Monday, Jul 6 2020 | Time 15:26 Hrs(IST)
  • PM, VP pay tributes to Syama Prasad Mookerjee
  • Covid-19: 22 CRPF personnel test +ve in Gadchiroli
  • Indonesia reports 1,209 newly-confirmed COVID-19 cases, 70 new deaths
  • Mankind Pharma promotes ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’ with new Anthem
  • Haryana reports 311 fresh Covid cases, tally 17,316
  • Odisha reports 456 new cases, tally surges to 9526, Covid toll rises to 38
  • IIT-M's Nano-coated filter for healthcare workers treating COVID-19 patients
  • Kejriwal urges people to donate plasma to Covid-19 patients
  • Security beefed up in Srinagar as Darbar Move offices reopen
  • Cent per cent households have LPG gas connection in state: HP CM
  • Uttarakhand: Woman killed in elephant attack in Tarai East Forest
  • Rahul takes dig at govt handling of COVID, Demonetization, GST
  • Hajj 2020: Touching Kaaba banned
  • Disengagement in Galwan Valley starts
  • Woman Councillor succumbs to COVID-19 in Telangana
States » East » CAE

UDP wins by-poll in Meghalaya

Shillong, Oct 24 (UNI) United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate, Balajied Synrem on Thursday won the assembly by-election from Shella constituency in Meghalaya.
Synrem is the son of former assembly speaker and UDP president, Dr Donkupar Roy. Roy had been elected to the 60 member assembly since 1988 until his demise on July 28.
The by-poll held on Monday recorded a voter’s turnout of 84.56 per cent of the total of 29,790 voters. Synrem, polled 12,002 votes, defeated independent candidate Grace Mary Kharpuri by a margin of 6,221 votes.
Kharpuri, the lone woman candidate and member of the Khasi Hill Autonomous District Council in the fray, fought as an independent candidate after she was denied Congress ticket. She secured 5,781 votes.
People’s Democratic Front (PDF) candidate Mosjo Wanswet came third with 4,327 votes and followed by Congress candidate Batyngshaiñ Ryngnga who polled only 1,715 votes.
BJP candidate Joshua Warjri came fifth by polling 742 votes. Another independent candidate, Komen Laitmon, came last and polled 444 votes. 188 voters who pressed the NOTA. With this win, the UDP has increased its strength to seven members in the 10th Meghalaya Assembly.
Timeout expired. The timeout period elapsed prior to completion of the operation or the server is not responding.