Tuesday, May 21 2019 | Time 12:18 Hrs(IST)
  • Brazilian president warns of no money for 5-year salaries if social security reform fails to be approved
  • New Zealand police charges Christchurch gunman with terrorist act
  • Governor, Advisor, DGP congratulate 2 cops for scaling Mount Everest
  • 3 youths killed in road mishap in UP
  • Four IS militants killed in Afghan operation: gov't
  • Counting for Lok Sabha polls in 34 counting halls in Manipur
  • Curfew-like restrictions imposed in downtown, Jamia masjid closed again
  • Venezuelan Prez Maduro proposes early National Assembly elections
  • BSP suspends senior party leader Ramveer Upadhyay
  • 25-hr countdown for PSLV-C46/RISAT-2B mission begins
  • Sensex gains by 95 93 pts
  • Kami Rita Sherpa scales Everest, takes his record tally to 24 times
  • Rupee opens flat at 69 73 against USD
  • Major currencies up
  • Charges of 'intolerance' actually showed Modi has been tolerant: Vivek Oberoi

All Bengal Open Fide Rating Chess Tournament inaugurated by Manoj Tiwary

Kolkata, Mar 15 (UNI) The 1st DD-DBCA All Bengal Open Fide Rating Chess
Tournament was inaugurated by Manoj Tiwary, eminent cricketer, in the
presence of Grandmaster Dibyendu Barua and C K Dhanuka (Chairman &
Managing Director of Dhunseri Group) here today.
This tournament is being organised by Dhanuka Dhunseri Dibyendu Barua
Chess Academy in association with Allsport Management.
The Rs 200000 Prize Money tournament has attracted a total of 218 players
including upcoming players like Women International Master Chandreyee Hazra,
Koustav Chatterjee, Neelash Saha, Aronyak Ghosh and Swapan Mitra.
A total of 9 rounds will be played in the tournament under the rules of Swiss
system wherein all the players get to play a total of 9 games, with the final
placings being decided on the total of number of points scored by each
All the seeded players had easy wins in the first round.
Important Results: Round 1:
Koustav Chatterjee(1) beat Saptarshi Talukdar (0)
Shayan Das(0) lost to Aronyak Ghosh (1)
Neelash Saha(1) beat Sagnik Ray (0)
Soham Biswas(0) lost to Arpan Das (1)
Mitra Swapan(1) beat Saparya Ghosh (0)
Sohom Chatterjee(0) lost to Debasish Mukherjee (1)
Sourath Biswas(1) beat Banik Hrishikesh Kumar (0)
Biyas Banerjee(0) lost to Chandreyee Hajra (1)
Dhar Manodip(1) beat Mayanka Paul(0)
Suvraneel Ghosh(0) lost to Sanket Chakravarty(1)
More News

Chang'an Athletic announces departure of head coach

21 May 2019 | 11:46 AM

Xi'an, May 21 (Xinhua) Shaanxi Chang'an Athletic FC announced the departure of head coach Zhang Jun.

see more..
Niki Lauda, three-time F1 world champion, dies at 70

Niki Lauda, three-time F1 world champion, dies at 70

21 May 2019 | 9:24 AM

Canberra, May 21 (UNI) Three-time Formula 1 world champion Niki Lauda has died at the age of 70, his family said in a statement.

see more..

Maradona to undergo shoulder surgery

21 May 2019 | 8:57 AM

Buenos Aires, May 21 (Xinhua) Argentine football legend Diego Maradona will travel to Buenos Aires for surgery on his left shoulder, his agent and friend Matias Morla said.

see more..

Medina earns Colombia Copa America call-up

21 May 2019 | 8:54 AM

Bogotá, May 21 (Xinhua) Monterrey right-back Stefan Medina has been drafted into Colombia's squad for the Copa America in Brazil, the South American country's football federation said.

see more..

Paraguay begin Copa America preparations

21 May 2019 | 8:49 AM

Asuncion, May 21 (Xinhua) Paraguay began their preparations for the Copa America as players and staff converged at the team's training base near capital Asuncion.

see more..