Saturday, Nov 28 2020 | Time 13:10 Hrs(IST)
  • DDC polls: 22 12 pc votes polled till 1100 hrs across J&K
  • DDC election: 17 70 pc voting recorded till 1100 hrs in Kashmir amid tight security
  • DDC Polls: Development, right candidate on card as polling begins in J&K UT
  • DDC election: 2 34 pc voting recorded till 0900 hrs in Kashmir amid tight security
  • Picture of clash between 'Kisan-Jawan' deeply saddening: Rahul, Priyanka
  • India registers fresh spike of 41,322 nCoV cases; Tally reaches 93,51,110
  • Five mln Dorset US reward for info on LeT terrorist Sajid Mir
  • Traffic resumes on Kashmir highway, Mughal road still shut
  • United Airlines flying Pfizer’s COVID vaccine to prepare for distribution: Reports
  • "We can get better": Robbie Fowler assures improvement after glimpse of promise
  • 27 more test positive for Covid-19 in Arunachal; death toll rises to 50
  • UP Governor's nod to Love Jihad, anti -conversion Ordinance; Jail upto 10 yrs for forceful conversion
  • Polling underway for first phase of DDC elections in Kashmir amid tight security
  • NCP MLA Bharat Bhalke dies during treatment for post-COVID complications
  • Ramesh bags four as Tapan Memorial beat Bagan
States » East

Polling for first phase of Bihar Assembly Election begins

Polling for first phase of Bihar Assembly Election begins

Patna, Oct 28 (UNI) Amid tight security arrangements, polling for the first of three-phased Bihar Assembly Elections began at 7 AM in 71 seats where 2,14, 84, 787 electorates would be exercising their franchise to seal the fate of 1066 candidates including former Chief Minister Jeetan Ram Manjhi and former Speaker of Bihar Assembly Uday Narain Chaudhary.
Bihar is the first state in the country where elections are being held during Corona pandemic. Guidelines issued by Election Commission in view of Corona pandemic are being strictly followed. People were seen in long queues at polling stations, waiting for their turn to exercise the franchise.
Additional Chief Election Sanjay Kumar Singh said that elaborate security arrangement had been made to ensure free, fair and fearless polling. Paramilitary forces had been deployed at all 31, 380 polling stations, here added.
Mr Singh said altogether 114 women among a total of 1066 candidates are in the fray. A total number of 31380 EVMs and as many VVPats had been made available at booths to enable
electorate to exercise their franchise without any difficulty, he added.
Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar is the CM face of NDA, who has been at the helm
of affairs since 2005 barring a period of few months from May 2014 to 2015 when Mr Jeetan Ram Manjhi was Chief Minister while Mr Tejaswi Prasad Yadav is the CM face of Grand Alliance. Both NDA and Grand Alliance are the main power contenders while RLSP chief Upendra Kushwaha is leading a newly floated Grand Democratic Secularly Front (GDSF) and Jan Adhikar Party leader Rajesh Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav has also floated a new front Progressive Democratic Alliance (PDA) comprising few smaller parties.
While NDA with its constituents of JD(U), BJP, Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and Vikassheel
Insan Party( VIP) has galvanised all its energy under the leadership of Mr Kumar, Grand Alliance compromising RJD, Congress, CPI(ML), CPI and CPI(M), have solidly put their weights behind Tejaswi Prasad Yadav. Of the total 1066 candidates in the fray in the first phase of Bihar Assembly Elections, the ruling JD(U) has fielded 35 candidates followed by BJP which has fielded 29 candidates.
HAM and VIP have fielded 6 candidates and 1 candidate respectively. On the other hand, Grand Alliance constituents RJD has fielded 42 seats while Congress and CPI(ML) have fielded 21 and 8 seats respectively. LJP is contesting 41 seats, BSP- 27 seats and RLSP are contesting 40 seats.

More News
Assam imposes eco-blockade on Nagaland

Assam imposes eco-blockade on Nagaland

28 Nov 2020 | 11:19 AM

Kohima, Nov 28 (UNI) An economic blockade imposed by All Assam Students Union
on the Mariani-Mokokchung road (NH 702-D) continued for the 12th day today, even
after the Jorhat (Assam) and Mokokchung (Nagaland) district administrations level
meeting on November 25 in Jorhat.

see more..
Nagaland ex-MLA Lungbe Meru passes away

Nagaland ex-MLA Lungbe Meru passes away

28 Nov 2020 | 10:40 AM

Kohima, Nov 28 (UNI) Former Legislator of Nagaland Lungbe Meru (Lunghinggwangbe Meru )
from Peren Assembly Constituency under Peren district passed away at Dimapur.

see more..
Sikkim minister launches ‘Hamro Varta’   Sikkim’s 24  x7 TV Channel

Sikkim minister launches ‘Hamro Varta’ Sikkim’s 24 x7 TV Channel

28 Nov 2020 | 10:35 AM

Gangtok,Nov 28 ( UNI) Sikkim Minister LN Sharma has launched a new TV Channel
for the State.

see more..
Sikkim records 37 new Covid cases, 2 new deaths in 24 hrs

Sikkim records 37 new Covid cases, 2 new deaths in 24 hrs

28 Nov 2020 | 9:54 AM

Gangtok, Nov 28 (UNI) A total of 37 fresh Covid-19 cases and two new deaths
were recorded in Sikkim in the last 24 hours.

see more..

Tripura Dy CM assured of speedy development: Held review on development of aspirational blocks

27 Nov 2020 | 10:32 PM

Ambassa (Tripura), Nov 27 (UNI) Tripura Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu Dev Barman assured of speedy development as well as of launching of PM- KUSUM project shortly during his interaction with media fraternity in Dhalai district here this evening.

see more..