Saturday, May 25 2019 | Time 13:33 Hrs(IST)
  • Nishu to lead Karnataka team in the Ninth Hockey India Sub Junior Women National Championship
  • Seven candidates lost in Assembly election in Telangana elected as MPs
  • LS Polls: Election result big lesson but no threat to Cong-JDS Coalition Govt in Karnataka: G T Devegowda
  • DPRK missile tests breach UN resolutions: Bolton
  • One person seriously injured as armyman opens fire on his lover’s father
  • US judge blocks funds for Trump border wall plan
  • SC/ST Voters shift their loyalty to Saffron party in LS Election
  • Strong quake jolts eastern Japan, no tsunami warning issued
  • Post result violence in Tripura kills a BJP man and leaves 117 injured: CM warns action
  • Trump to clear $8bn Saudi weapons sale over Iran tensions
  • Tripura CS removed, 14 IAS and 2 IPS transferred a day after BJP’s victory
  • Russia believes JCPOA Commission should meet as soon as possible: Ryabkov
  • Punjab govt running anti farmer policy: Farmers Union
  • Jagan Mohan Reddy elected as YSRCP LP leader
  • BJP activist shot dead in Nadia; Post-result violence rocks Bengal

Takewadi Andhali village wins Satyamev Jayate Water Cup 2018

(Rptg with correct dateline)
Pune, Aug 12 (UNI) Paani Foundation on Sunday announced the winners of the Satyamev Jayate Water Cup 2018 at an award ceremony hosted by Aamir Khan and Kiran Rao, Founders of Paani foundation, and Satyajit Bhatkal, CEO of Paani Foundation.
The event was held at the Balewadi Sports Complex here in the presence of more than 6,000 villagers from all over Maharashtra. Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis was the Chief Guest at the Award Function which witnessed an all-party galaxy of political leaders, notably Ajit Pawar, Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil, Uddhav Thackeray, Raj Thackeray, and Minister for Water Conservation Ram Shinde.
Leading lights from the world of film, television, media and business were also present to celebrate the stellar work done by lakhs of villagers to make their villages’ drought free.
The first prize of Rs 75 lakhs was given to Takewadi Andhali village from Maan taluka of Satara district. Second prize of Rs 50 Lakhs was given jointly to villages from Bhandvali (Maan taluka) and Sindkhed from districts Satara and Buldhana respectively. The third prize of Rs 40 lakh was given jointly to villages of Anandwadi (Ashti taluka) and Umatha (Narkhed taluka) from districts Beef and Nagpur respectively.
Speaking on the occasion, Maharashtra's Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis said, “Paani Foundation has brought together people from all strata. The foundation should include 100 talukas next year and government will extend all help for the same. We can achieve new Maharashtra with each other's cooperation."
The trophy was handed over by the Chief Minister and Mrs Amruta Fadnavis.
Along with the Chief Minister, Minister of State for Water Resources Vijay Shivtare, Minister of State for Home, Ram Shinde, and Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, former CM Ashok Chavan, former Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar and CEO of Paani Foundation Satyajit Bhatkal were present at the occasion.
In its third edition, Water Cup 2018 saw participation of 75 talukas where capacity to store 22,269 crore liter of water was stored through rainwater harvesting works done over a period of 45 days.
Speaking as the chief guest of the function, Fadnavis said, "Paani Foundation realized that Maharashtra could not be water-abundant unless people are brought together. Maharashtra will have abundant water only when water conservation will become a mass movement. There can be no change in the lives of people or villages by external forces, any change whatsoever has to be brought by ourselves. Paani Foundation has underlined this fact and worked in that direction".
While appreciating that water table level in Maharashtra has gone up because of Water Cup competition works, he said that water has to be judiciously.
"We have known the science, now it is our duty to follow it up. Otherwise we may well head towards drought again. There must be continuity in our efforts," he warned.
He appealed to Aamir Khan to include 100 talukas in the Water Cup League next year and promised to provide all assistance for the same at the government level.
More UNI AKM 1141
More News

Seven candidates lost in Assembly election in Telangana elected as MPs

25 May 2019 | 1:25 PM

Hyderabad , May 25 (UNI) Seven candidates who had bite the dust in Assembly election held in Telangana in December 2018 romped home in the Lok Sabha election held in the state in a single phase on April 11.

see more..

LS Polls: Election result big lesson but no threat to Cong-JDS Coalition Govt in Karnataka: G T Devegowda

25 May 2019 | 1:24 PM

Bengaluru, May 25 (UNI) Karnataka Minister for Higher Education G T Devegowda today underlined that the recent debacle in Lok Sabha election was a big lesson but there is no threat to the Congress-JD(S) Coalition Government in the State.

see more..

Soldier commits suicide with service weapon in Kashmir

25 May 2019 | 1:23 PM

Srinagar, May 25 (UNI) A soldier allegedly committed suicide with his service weapon inside a camp in north Kashmir district of Baramulla on Saturday, official sources said.

see more..

AAP leader visits Khatkar Kalan

25 May 2019 | 1:20 PM

Moga, May 25 (UNI) Aam Aadmi Party(AAP) leader Bhagwant Mann, who was elected for the second time as Lok Sabha member from Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency, will visit Gurduwara Mustuana near Sangrur to seek the Guru's blessings.

see more..
SC/ST Voters shift their loyalty to Saffron party in LS Election

SC/ST Voters shift their loyalty to Saffron party in LS Election

25 May 2019 | 1:19 PM

Bengaluru, May 25(UNI) The voters belonging to the Scheduled Caste and Tribe, who were a traditionally supporters of the Congress seems to have shifted their loyalty in the 2019 Lok Sabha election to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and it was evident as all the seven seats reserved for SC/ST was won by Saffron party candidates in Karnataka.

see more..