Thursday, Jun 21 2018 | Time 09:59 Hrs(IST)
  • Pokhrel to officiate PM's duties during Oli's China visit
  • Yoga is new mass movement globally, says PM
  • PM leads nation in celebrating International Yoga Day
  • PM leads nation in celebrating International Yoga Day
  • Floral tributes paid to police constable martyred in Kashmir
  • Train services suspended in Kashmir for security reasons
  • Renowned humourist Mushtaq Ahmad Yousufi to be laid to rest in Karachi
  • US identifies N Korea missile test site it says Kim committed to destroy
  • N Korea, China leaders agree to boost 'strategic, tactical' cooperation -KCNA
  • North Korea, China discuss 'true peace', denuclearisation -KCNA
  • Trump backs down, signs order to end family separations at U S border
  • Spain beat Iran 1-0 with Costa's third goal of World Cup
  • U S lawmakers want Google to reconsider links to China's Huawei
Election Share

Yddyurappa to take oath as 23rd Chief Minsiter of Karnataka tomorrow

Yddyurappa to take oath as 23rd Chief Minsiter of Karnataka tomorrow

Bengaluru, May 16 (UNI) Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala on Wednesday invited BJP leader B S Yeddyurappa to take oath as the 23rd Chief Minister of Karnataka at a function to be held at Raj Bhavan at 0900 hrs on Thursday.

Disclosing this to media persons, BJP state in-charge Muralidhar Rao said the Governor had given time of 15 days time to Mr Yeddyurappa to prove the majority.

The Governor's decision to invite BJP to form the government came as a shock for Janata Dal (S) and Congress parties which had joined together to form a coalition government with the total support of 117 legislators.

Assembly elections which was held for 222 seats on May 12 witnessed a fractured mandate with BJP securing 104 seats followed by Congress 78, Janata Dal (S) 37, BSP 1 and Independents 2. The counting taken up yesterday. However to keep the BJP out of power Congress and JD(s) had come together to form a coalition government forging a post-poll alliance.

Though BJP had won only 104 against the simple majority of 111 seats as JD(S) chief ministerial candidate H D Kumaraswamy had contested on two constituencies, the Governor invited the BJP as it was the single largest party.


More News

Chengannur Bypoll: LDF candidate Saji Cheriyan wins by a margin of 20,956 votes

31 May 2018 | 1:33 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) Kerala's Ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) Candidate Saji Cheriyan won the Chengannur Assembly seat by a margin of 20,956 votes.

 Sharesee more..

Saji Cheriyan leads by 7154 votes in Chengannur Assembly seat

31 May 2018 | 10:57 AM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) LDF candidate Saji Cheriyan is leading by over 7154 votes after five rounds of voting in Chengannur Assembly seat in Kerala.

 Sharesee more..

LDF leads in Chengannur Assembly seat

31 May 2018 | 10:55 AM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) Counting for the May 28 Chengannur Assembly bypoll, where Kerala's ruling CPI(M)-led LDF, Opposition Congress-led UDF and BJP-led NDA were in the fray, was underway on Thursday with initial trends showing that the LDF candidate is leading.

 Sharesee more..

Congress surges to early lead over BJP in RR Assembly seat

31 May 2018 | 10:31 AM

Bengaluru, May 31 (UNI) The counting for Rajarajeshwari Nagar Assembly constituency in Karnataka began on Thursday with Congress candidate taking the early lead over his nearest BJP rival.

 Sharesee more..

Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal issues notices to 5 states to nominate representatives

30 May 2018 | 7:56 PM

(Rptg, correcting slug)
Bhubaneswar, May 30 (UNI) Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal has issued notice to
Odisha, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra to nominate
their representatives for adjudication of Mahanadi River Water Disputes latest by
August 6, 2018.

 Sharesee more..