Monday, Jul 6 2020 | Time 08:00 Hrs(IST)
  • Tokyo 2020 looks to work closer with newly elected governor Koike
  • British government allows selected sporting events to exempt from quarantine
  • COVID-19 cases surpass 1 6 mln in Brazil
  • Repatriation flight carrying nearly 400 Russians home leaves New York for Moscow
  • More than 300,000 COVID-19 cases confirmed in Peru - Health Ministry
  • Trump will host next campaign rally in New Hampshire on July 11, his team says
  • Baghdad international airport targeted after rocket attack on US Embassy - Reports
  • Israeli military targets Hamas infrastructure in Gaza in response to rocket attack - IDF
  • US FDA Commissioner Stephen declines to offer COVID-19 vaccine timing
  • Serbian President's Party secures parliamentary majority following general vote
  • Parties to Open Skies Treaty to convene on Monday to discuss US Withdrawal
  • MP CM focussing on tribal welfare
  • Oman reports 1,072 new COVID-19 cases, 46,178 in total
  • MP CM condemns attack on scribe
  • Turkey reports 1,148 new COVID-19 cases, 205,758 in total
States » North » DIE

Modi to create history by becoming 1st non-Cong PM to secure full majority for second consecutive term

New Delhi, May 23 (UNI) After Bharatiya Janata Party's massive victory in the 17th Lok Sabha elections, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will create history by becoming the third leader and the first non-Congressman to form a majority government for the second consecutive term with a full majority.

For the first time in Parliamentary history of the country in the past five decades, has a Government been
returned to power for a second consecutive term with an absolute majority. \\\\

The last time this happened was in 1971 when , under the
leadership of then Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, a Government was returned with a decisive majority.
Mr Modi is the third leader , and first non-Congress leader after Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi , to notch up this record.

Mr Modi had stated before the end of campaigning for the last phase that his government would return to power with absolute majority and it is going to happen after a long period of time.

His prediction has proven right, as has been borne out by the election results.

Under the Prime Ministership of Jawaharlal Nehru , a majority Government was formed in the country three times.

After this, a government with majority was formed twice in 1967 and 1971 under the leadership of Indira Gandhi.

Mr Modi has now succeeded in repeating this feat.

Though the Congress had also secured a majority
in the Lok Sabha in 1980 and 1984, it was under different Prime Minister both times.

Indira Gandhi, who was ousted from power in the aftermath of the Emergency, returned in the 1980 general
elections, but she was assassinated in 1984 and her son Rajiv Gandhi became the Prime Minister.

The Congress had swept to power securing more than 400 seats on the basis of sympathy votes in the Lok Sabha elections after her assassination.

After the election, no party was able to secure a clear majority in the Lok Sabha for three decades. In the last general elections, BJP had made history by getting a clear majority in the Lok Sabha.

With the formation of the NDA Government led by Prime Minister Modi again, he will set another record. He will
be the third leader after Pandit Nehru and Dr Manmohan Singh to take over the reins of the country after
completing a five-year term.

Pandit Nehru was the only leader who became PM twice after completing his five-year tenure. If Mr Modi
becomes the Prime Minister again, he will equal the record of Dr Manmohan Singh. Dr Singh became the Prime Minister for the first time in 2004 when the United Progressive Alliance government was formed under the
leadership of the Congress.

After completing a five-year term in 2009, he again led a coalition government.

After Pandit Nehru, Indira Gandhi remained the longest serving prime minister but her name does not appear in
this list.

She became the Prime Minister for the first time after the death of Lal Bahadur Shastri in 1966. After one year,
with the Congress victory in the 1967 polls, she took over the post again. Due to internal discord in the Congress,
she dissolved the Lok Sabha a year before completion of the five-year term of her Government, and opted to
go in for elections in 1971. Her resounding success in this election resulted in her becoming Prime Minister

After facing defeat in the 1977 elections, she became the Prime Minister for the fourth time in 1980.

BJP leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee became the Prime Minister thrice and stayed in office for
more than six years. He became the Prime Minister for the first time in 1996 but his government fell within
13 days.

On becoming prime minister again in 1998, his government could survive for 13 months only. Mr Vajpayee
became the Prime Minister for the third time in 1999, but in the elections held in 2004, the BJP lost to the Congress led UPA . After this Dr Manmohan Singh has been in the prime minister for two consecutive terms.

UNI SD AR 1600
More News
Congress' Capital debacle: DPCC chief Subhash Chopra quits

Congress' Capital debacle: DPCC chief Subhash Chopra quits

11 Feb 2020 | 11:48 PM

New Delhi, Feb 11 (UNI) Taking moral responsibility for the party's crushing defeat in the just held assembly polls, Delhi Congress chief Subhash Chopra on Tuesday tendered his resignation.

see more..
Amanatullah's massive lead in Okhla : Rejection of BJP's campaign against Shaheen Bhagh?

Amanatullah's massive lead in Okhla : Rejection of BJP's campaign against Shaheen Bhagh?

11 Feb 2020 | 9:06 PM

New Delhi, Feb 11 (UNI) The sitting Aam Aadmi Party MLA Amanatullah Khan from Okhla constituency, which houses Shaheen Bagh - the hotbed of anti-CAA protests-registered a whooping victory over the BJP candidate by more than 71, 664 votes.

see more..
Kejriwal hits a hat-trick, AAP sweeps Delhi with 62 seats

Kejriwal hits a hat-trick, AAP sweeps Delhi with 62 seats

11 Feb 2020 | 8:11 PM

New Delhi, Feb 11 (UNI) Arvind Kejriwal is all set to become the Chief Minister of Delhi for a third straight term, as his Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday won 62 seats in the 70-member Assembly elections, leaving the Bharatiya Janata Party way behind and reducing the Congress to a virtual non-entity.

see more..

The 'rise and rise' of Mufflerman

11 Feb 2020 | 7:47 PM

By Ujwal Jalali
New Delhi, Feb 11 (UNI) Riding on the promise of development for people of Delhi, including low cost electricity, free water, Mohalla clinics providing affordable healthcare and doorstep delivery of services, Bureaucrat-turned-whistleblower-turned-politician Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday again rose to power for the third consecutive term in the national capital.

see more..