Wednesday, May 22 2019 | Time 16:10 Hrs(IST)
  • ARM memo tells staff to stop working with Huawei
  • Indian women hockey team beat Republic Of Korea 2-1 in the second match
  • Turkey halves tariffs on US imports reciprocally
  • Mah: 14 SRPF personnel injured as vehicle turns turtle
  • Macron, Merkel, Putin discuss world's major crises over phone
  • Prepare guidelines for private schools: Javadekar told CBSE
  • Congress-JDS Coalition Government in Karnataka may collapse with in a day or two: Sadananda Gowda
  • India believes in efficacy of multilateralism: Swaraj
  • Mid-range quake jolts Andaman & Nicobar islands
  • All 9 Easter Sunday suicide bombers identified: Sri Lankan police
  • Javadekar felicitates students for outstanding performance in CBSE exams
  • LS polls: All arrangements in place for vote counting in Kashmir
  • Indonesian police detain 58 people in wake of Jakarta protests : Spokesman
  • Drug peddler arrested, heroin recovered in Srinagar
  • Anticipating defeat, Oppn blaming EVMs after exit polls, says Javadekar

2019 Battle: Change & ‘new faces’ are talk of the town in Odisha politics

2019 Battle: Change & ‘new faces’ are talk of the town in Odisha politics

By Nirendra Dev

New Delhi, Mar 15 (UNI) The political scenario in Odisha is heading for major surprises and virtual topsy-turvy turnaround and this is bound to happen for reasons more than one.

Veteran politician and former associate of Late Biju Patnaik, Damodar Rout’s joining the BJP must be only a beginning.

But a major surprise – if it unfolds according to some hints – would be really big if BJD chief and state Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik chooses to give ticket to a new face from Cuttack.

The BJD chief has signalled major changes by announcing that he will field one-third women candidates for 21 Lok Sabha seats.

That means - seven women candidates - this would automatically bring in new faces.

But one twist in the tale has already come when broad hints have been given that three women MPs of Biju Janata Dal – Sakuntala Laguri (Keonjhar), Rita Tarai (Jajpur) and Kandmahal MP – Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh may not be repeated this time.

Party insiders say the three women MPs met Chief Minister in Bhubaneswar but their party supremo simply gave them a hearing but made no assurance of repeating them.

Sources also said sitting Kandmahal MP – Pratyusha Rajeshwari Singh, wife of Late Hemendra Chandra Singh, has also evinced interest to contest from one of the assembly seats preferably – Nayagarh.

The assembly segment of Nayagarh is now being represented by Arun Sahu, who was dropped from cabinet by the Chief Minister last year.

Veteran parliamentarian Bhartruhari Mahtab is representing Cuttack since 1998 but the grapevine in corridors of power in Bhubaneswar is that the BJD chief may like to give ‘electoral rest’ to five-time MP and opt for a greenhorn for the prestigious seat.

Sources, however, say this does not necessarily mean Mr Patnaik’s displeasure with Mr Mahtab, as both enjoy good rapport and that would mean Mr Mahtab, who was also awarded best parliamentarian award by Lok Sabha, may shift to the Upper House.

Naveen Patnaik’s decision to opt for ‘change’ formula is also guided by his stance that he will not like to repeat those leaders who have got embroiled in the chit fund scandals.

BJD Rajya Sabha MP Anubhav Mohanty, actor-turned-politician and two others may be also fielded

in this year's elections - either Lok Sabha or state assembly polls. In such an event, vacancy will be automatically created in the House of Elders.

Mr Naveen Patnaik is reportedly also toying with the idea of fielding party's Rajya Sabha member Pratap Keshari Deb from Kendrapara against turncoat Baijayant Panda, who recently joined BJP.

The former Minister Damodar Raut’s jumping the ship has also given a major indication that several important leaders may follow suit.

On Thursday itself, Nabarangpur MP Balabhadra Majhi quit BJD. The decision comes after indications that he may be denied ticket to contest the ensuing polls. Mr Majhi’s chances of going to Congress seems remote as Pradip Majhi is an established player in that party and thus he too could be too keen to take on the saffron scarf like the Kendrapara lawmaker Baijayant Panda.

There are also talks of a former BJP lawmaker M A Kharabela Swain, who had quit the saffron party, may make a comeback and again fielded from Balasore.

A former Union Minister Braja Tripathi may also join the BJP and is likely to be fielded from the religious township of Puri, sources said in the state capital.

The announcement of four phases of election schedule – a first in the history of the state – by the Election Commission has already evoked criticism from certain quarters.


More News
Javadekar felicitates students for outstanding  performance in CBSE exams

Javadekar felicitates students for outstanding performance in CBSE exams

22 May 2019 | 3:44 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar on Wednesday felicitated Class 12th students who have done extremely well in Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) examination despite challenging situations at their homes.

see more..

Mid-range quake jolts Andaman & Nicobar islands

22 May 2019 | 3:43 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) An earthquake measuring 5.

see more..
Inspection, speed trial on prior to opening of Khatauli-Muzaffarnagar rail line

Inspection, speed trial on prior to opening of Khatauli-Muzaffarnagar rail line

22 May 2019 | 3:16 PM

New Delhi, May 22(UNI) Northern Railway, which is working towards the commitment to strengthen
its infrastructure, has added another feather in its cap in the form of a 22 km long doubling of section from Khatauli to Muzaffarnagar in connection with Meerut City-Muzaffarnagar rail line doubling on Ghaziabad-Saharanpur section of Delhi Division.

see more..
SC stays BJP candidate's arrest till May 28

SC stays BJP candidate's arrest till May 28

22 May 2019 | 2:13 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) In a major relief to the Bharatiya Janata Party's Barrackpore candidate, Arjun Singh, the Supreme Court on Wednesday stayed his arrest till May 28 in all the cases allegedly slapped against him by the West Bengal Police.

see more..