Tuesday, Nov 12 2019 | Time 11:14 Hrs(IST)
  • Gurpurab celebrated with religious fervour in Jammu
  • IPFT to hold demonstration in Delhi on Nov 28 for Tipraland
  • President accepts Sawant's resignation, Javadekar given additional charge
  • Two militants killed in Ganderbal encounter
  • Death toll from Cyclone Bulbul in Bangladesh rises to 26 - Reports
  • At least 15 killed in Bangladesh train collision
  • US calls on Hong Kong protesters, police to exercise restraint, condemns violence
  • Bolivia’s Evo Morales says leaving for Mexico, but will return ‘With More Strength’
  • Mexican plane headed to pick up Morales refuels in Peru – Peru’s Foreign Ministry
  • Over 30 Bolivian regional election commission members arrested - Reports
  • Macron holds phone talks with Trump, leaders agree to meet before December 3-4 NATO Summit
  • Trump says will release transcript of first phone call with Ukraine’s president this week
  • US House Democrats release transcripts of Anderson, Croft impeachment testimonies
  • Google collects US citizens' health data as part of secret project - Reports
  • Trump to put off final decision on import duties on EU cars, auto parts - Reports
States » South » MSE

YSRCP wins 151 Assembly seats, TDP restrained to 23 in AP

Vijayawada, May 24 (UNI) The YSR Congress has won 151 Assembly seats and 22 Lok Sabha seats while the ruling Telugu Desam party won 23 MLA seats and three MP seats in Andhra Pradesh. The Election officials officially declared the names of winners on Friday.
The YSRCP has 67 MLAs and the TDP has 102 MLAs in the present House. The official took several hours to complete counting of EVM votes and VVPATs in some constituencies, including Vijayawada and Visakhapatnam. The election officials officially declared the results this morning. The YSRCP had clean sweep in Kadapa, Kurnool, Nellore and Vizainagaram districts.
The YSRCP won 49 MLA seats in Rayalaseema region, 55 seats in north AP, East and West Godavari districts and 47 seats in south coastal AP. Most of the TDP ministers and senior leaders, including Assembly Speaker K Shiva Prasad, were defeated in the election.
Film Actor turned politician and Janasena party president K Pawan Kalyan was defeated in two Assembly constituencies Gajuwaka and Bhimavarm from which he contested. However, its lone candidate was elected from Razolu constituency in East Godari district. YSRCP candidate Malladi Vishnu defeated TDP sitting MLA B Umamaheshwara Rao by slender margin of 15 votes.
Three TDP MPs, Kesineni Srinivas was elected from Vijayawada with a margin of 8,282, Galla Jayadev by a margin of 4,800 and K Rammohan Naidu from Srikakulam by a margin of 8,282 votes. They retained their seats.
As the YSRCP led by Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy registered a landslide victory, the YSRCP legislators are meeting tomorrow in Jagan Reddy’s residence to elect him as their leader formally. Later, the YSRCP leaders will meet Governor ESL Narasimhan to ask him to invite their leader to form government.
YSRCP leaders said that Jagan Mohan Reddy would take oath May 30. Most probably, the swearing-in ceremony would be held in the IGM stadium here, they said. Large number senior IAS officials call on Jagan Mohan Reddy this morning and briefed him administrative matter.
More News

Bypolls results give setback for those using caste organisations for political gains: Kanam

24 Oct 2019 | 11:51 PM

Kannur, Oct 24 (UNI) Communist Party of India (CPI) State Secretary Kanam Rajendran on Thursday said that the bypolls results in Kerala gave setback for those who try to use the caste organisations to hijack political grounds in the State.

see more..

LDF wrests two seats from UDF in bypolls

24 Oct 2019 | 8:52 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, Oct 24 (UNI) The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) wrested two seats from Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) whereas UDF retained two seats and conquered one seat of Left.

see more..

BJP condemns open threat statement issued by CM KCR to RTC striking employees

24 Oct 2019 | 8:14 PM

Hyderabad, Oct 23 (UNI) Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao is acting like CEO of a profit centric private enterprise than an elected Chief Minister of a democratically run state government, state BJP Chief spokesperson K Krishna Saagar Rao alleged here on Thursday.

see more..

Haryana voters have given befitting verdict: CPI

24 Oct 2019 | 7:49 PM

Eluru, Oct 24 (UNI) CPI State secretary K Rama Krishna said that the people of Haryana had given a befitting verdict by rejecting the BJP in the Assembly elections.

see more..
Kerala CM thanks people for their support to Left in by polls

Kerala CM thanks people for their support to Left in by polls

24 Oct 2019 | 7:05 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, Oct 24 (UNI) Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Thursday thanked people of the State for their support and warmly congratulated the Left MLAs who won the bypolls, held in five Assembly constituencies.

see more..