Sunday, Feb 24 2019 | Time 02:15 Hrs(IST)
  • Lebanese hold protest in favor of civil marriage
  • AIIMS and UCL venture into new education and research partnership
  • Iraq receives 180 IS militants captured by SDF
  • NCP Supremo accuses Modi govt of instigating caste based hatred
  • Article 35A: Steps being taken are part of comprehensive strategy to root out terrorism: Jitendra
States » North

Rajasthan, Telangana set for date with democracy

Rajasthan, Telangana set for date with democracy

Jaipur, Dec 6 (UNI) Rajasthan and Telangana are all set to keep their tryst with democracy on Friday.

Voting to elect the 15th Rajasthan state assembly will be held on Friday at 51,687 polling stations in 33 districts amid adequate arrangements to facilitate slightly around 47.44 million voters to exercise their franchise to decide the fortunes of 2,274 contestants, including 187 women.

Single phase polling will be held between 0800 hrs and 1700 hrs in 199 of the total 200 assembly constituencies. The election on Ramgarh seat in Alwar district has been countermanded following the death of Bahujan Samaj Party nominee Laxman Singh Chaudhary.

A total of 51,687 polling stations-of them over 13,000 critical or sensitive--have been set up at 35,971 locations for 4,74,37,761 voters, including 2, 27,15, 396 women, Chief Electoral Officer Anand Kumar said here.

As many as 4,146 villages have been identified as vulnerable and more than 20,000 trouble mongers were restrained.

Authorities have made due preparations and scaled up security for smooth and fair polls. Polling parties have departed for their respective booths.

As many as 1,44,941 police personnel--including 640 companies of central para military forces--have been deployed for glitch-free voting.

Extra care will be taken to facilitate differently abled voters. Election Commission has deputed volunteers from the National Cadet Corps to provide conveyance and wheelchairs as per the need, the CEO added.

The mandate in the erstwhile princely state will be proclaimed on December 11 along with Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram.

It is billed as by and large an affair between the traditional rivals, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and the principal opposition Indian National Congress with sideshows by the Bahujan Samaj Party, Leftists, Aam Aadmi Party and breakaway groups. They count estranged BJP leaders Hanuman Beniwal and Ghanshyam Tiwari and some influential rebels, including four members of the Vasundhara Raje Council of Ministers.

The ruling BJP has fielded candidates on all seats, INC 195 leaving five for allies Rashtriya Lok Dal, Janata Dal (Sharad Yadav faction) and Nationalist Congress Party.

The BSP is in the contest on 196 seats and newbie Aam Aadmi Party has also thrown its hat in the ring.

Communist Party of India (Marxist) is in the fray on 28 seats, two more than the number of CPI nominees.

In the present 14th House, the BJP holds 160 seats, Congress 25, BSP and National Unionist Zamindari Party two each, National Peoples Party of independent Rajya Sabha lawmaker Kirodi Lal Meena one and Independents seven. Three seats are vacant.


More News

Article 35A: Steps being taken are part of comprehensive strategy to root out terrorism: Jitendra

24 Feb 2019 | 12:02 AM

Jammu, Feb 23 (UNI) Asserting that he would not comment on Article 35-A, Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh on Saturday said that the steps which are being taken are part of a comprehensive strategy to root out terrorism.

see more..

IAS transfers in MP

23 Feb 2019 | 11:44 PM

Bhopal, Feb 23 (UNI) The Madhya Pradesh Government on Saturday reassigned nine officers of the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), official sources said.

see more..

AI to operate additional flight to Leh on Sunday

23 Feb 2019 | 11:42 PM

Jammu, Feb 23 (UNI) Air India will operate additional flight from Jammu to Leh on Sunday due to cancellation of Jammu to Leh flight AI 450 scheduled for Thursday due to bad weather at Leh, official Spokesperson said.

see more..

Modi should take stringent actions against Pakistan: Lal Baba

23 Feb 2019 | 11:38 PM

Etawah, Feb 23 (UNI) Hindu Dharm Parishad President and Hanuman Gadi Barahdwari Mahant Swami Anandeshwar Giri Lal Baba has appealed for stringent action against Pakistan and warned that he would protest with his followers if Prime Minister Narendra Modi will not do so.

see more..

Nearly 253 Roads still snowbound in HP

23 Feb 2019 | 11:35 PM

Shimla, Feb 23 (UNI) As many as 253 road are still snowbound in the state of Himachal Pradesh as Public Works Department could throw open only 97 roads on Saturday.

see more..