Saturday, Nov 17 2018 | Time 22:29 Hrs(IST)
  • Brilliant South Africa bowling sees off Australia in shortened match
  • Trent Boult four-for inspires New Zealand fightback against Pakistan
  • UNGA committee approves resolution on rights violations against Rohingyas
  • Two youths arrested for murder of 60-yr-old man in Thane
  • One more debt-ridden farmer commits suicide in Nanded
  • Telangana Assembly polls 2018: 643 nominations received on 6th day
  • High turnout in J&K local body polls sets the tone for next eight phases of elections
  • Farmers Protest: Seven trains from Jammu Tawi Railway Station cancelled
  • Muslims happy with ticket allotments by Congress : TPCC
  • Adequate action will be taken against attackers on woman activist :Governor
  • J&K State Taxes Department tightens noose against tax defaulters
  • Telangana CEO visits Devarakonda Assembly Constituency
  • CM launches integrated cooperative development project in Shimla
  • Nations should arrive at consensus in refusing shelter to economic fugitives: Vice Prez
Sports Share

Punjab beat MP in Dhruv Pandove U-19 Invitation Trophy

Chandigarh, Sept 12 (UNI) Punjab defeated Madhya Pradesh by eight wickets Under VJD system in the 7th All-India Under-19 Invitation Cricket Tournament for Dhruv Pandove Trophy. The revised target of 111 in 28 overs (VJD) was achieved in 24.5 overs.
Punjab defeated Madhya Pradesh by eight wickets under VJD system to win the 7th All-India Under-19 Invitation Cricket Tournament Dhruv Pandove Trophy here at Dhruv Pandove Cricket Stadium in Patiala. The revised target of 111 in 28 overs (VJD) was achieved in 24.5 overs.

Earlier, Madhya Pradesh (MP) won the toss and elected to bat first. The match was interrupted by light showers and bad light reduced to 46 overs a side. MP opened with Dev Barnale and Lakhan Patel who put on 41 runs for the first wicket before Dev Barnale was caught by Anurag Watts off left arm spinner Dipanshu Chadha for 13 off 34 balls with one boundary.
Thereafter, Suraj Vashisht joined Lakhan Patel and the duo added 69 runs for the second wicket before Lakhan Patel was caught by Ketan Mankotia off Dipanshu Chadha for a well made half century 55 off 91 balls with 3 boundaries. Irfan Ali who has been in great touch then joined Suraj Vashisht but was soon back in the hut, when he was caught by Jaish Jain off Dipanshu Chadha for 7.

MP then lost Rahul Chandrol for four in the form of run out by Salil Arora. Suraj Vashisht, who was holding the one end up, was then caught by Salil Arora off Deepak Kumar for a well made 55 off 73 balls with one boundary and two sixes. Tripuresh Singh and Saad Baggad put on 33 runs for the 7th wicket before Tripuresh Singh was castled by Harit Sachar for 23 off 21 balls, he hit one boundary. Saad Baggad was caught and bowled by Anurag watts for 13. MP Innings ended at 190 for 8 in 46 overs.

For Punjab Dipanshu Chadha 3 for 23, Harit Sachar 1 for 37, Anurag Watts 2 for 32 , Deepak Kumar 1 for 21 were the main wicket takers.

In reply, Punjab opened their innings with Pukhraj Mann and Ishan Goyal and the duo put on 21 runs for the first wicket before Pukhraj Mann was caught off the bowling off Tripuresh Singh for 15 off 16 balls with 3 boundaries. Arjun Azad came one down and the with Goyal he added 71 runs for the second wicket before he was caught and bowled by Sadda Baggad for 35 off 47 balls with 2 sixes.
Ishan Goyal unbeaten 46 off 73 balls with 3 boundaries and Dipin Chitkara unbeaten 4 off 8 balls were at the crease with Punjab’s total reading 101 for 2 in 24 overs, when bad light stopped the play. Suraj Vashisht of MP was declared man of the match.

Dr JR Sachdeva, President, Patiala Cricket Association gave away the winner trophy and a Cheque of Rs. 1.00 lac to Punjab Team while the Madhya Pradesh team received the Runners up trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.

The best batsman trophy was given to Irfan Ali of MPCA who had scored 433 runs with 2x100s and 2x50s. The best bowler award was given to left arm spinner Dipanshu Chadha of Punjab. Dipin Chitkara of Punjab was declared man of the tournament with score of 171 runs including 2x50s and a haul of 10 wickets.
More News

Trent Boult four-for inspires New Zealand fightback against Pakistan

17 Nov 2018 | 10:15 PM

Abu Dhabi, Nov 17 (UNI) Left-arm quick Trent Boult took four wickets to help bundle
Pakistan out for 227 despite Babar Azam's fighting fifty; Kane Williamson and Jeet
Raval then batted solidly to reduce the deficit to 18 runs played at the Zayed Cricket
Stadium here on Saturday.

 Sharesee more..

10-man Chennaiyin FC U-18s come from behind to win 3-2

17 Nov 2018 | 8:29 PM

Chennai, Nov 17 (UNI) 10-man Chennaiyin FC Under-18s came from behind to beat
Chennai City FC 3-2 in an AIFF Under-18 Youth League fixture at the Chettinad
Sarvaloka Education School Ground here today.

 Sharesee more..

Modi International Badminton tournament from Nov 20

17 Nov 2018 | 8:23 PM

Lucknow, Nov 17(UNI) Stage has been set up for 9th Syed Modi International Badminton Championships, 2018 to be held at BBD UP Badminton Academy here from November 20.

 Sharesee more..

World Junior Badminton C'ship: Lakshya progresses to semis

17 Nov 2018 | 6:56 PM

Markham, Nov 17 (UNI) Indian shuttler Lakshya Sen progressed into the semi-finals of the men's singles event of the World Junior Badminton Championship beating Malaysian Aidil Sholeh Ali here on Saturday.

 Sharesee more..

Kenyan Zakayo faces Uganda challenge in cross country in Spain

17 Nov 2018 | 6:21 PM

NAIROBI, Nov 17 (Xinhua) World junior 5,000 meters champion Edward Zakayo of Kenya is hopeful to launch his cross country career on a winning note in Soria, Spain on Sunday.

 Sharesee more..