Wednesday, Jun 19 2019 | Time 02:33 Hrs(IST)
  • US authorities seize 1-bln-USD worth of cocaine in massive bust
  • Google resolves Google Calendar issue, program functioning again
  • Afghan security forces launch offensive in one of Taliban's main strongholds
  • Experts urge international community to unite in global campaign for Assange release
  • UN chief voices concern over situation in Syria's Idlib
  • US to Work With International Partners on Iran - Pompeo
  • Charges framed in Bhopal rape-murder
  • UN launches plan of action on hate speech
  • India-Pak CWC'19 match becomes the most tweeted ODI, Kohli most Tweeted about player
States » South » MSE

Campaign for LS, Assembly bypoll ends

Campaign for LS, Assembly bypoll ends

Puducherry, Apr 16 (UNI) A spirited campaign for the Puducherry Lok Sabha election and the Thattanchavady assembly by-poll came to a close at 1700 hours on Tuesday.

The voting will be held on April 18.

As many as 9,73,410 electorate will decide the electoral fortunes of 18 candidates in the fray for the Lok Sabha election, while, 29,763 voters will decide the fate of 8 candidates contesting the by-election.

The campaign which began on a sluggish note because of the scorching heat picked up momentum and reached its peak at the fag end of electioneering.

Mostly, the political parties opted to went round the area in open vehicles instead of a door-to door campaign.

However, in rural and some other areas, door-to-door campaign was also undertaken by the political parties.


More News

Vishakhapatnam (North): TDP’s Ganta Srinivas Rao declared winner by margin of 1944 votes after result kept on hold

24 May 2019 | 9:35 PM

Vishakhapatnam, May 24 (UNI) The Election commission on Friday evening declared TDP Candidate and HRD Minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao as the winner from Visakhapatnam North Assembly seat after the result was put on hold in view of the differences in VVPATs slips and EVMs.

see more..

Local body election counting postponed in AP

24 May 2019 | 9:25 PM

Hyderabad, May 24 (UNI) The counting of votes for the recent elections to the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTC) and Mandal Prarishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTC) were postponed, Telangana State Election Commission said on Friday.

see more..

Election defeat to LDF: Kerala BJP demands CM's resignation

24 May 2019 | 7:14 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 24 (UNI) Kerala BJP President PS Sreedharan Pillai on Friday demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan for the humiliating defeat of CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) in the State.

see more..
YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

24 May 2019 | 6:50 PM

Amaravati, May 24 (UNI) The YSRCP which registered a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh garnered 49.

see more..

YSRCP wins 151 Assembly seats, TDP restrained to 23 in AP

24 May 2019 | 6:00 PM

Vijayawada, May 24 (UNI) The YSR Congress has won 151 Assembly seats and 22 Lok Sabha seats while the ruling Telugu Desam party won 23 MLA seats and three MP seats in Andhra Pradesh.

see more..