Sunday, Dec 8 2019 | Time 05:57 Hrs(IST)
  • Democrat-led House Judiciary panel releases report on "constitutional grounds" for Trump impeachment
  • Another Kenyan athlete banned for 4 years for doping
  • Kiptanui, Chepchirchir to lead Kenya at Guangzhou marathon in China
  • E-sawari rickshaw service launched
  • MP CM stresses on intellectual ‘course correction’
  • MP CM visits Daly College
  • Sri Lanka to firmly support, accelerate Port City development: PM
  • French Police Detain 13 People Ahead of Strike Against Pension Reform in Bordeaux- Reports
  • 7 killed, 2 injured after truck turns over in SW China
  • Paris Police Announce Security Measures Ahead of Massive Tuesday Rallies
  • MP CM expresses grief
States » South » MSE

RS polls to fill six seats from TN on July 18

Chennai, Jun 25 (UNI) The biennial elections to fill six
Rajya Sabha seats from the Tamil Nadu Assembly would
be held on July 18.
The election was being held to fill up the vacancies following
the retirement of five members--T Rathinavel, V Maitreyan,
K B Arjunan, R Lakshmanan (all AIADMK), D Raja (CPI)--and
due to the resignation of DMK's Kanimozhi following her election
to the Lok Sabha.
The notification for the elections would be issued on July one
and the last date for nominations was July eight.
Scrutiny would take place the next day and the last date for
withdrawals is July 11.
Elections would be held on July 18 and the counting would be
taken up the next day.
As per their existing strengths, both the ruling AIADMK (123
members in the 234-Assembly) and the DMK and its allies (108)
could win three seats. Two seats were vacant and another one
was an Independent.
A candidate needs 34 votes to win the seat.
As per the seat sharing agreement signed by both the AIADMK
and the DMK with their allies during the recent Lok Sabha
polls, they have promised to allot one RS seat to PMK and
the MDMK respectively.
More News

EC to notify elections to Municipalities and Corporations shortly

25 Oct 2019 | 8:09 PM

Hyderabad, Oct 25 (UNI) State Election Commission will shortly notify poll details to Municipalities and Municipal Corporations in the state.

see more..

Bypolls results give setback for those using caste organisations for political gains: Kanam

24 Oct 2019 | 11:51 PM

Kannur, Oct 24 (UNI) Communist Party of India (CPI) State Secretary Kanam Rajendran on Thursday said that the bypolls results in Kerala gave setback for those who try to use the caste organisations to hijack political grounds in the State.

see more..

LDF wrests two seats from UDF in bypolls

24 Oct 2019 | 8:52 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, Oct 24 (UNI) The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) wrested two seats from Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) whereas UDF retained two seats and conquered one seat of Left.

see more..

BJP condemns open threat statement issued by CM KCR to RTC striking employees

24 Oct 2019 | 8:14 PM

Hyderabad, Oct 23 (UNI) Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao is acting like CEO of a profit centric private enterprise than an elected Chief Minister of a democratically run state government, state BJP Chief spokesperson K Krishna Saagar Rao alleged here on Thursday.

see more..

Haryana voters have given befitting verdict: CPI

24 Oct 2019 | 7:49 PM

Eluru, Oct 24 (UNI) CPI State secretary K Rama Krishna said that the people of Haryana had given a befitting verdict by rejecting the BJP in the Assembly elections.

see more..