Saturday, Oct 20 2018 | Time 01:09 Hrs(IST)
  • Sabarimala row: Police file cases against 200 devotees
  • PM Modi condoles death of BJP MP Bhola Singh
  • Begusarai MP Bhola Singh passes away in Delhi
India Share

Prez gives away 16 National Child Awards 2017

Prez gives away 16 National Child Awards 2017

New Delhi, Nov 14 (UNI) President Ram Nath Kovind on Tuesday gave away the National Child Awards 2017 to 16 children, including one gold medal, on the occasion of Children’s Day here.

Master Akash Manoj belonging to Krishnagiri in Tamil Nadu was the sole recipient of the gold medal for

innovation. He will receive a cash prize of Rs.20,000/-, a certificate/citation and a Gold Medal.

Also conferred were the National Award for Child Welfare to three individuals and five institutions while

the Rajiv Gandhi Manav Seva Award went to three individuals for their contribution.

The National Child Awards for Exceptional Achievement are given to children in the age group of 5-18

years with exceptional abilities in fields such as academics, culture, arts, sports and music.

Fifteen children, prominent among them being seventeen year-old actor Zaira Wasim from Jammu and Kashmir were honoured with a cash prize of Rs. 10,000/-, a certificate/citation and a Silver Medal each for this year. The gold and silver awardees are also given book voucher of Rs. 10,000/- and Rs.3,000/- respectively since 2015.

The awards for 2017 were given to: Master Shahil Dey of Kamrup district, Assam for chess; Master Shresth

Agrawal Raipur district, Chattisgarh for Innovation; Master Nishant Abhangi of Rajkot district, Gujarat

for Academics; Master Jaysheel Buddhadeo of Gurgaon district, Haryana for Music; Kumari Zaira Wasim of

Jammu district, Jammu and Kashmir for arts; Kumari Nikhiya Shamsher of Bengaluru district, Karnataka

for Social Service; Master Swasthik Padma of Dakshina Kannada district, Karnataka for innovation;

Master Floyd Emmanuel Libera of Ernakulam district, Kerala for Music; Master Rishabh Garg of Bhopal,

Madhya Pradesh for Innovation; Master Jaisal Shah of Mumbai City, Maharashtra for

chess; Kumari Labdhi Surana of Udaipur district, Rajasthan for Roller Skating; Master Krishna Pandit

of Gautam Buddh Nagar district, Uttar Pradesh for Innovation; Kumari Saniya Subash of South Andaman

district, Andaman and Nicobar Island for Martial Art; Master Aryan Chopra of West Delhi District, Delhi

chess and Kumari Kashish of Central Delhi district, Delhi for



More News

PM Modi condoles death of BJP MP Bhola Singh

20 Oct 2018 | 12:17 AM

New Delhi, Oct 19 (UNI) Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday expressed anguish at the death of BJP MP from Bihar Bhola Singh and said the Begusarai lawmaker will be remembered for his outstanding contribution.

 Sharesee more..

Begusarai MP Bhola Singh passes away in Delhi

20 Oct 2018 | 12:03 AM

New Delhi, Oct 19 (UNI) Senior BJP leader and sitting Member of Parliament (MP) from Bihar Bhola Singh on Saturday passed away at a Delhi hospital.

 Sharesee more..

Amritsar train accident: Army dispatches 2 vehicles to bring casualties

19 Oct 2018 | 11:18 PM

New Delhi/Amritsar, Oct 19 (UNI) The Indian Army on Friday despatched two ambulance vehicles to Guru Nanak Dev Hospital in an effort to bring casualties to its hospital.

 Sharesee more..

Authorities force feed Sant Gopal Das; young saint refuses to break 4-month long fast

19 Oct 2018 | 11:17 PM

New Delhi, Oct 19 (UNI) Despite categorical refusal for breaking his almost four month long hunger strike for clean Ganga, authorities on Friday gave forced feeding to Sant Gopal Das at the PGI Chandigarh.

 Sharesee more..
Dussehra train tragedy: Railway Min assures speedy relief op; says returning to India from US

Dussehra train tragedy: Railway Min assures speedy relief op; says returning to India from US

19 Oct 2018 | 11:09 PM

New Delhi, Oct 19 (UNI) Railways Minister Piyush Goyal on Friday said that the Railways is carrying out immediate relief and rescue operations at Amritsar train accident site.

 Sharesee more..