Friday, Nov 16 2018 | Time 02:20 Hrs(IST)
  • 6 9-magnitude quake hits off Bristol Island, South Sandwich Islands -- USGS
  • ICC Women World T20: India crushes Ireland, storms into semi-finals
  • Cong releases 1st list for Rajasthan polls, Ashok Gehlot to contest from Sardarpura, Sachin Pilot from Tonk
States Share

Rajya Sabha polls: all 5 candidates elected unopposed from MP

Bhopal, Mar 15 (UNI) Four Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates and a Congress aspirant were today elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh.
With no candidate backing off as the time for withdrawal of nominations ended at 1500 hrs today, Union ministers Thawar Chand Gehlot and Dharmendra Pradhan, Mr Ajay Pratap Singh and Mr Kaialsh Soni (all BJP) and Mr Rajmani Patel (Cong) were declared unopposed by election authorities.
The process for the Rajya Sabha elections was set in motion with the issuance of notification on March 5. Nominations papers were filed by all five candidates on March 12, the last date for filing nominations. They were found to be valid during scrutiny on the next day.
The election was necessitated as five seats in Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh would be rendered vacant after the tenure of Mr Thawar Chand Gehlot, Mr La Ganesan, Mr Prakash Javadekar, Mr Meghraj Jain (all BJP) and Mr Satyavrat Chaturvedi (Cong) ends on April 2.
More News
Rahul's dream of winning MP will not be fulfilled: Smriti Irani

Rahul's dream of winning MP will not be fulfilled: Smriti Irani

15 Nov 2018 | 11:09 PM

Sehore, Nov 15 (UNI) Star campaigner of BJP and Union Minister Smriti Irani on Thursday took a jibe on Congress President Rahul Gandhi by alleging that his dream to win Madhya Pradesh, was not going to be fulfilled.

 Sharesee more..
Cyclone Gaja to cross TN coast tomorrow morning

Cyclone Gaja to cross TN coast tomorrow morning

15 Nov 2018 | 10:57 PM

Chennai, NOv 15 (UNI) The Severe Cyclonic Storm ‘GAJA’ over Southwest
Bay of Bengal moved further west-southwestwards and lay centred over
Southwest Bay of Bengal about 95 km east-southeast of Nagapattinam.

 Sharesee more..

144th birth anniversary of Birsa Munda observed in Tripura district

15 Nov 2018 | 10:54 PM

Ambassa(Tripura), Nov 15 (UNI) The 144th birth anniversary of the legendary tribal leader Birsa Munda was observed with pomp and gaiety in the Munda dominated Kartikgram in Dhalai district, here today.

 Sharesee more..

EC may slap criminal cases on poll abuse: CEO

15 Nov 2018 | 10:50 PM

Hyderabad, Nov 15 (UNI) State Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar on Thursday asked political party leaders in Telangana to desist from using abusive language against each other during the poll campaign, as it will violate the poll code and criminal procedures, as per the Supreme Court guidelines.

 Sharesee more..

Sonowal urges COBSE members to display integrity

15 Nov 2018 | 10:46 PM

Guwahati, Nov 15 (UNI) Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal today urged members of the Council of Boards of School Education in India (COBSE) to display integrity, exemplary skill and diligence in conduct of examinations to reinforce people’s faith into the examination system in the country.

 Sharesee more..