Saturday, Jul 4 2020 | Time 08:26 Hrs(IST)
  • 5 killed, at least 3 injured in road crash in U S state North Carolina
  • Optimistic about India's first COVID-19 vaccine: Mah Health Minister
  • Death toll of Pakistan's train-van collision rises to 22
  • Global COVID-19 cases supass 11 mln: Johns Hopkins University
  • Canadian ethics commissioner begins investigation into Trudeau
  • Brazilian president vetoes law requiring use of masks in public spaces
  • Castex takes helm of Macron's new cabinet
  • COVID-19 cases surpass 1 5 mln in Brazil
  • US Texas starts face covering mandate amid soaring COVID-19 cases
  • US: Four killed in small plane crash in Utah mountain area
  • MP CM mourns Pak mishap
  • Delhi cop dies after being hit by speeding car near US Embassy
  • Assam COVID-19 tally rises to 9799
  • PM sanctions ex-gratia of Rs 2 lakh each for next of kin who died in Assam floods
States » East

Around 62.87 pc average voter turnout as voting ends on 13 seats of Jharkhand

Around 62.87 pc average voter turnout as voting ends on 13 seats of Jharkhand

Ranchi, Nov 30 (UNI) An average voter turnout of 62.87 per cent has been reported till 1500hrs when voting came to an end on 13 seats of Jharkhand in the first phase of the Vidhan Sabha Elections.

Among the 13 seats, Gumla witnessed the highest voter turn out at 67.3 per cent while Chatra was the lowest at 56.59 per cent.

Constituency wise the polling percentage in these 13 segments was following: Chatra 56.59 per cent, Gumla 67.3 per cent, Bishunpur 67.04 per cent, Lohardaga 64.16 per cent, Manika 57.61 per cent, Latehar 61.26 per cent, Panki 64.1 per cent, Daltonganj 63.9 per cent, Bishrampur 61.6 per cent, Chattarpur 62.3 per cent, Hussainabad 60.9 per cent, Garhwa 66.04 per cent and Bhawnathpur 62.87 per cent.

Sources at the office of Chief Electoral Officer said that as the last minutes data is still being complied therefore the polling percentage might move upwards by few points.

Among the prominent faces whose future has been locked in the EVMs at the end of polls on these seats included Jharkhand Pradesh Congress Committee Chief Dr Rameshwar Oraon, BJP's Sukhdeo Bhagat, Health Minister Ramchandra Chandrvanshi, Radha Krishna Kishore, Kushwaha Shivpujan and Bhanu Pratap Sahi.


More News

With 428 new cases, COVID-19 tally reaches 11111 in Bihar

04 Jul 2020 | 12:31 AM

Patna, Jul 3 ( UNI) With 428 new cases, the COVID-19 tally on Friday increased to 11111 in Bihar.

see more..

Arunachal BJP hails PM for extending free ration scheme

04 Jul 2020 | 12:11 AM

Itanagar, Jul 3 (UNI) The Arunachal Pradesh unit of BJP on Friday praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi for extending Pradhan Mantri Garib Kalyan Anna Yojana, a free ration scheme, for 80 crore people across the country till November.

see more..
Bihar CM announces Rs 4 lakh ex-gratia to kin of those killed in lightning strike

Bihar CM announces Rs 4 lakh ex-gratia to kin of those killed in lightning strike

04 Jul 2020 | 12:02 AM

Patna, Jul 3 (UNI) Expressing deep sorrow over the death of eight people in separate lightning incidents at different places in Bihar, the Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Friday announced compensation of Rs 4 lakh each to the kin of the deceased.

see more..

Monsoon session of Bihar Legislature from August 03

03 Jul 2020 | 11:42 PM

Patna, Jul 3 (UNI) The monsoon session of Bihar Legislature would commence from August 3.

see more..

63 fresh cases found on Friday, overall tally of Covid-19 patients reaches 2,697 in Jharkhand

03 Jul 2020 | 11:39 PM

Ranchi, Jul 3 (UNI) A total of 63 fresh cases of Coronavirus were detected in the state spread across 8 districts following which the overall tally of Covid-19 patients in Jharkhand reached to 2,697 on Friday.

see more..