The Opposition DMK, which has a combined strength of 97 members in the House (DMK-88, Congress-8 and IUML-1), has been targetting the government, charging it with sacrificing

Tamil Nadu’s interests and was being 'remote-controlled' by the BJP government at the Centre.

UNI GV 1310

More News

As many as 63 Urban Local Bodies will go for elections on May 29

28 May 2019 | 6:28 PM

Bengaluru, May 28(UNI) Back on the heels of the conclusion of the Lok Sabha elections, as many as 63 Urban local bodies in Karnataka will go for polls tomorrow.

see more..

Vishakhapatnam (North): TDP’s Ganta Srinivas Rao declared winner by margin of 1944 votes after result kept on hold

24 May 2019 | 9:35 PM

Vishakhapatnam, May 24 (UNI) The Election commission on Friday evening declared TDP Candidate and HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao as the winner from Visakhapatnam North Assembly seat after the result was put on hold in view of the differences in VVPATs slips and EVMs.

see more..

Local body election counting postponed in AP

24 May 2019 | 9:25 PM

Hyderabad, May 24 (UNI) The counting of votes for the recent elections to the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTC) and Mandal Prarishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTC) were postponed, Telangana State Election Commission said on Friday.

see more..

Election defeat to LDF: Kerala BJP demands CM's resignation

24 May 2019 | 7:14 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 24 (UNI) Kerala BJP President PS Sreedharan Pillai on Friday demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan for the humiliating defeat of CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) in the State.

see more..
YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

24 May 2019 | 6:50 PM

Amaravati, May 24 (UNI) The YSRCP which registered a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh garnered 49.

see more..