Monday, Jun 25 2018 | Time 13:29 Hrs(IST)
  • Monsoon session to commence from July 18
  • Europe's banks, autos stocks sink as trade dispute deepens
  • Explosion rocks Muzaffarnagar: 4 killed, 3 injured
  • Monsoon rains affect life in Kolkata and major parts of Bengal
  • Governor review meetings : DMK stages walk out from TN Assembly
  • Jaitley compares Indira with Hitler, says most Editors gave in during Emergency
  • Mirwaiz, Geelani under house arrest, Malik detained in Srinagar
  • Heavy rains claim 3 lives in Mumbai, Thane
  • SF launch CASO at two places in Pulwama
  • India denies lowering export quota of essential commodities to Maldives
  • UN chief condemns explosion at election rally in Zimbabwe
  • End of driving ban in Saudi will create more opps for women: UN chief
  • Clashes in Nigeria b/w farmers and herders leave 86 dead
  • Turkey election: Erdogan wins re-election as president
  • Amit Shah lashes out at Congress for imposing Emergency in 1975
Sports Share

Mumbai Indians in IPL final with 6 wicket win over KKR

Mumbai Indians in IPL final with 6 wicket win over KKR

Bengaluru, May 19 (UNI) Mumbai Indians, as expected, stormed to the final of the 10th edition of the IPL defeating Kolkata Knight Riders by six wickets in the second eliminator played at M Chinnaswamy stadium here today. The crucial tie, between the two former title winners, with new found Pune already in the final, proved to be a damp squib. The usual large attendance of die hard T-20 fans in Bengaluru, numbering over 20,000, went back home a disappointed lot. The second IPL eliminator played on a new wicket at the M Chinnaswamy stadium, match between two fierce competitors ended in a dampener, even as the famous Bengaluru rain in May month, that always hampers the IPL matches, kept away. Kolkata Knight Riders, put into bat, were dismal in their batting as top order batsmen flattered under the puny leg spinner Karn Sharma (4/16). Indian fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, who struck telling blows with a figure of 3-1-07-3 to reduce the Shah Rukh Khan’s team to a poor 107 all out. Theafter it was a formality even as Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma, back in the Indian side for Champions Trophy making 26, with a less than impressive outing. Young Krunal Pandya, knocking at the doors of the Indian team made, a purposeful 45 off 30 balls hitting eight fours and Mumbai Indians coasted home making 111 for 4 with over five overs to spare. Earlier, KKR could hardly make a flying start and the challenge remained bloodless, the say the least. The former champions lost important Chris Lynn (04) in the second over. Newfound marauder at the top, Sunil Narine also left for 10 runs in the 5th over and the KKR innings got bogged down. Jasprit Bumrah and and Aussie veteran speedster Michell Johnson (2/28) bowled at high speeds to cut short any hopes of KKR resurection. This meant that KKR made one of the lowest 25-3 after the first six overs, killing any excitement out of the match. Brief scores: Kolkata Knight Riders 107 (Ishank Jaggi 28, Suryakumar Yadav 31, Mitchell Johnson 2/28, Jasprit Bumrah 3/07, Karn Sharma 4/16) lost to Mumbai Indians 111/4 (Rohit Sharma 28, Krunal Pandya n.o. 45, Piyush Chawla 2/34). UNI RS AKC 0012

More News

103 from 22 states participated in climbing competition 2018 in Srinagar

24 Jun 2018 | 7:31 PM

Srinagar, Jun 24 (UNI) Over 100 climbers from 22 states participated in the first all India sport lead climbing competition 2018 which commences in Srinagar on Sunday.

 Sharesee more..

'Sir Cecil' wins Colts Championship Stakes

24 Jun 2018 | 7:28 PM

Bangaluru, June 24 (UNI) Hot favourite S Padmanabhan's ward "Sir Cecil" well ridden by
Neeraj Rawal won the Colts Championship Stakes (1600 M) in the main event for
12th day Bengaluru races held on Sunday
Rawal, Trainers S Padmanabhan and Darius Byramji had a brace of winners each.

 Sharesee more..


24 Jun 2018 | 6:46 PM

Jackpot: paid Rs 14,133 on each of 55 tickets
Jackpot runner: paid Rs 174 on each of 1,915 tickets
First Trible: paid Rs 672 on each of 42 tickets
Second Trible: paid Rs 1,931 on each of 19 tickets.

 Sharesee more..


24 Jun 2018 | 6:35 PM

The Justice P Medapa Memorial Cup (Div II) 1400 M
Royal Rein (Mr Syed Muheeb) 55 M B Kuldeep First
Birchwood 53.

 Sharesee more..

24 Jun 2018 | 6:29 PM

Earlier today, Datta, representing Momentum Motorsports, clinched his second podium in Formula LGB 1300
class races by finishing second behind Nabil Hussain (MSport) while Sohil Shah (MSport) came in third.

 Sharesee more..