Friday, Jun 5 2020 | Time 15:52 Hrs(IST)
  • Fresh recruitment rules are anti-youth, against constitution: JKAP
  • COVID-19: 2 Kangra families come out unscathed
  • High Court to announce judgement on disqualification of MLAs on June 8
  • UNADAP appoints Madurai salon owner's daughter as 'Goodwill Ambassador to the Poor'
  • UNADAP appoints Madurai salon owner's daughter as 'Goodwill Ambassador to the Poor'
  • Op Kalakote: Terrorist killed, Pak-made mine, ammunition seized
  • COVID-19: Second patient recovers after plasma therapy in K'taka
  • Brazilian club Ceara report 17 positive coronavirus cases
  • Another setback to Congress before Gujarat RS polls, third MLA resigns
  • Locust species found in Dakshina Kannada not harmful: Experts
  • Railways is committed to providing world class facilities to its passengers
  • Rare white Albino Python spotted at K'taka's Kavalakatte
  • Quarantined govt employee dies in UP's Etah
  • Bodies of two employees found in hotel's water tank in Thane
  • Under-trial, grocer with no travel history test COVID 19 positive in Guwahati
States » East » CAE

Tripura gears up to cast its mandate for East Tripura; Eight observers, 3926 poll personnel, 10 candidates and 1261876 voters in acton

Ambassa(Tripura), Apr 16 (UNI) The great grand festival of the country or 'Gadtantra ka Mahatyohar' has already kicked off in Tripura and in the second phase eight observers, 3926 poll personnel have been pressed in to help 1261876 voters to decide the fate of ten contenders for East Tripura parliamentary constituency.
The East Tripura parliamentary constituency is stretched over six districts covering 30 assembly segments.
In all five general observers, two expenditure observers and one police observershave been on the go to ensure voting goes on moothly on April 18 next.
The general observers are Anil Kumar Singh for Khowai, D. S. Gadhvi for South and Gomati, R. B. Prajapati for Dhalai, Suresh Chandra Dalai for 50 Pabiacharra and 51 Fatikroy constituencies in Unakoti and C. Murugan for 52 Chandipur and 53 Kailasahar in Unakoti, C. Murugan for 54 Kadamtala-Kurti, 55 Bagbassa, 56 Dharmanagar and 57 Jubarajnagar in North and Suresh Chandra Dalai for 58 Panisagar, 59 Pencharthal and 60 Kanchanpur in North.
Mr Nilabh Kishore has been appointed as the police observer, while the expenditure observers are Sonam Angdui for Khowai, South and Gomati districts and Biswajit Bhowmik for Dhalai, Unakoti and North districts.
Besides, 341 micro observers have been deployed.
This time there are ten contenders in fray as has been in 2014.
The contenders are Jitendra Choudhury from CPIM, Rajkumari Pragya Devvarman from Congress, Rebati Tripura from BJP, Karnadhan Chakma from Amra Bangali, Narendra Chandra Debbarma from IPFT, Dipti Halam from All India People's Congress, Chitta Ranjan Debbarma from Tipraland State Party, Bijoy Debbarma from Indo-Mongolian People's Confederation, Amar Debbarma from Tripura People's Party and independent Subir Kumar Jamatia.
The main fight is expected to be between the ruling BJP and Congress.
Last time's winner CPIM's Jitendra Choudhury seems to be lagging far behind, while the BJP ally IPFT's Narendra Chandra Debbarma is expected to suffer a severe erosion in his vote bank.
Tripura has two Lok Sabha seats: West Tripura and East Tripura.
Voting for the West Tripura seat has be already completed in the first phase of the seven phase national elections on April 11 last.
Results for both the seats will be declared on May 23 next with rest of the Lok sabha seats.
Timeout expired. The timeout period elapsed prior to completion of the operation or the server is not responding.