Thursday, Dec 2 2021 | Time 09:55 Hrs(IST)

Hero I-League Qualifiers 2021 reduced to 9 teams after AIFF disqualified J&K's Hydera Sports FC from championship

Hero I-League Qualifiers 2021 reduced to 9 teams after AIFF disqualified J&K's Hydera Sports FC from championship

Kolkata, Sep 28(UNI) The Hero I-League Qualifiers 2021 is now reduced to nine- team tournament after
India's supreme football regulating body -the All India Football Federation - has disqualified Jammu and Kashmir's Hyderya Sports FC
from the upcoming championship for producing bank guarantee, which was "not genuine".
" The AIFF would like to inform all the stakeholders of Hero I League Qualifiers 2021 (the League) that upon receiving several complaints
regarding the genuineness of a bank guarantee submitted by Hyderya Sports Kashmir FC, the AIFF initiated an enquiry into the matter,
"The inquiry revealed that the bank guarantee so received was not genuine and that the bank guarantee was never officially issued by the bank named therein.
"The bank guarantee was one of the mandatory requirements to be eligible to participate in the League, which was to be submitted within a specified timeline."
an AIFF statement said.
"The said timeline now stands elapsed and the mandatory requirement has not been fulfilled by the said club. In light of the same, Hyderya's participation in the League stands withdrawn with immediate effect.
The AIFF said it would not make any further statement on the matter.
"Furthermore, the AIFF reserves its rights to initiate disciplinary proceedings against the club," it added.
One of the top private clubs of Kashmir, Hyderya Sports had made the cut for the I-League Qualifiers after J&K Bank, the group toppers in the JKFA Professional League, could not apply for being an institutional team.
Hyderya were slated to play the opening tie against Madan Maharaj FC in Bangalore on 4 October.
Without the Kashmir outfit, group A will now have four teams Rajasthan United FC, Ryntih SC, Madan Maharaj FC and FC Bengaluru United.
Group B comprises Corbett FC, Kenkre Sports, ARA FC, Kerala United FC and Delhi FC.
Top two teams from each group will make the final round where they will face each other in a
round-robin format to decide the toppers, who will be promoted to the I-League.

More News

Anju Bobby George named 'Woman of the Year' at World Athletics Awards 2021

02 Dec 2021 | 12:53 AM

Monaco, Dec 2 (UNI) India's Anju Bobby George was crowned as the Woman of the Year at the World Athletics Awards 2021, a ceremony held virtually on December 1.

see more..

ISL: Jamshedpur FC set to lock horns with Hyderabad FC on Thursday

02 Dec 2021 | 12:00 AM

Bambolim, Dec 1 (UNI) Jamshedpur FC and Hyderabad FC will hope to convert the emphatic victories from their respective previous matches into winning runs when they clash at the GMA Athletic Stadium here on

see more..

Odisha blank Bihar 5-0 in Santosh Trophy East Zone qualification

01 Dec 2021 | 11:49 PM

Bhubaneswar, Dec 1 (UNI) Odisha defeated Bihar by 5-0 in their opening match of the Santosh Trophy 2021-22 East Zone Group-A Qualifiers here at Kalinga Stadium on Wednesday.

see more..

J&K LG congratulates Rajouri teenager for making it to the U-19 Indian cricket team

01 Dec 2021 | 11:21 PM

Jammu, Dec 1 (UNI) A day after two cricketers from Jammu and Kashmir Abdul Samad and Umran Malik were retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for the next IPL season, a teenager from bordering district of Rajouri, Amaan Zari has been selected for Under-19 Indian cricket team for the 4- Nations Cup that is to be played in Dubai.

see more..

Manchester United co-owner's company acquires UAE T20 League franchise

01 Dec 2021 | 10:34 PM

Dubai, Dec 1 (UNI) Lancer Capital, which is headed by Manchester United's co-chairman Avram Glazer, made its first-ever historic foray into cricket by acquiring a franchise in the UAE T20 League.
The six-team league is scheduled to be held between February - March next year.

see more..