Wednesday, Feb 26 2020 | Time 19:57 Hrs(IST)
  • Delhi clashes: HC asks Police to watch video clips, register FIRs against BJP leaders for provocative speeches
  • FM exhorts PSBs to focus more on branch-based banking with customer connect
  • Ravi, Rithvik progress to 2nd round of Dutch Jr Int'l tournament
  • Haryana police issues advisory on law & order situation across the state: ADGP
  • Haryana police arrested most wanted criminal
  • Mysuru: 29 students fell sick after consuming milk
  • NIA conducts multiple raids in Kashmir
  • Def Min Rajnath Singh to attend Yediyurappa's felicitation function in K'taka
  • Janpad CEO suspended in corruption case
  • Gujarat: FM presents Rs 2,17,287 cr budget for FY 2020-21
  • Australia's Chef de Mission tells athletes to focus on training for Tokyo Olympics
  • Congress stages 'dharna' against BJP MLA’s remark on freedom fighter Iyengar
  • Security force launch CASO in south Kashmir’s Shopian
  • Awareness for school students against not visiting porn sites:Nitish
  • Centre accords top priority for welfare of 3 5 crore workers : Gangwar

Neeraj Shekhar takes oath as Rajya Sabha MP

Neeraj Shekhar takes oath as Rajya Sabha MP

New Delhi, Sep 12 (UNI) Neeraj Shekhar, son of former prime minister Chandra Shekhar, on Thursday took oath as a Rajya Sabha member in Parliament House.

Mr Shekhar switched over to the BJP after resigning from Samajwadi Party during last session of Parliament. He was elected unopposed to the Upper House from Uttar Pradesh.

'The Chairman administered the oath in his chamber to Neeraj Shekhar of Bharatiya Janata Party, re-elected as Member of Rajya Sabha in the by-election from the State of Uttar Pradesh,” the Rajya Sabha Secretariat said in a statement.

Mr Shekhar was earlier elected for his first term as Member of Rajya Sabha in November 2014.

He resigned on 15 July 2019 and got re-elected in August 2019. He has also been a Member of the 14th and 15th Lok Sabha.

He had filed his nomination on August 14 as the BJP candidate for the August 26 Rajya Sabha bypoll from Uttar Pradesh in the presence of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and the party's state unit chief Swatantra Dev Singh.

The bypoll was necessitated due to his resignation from the Rajya Sabha to join the ruling BJP. The term of the seat is up to November 25, 2020.

Uttar Pradesh sends 31 members to the Rajya Sabbha.

Minister of State for Finance Anurag Thakur and BJP lawmaker Anil Baluni and Rajya Sabha Secretary-General Desh Deepak Verma were also present on the occasion.


More News
China denies delay in clearance of Indian flight to Corona virus-hit Wuhan

China denies delay in clearance of Indian flight to Corona virus-hit Wuhan

26 Feb 2020 | 7:50 PM

New Delhi, Feb 26 (UNI) Denying there was any attempt to `deliberately delay’ flight permission to evacuate Indian nationals from Corona virus-hit Hubei province, the Chinese Embassy here on Wednesday said the Chinese side provided all "necessary support and assistance for flying duty by Indian aircraft".

see more..
Rakhi Birla elected Dy Speaker of Delhi Assembly

Rakhi Birla elected Dy Speaker of Delhi Assembly

26 Feb 2020 | 7:35 PM

New Delhi, Feb 26 (UNI) Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLA Rakhi Birla was unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker of the Delhi Assembly for the second consecutive term on Wednesday.

see more..

U S advises its citizens to exercise caution in Delhi

26 Feb 2020 | 7:09 PM

New Delhi, Feb. 26 (UNI) The U.S. on Wednesday advised its citizens in India to exercise caution in light of violent demonstrations in Northeast Delhi and avoid all areas with demonstrations.

see more..

NUJ, DJA condemn attack on mediapersons

26 Feb 2020 | 7:00 PM

New Delhi, Feb 26 (UNI) The National Union of Journalists (NUJ) and the Delhi Journalists Association (DJA) on Wednesday condemned the incidents of several attacks on mediapersons covering communal violence in the North-East Delhi, since Sunday.

see more..

HRD minister launches leadership development programme for administrators

26 Feb 2020 | 6:48 PM

New Delhi, Feb 26 (UNI) Human Resource Development Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ on Wednesday launched a leadership development programme for administartors.

see more..