Friday, Jun 5 2020 | Time 22:47 Hrs(IST)
  • 60-yr-old man dies of coronavirus in Kolhapur
  • Overwhelming public response to suggestions sought by Kejriwal on opening of Delhi borders
  • Six new cases of Covid-19 in HP, tally at 390
  • No need for CBI probe into Markaz incident, Centre tells SC
  • South Central Railway run 235 Shramik Special trains since May 1
  • Kerala reports 111 new COVID cases, 22 recoveries, 973 patients under treatment
  • Tokyo 2020 vice president unsure whether Games can be held in 2021
  • Kerala to conduct antibody tests on large scale to check community spread
  • Reservation for Economically Weaker Sections available at Central, Union territory level: J&K Govt
  • 2022 FIFA World Cup Asian Round 2 qualifiers to be played by November
  • Six U-19 China footballers suspended for drinking
  • Bilateral differences should not become disputes: India, China at diplomatic talks
  • Gadkari launches awareness campaign on ‘Prevention of Human and Animal Mortality on Highways’
  • Delhi's contagion tally mounts to 26,334, deaths 708

Mariano Aguerre to lead La Pegasus Polo in inaugural X-treme Polo League

Mumbai, Sep 19 (UNI) Mumbai based La Pegasus Polo, one of India’s upcoming Premiere Polo Establishments on Thursday announced their team for the inaugural edition of the X-treme Polo League (XPL), scheduled to begin from September 25
X-treme Polo League (XPL), the first global franchise based professional League has been designed to grow and popularise the game.
Commenting on the composition of the team, Sanjay Jindal, Patron & Founder, La Pegasus Polo said, “When we decided to field a team in the XPL we were very clear with the kind of players we wanted to induct. We wanted a balance between youth and experience and wanted the very best Team to represent India''.
''It is an honour to have a legend like Mariano lead the La Pegasus Polo International team. He is a living legend and the whole team consists of players of the highest calibre and have known each other since long. We want to not only ensure that we play well but also compete to win, '' he added.
La Pegasus Polo International will be led by the legendary Argentine player Mariano Aguerre, a previously 10-goal handicap player - the highest ranking in Polo, who has won everything there is to win in the game.
Mariano currently plays off an 8-goal handicap in both the United States and in his native Argentina.
His impressive CV includes nine Argentina Open titles including the Argentine Triple Crown, two of the most hallowed achievements in Polo. He also has a collection of major championships, highlighted by the US Open titles in 2005 with White Birch and in 2014 with Alegria.
Aguerre has also won nine USPA Gold Cup titles. His acrobatic style also helped White Birch win the 1988 World Cup, and Aguerre was named Most Valuable Player as a 4-goaler.
Accompanying Mariano will be the likes of Lerin Zubiaurre who plays off 8 goals. At the age of 10, he went onto win his first tournament Copa Potrillos in 2002. He has also won the Triple Crown Sotogrande in 2008, Copa Camara de Diputados in 2012, the Copa Republica Argentina 2011/2014 and the Argentina polo Tour Ellerstina in 2010/2011/2016/2018.
Martin Aguerre JR will be another rising star to look out for. He plays off 7-goals and has won the Ellerstina Silver cup in 2007, and has also represented White Birch; together with his Uncle Mariano Aguerre with whom he will be teaming up again. 6-goaler Pablo Llorente will be completing the quadrat.
Marcos ‘Cacu’ Araya who has a 7-goal handicap is part of the team as a substitute. Araya in his career has won tournaments like Copa Cámara de Diputados, Copa Republica, Copa Santa Paula and Copa Manuel Belgrano.
La Pegasus with the current composition will be a 29 goal team. The XPL will consist of players wherein the sum of all the players’ handicap within a team should be between 28-34 handicaps. Each team is allowed a maximum of two players with a handicap of 10.
To put it in perspective, the highest handicap tournament played in India is the Indian Open which is a 16-goal tournament. Also, the lowest handicapped player in the La Pegasus team is equal to India’s highest handicapped player and recent Arjuna Awardee Simran Singh Shergill who also plays off 6-goals.
La Pegasus Polo International will be going up against the likes of Ellerstina represented by Facundo and Gonzalo Pieres and the Castagnola brothers, La Aguada represented by the Argentine superstar Miguel Novillo Astrada and company.
Other teams in the fray include last years’ runner-up of the Argentine Open and winners of the Hurlingham Open, Las Monjitas, as well as La Ensenada and La Albertina Abu Dhabi, a team formed through another successful association between established players and visionary entrepreneurship.
The Finals of XPL slated for October 5, 2019 to be held at the PILAR Polo grounds - Buenos Aires in Argentina.
More News

2022 FIFA World Cup Asian Round 2 qualifiers to be played by November

05 Jun 2020 | 10:00 PM

Kuala Lumpur, Jun 5 (Xinhua) The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) announced on Friday that the remaining 2022 FIFA World Cup Round 2 Asian qualifying matches would be played in October and November after having been postponed due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

see more..

Six U-19 China footballers suspended for drinking

05 Jun 2020 | 9:57 PM

Shanghai, Jun 5 (Xinhua) Six members of the Chinese men's U-19 national football team have been suspended for drinking and will be punished by the Chinese Football Association (CFA), head coach Cheng Yaodong confirmed here on Friday.

see more..

Won't stop till we win trophy: Kabaddi star Naveen Kumar

05 Jun 2020 | 9:20 PM

New Delhi, Jun 5 (UNI) The young rising star Naveen Kumar, who plays for Dabang Delhi KC in Pro Kabaddi League, has said that he won't stop working hard till his team wins the trophy.

see more..

Umar Akmal's appeal against 3-year ban to be taken on Jun 11: PCB

05 Jun 2020 | 8:50 PM

Islamabad, Jun 5 (UNI) The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Friday announced that batsman Umar Akmal’s appeal against his three-year ban will be heard on June 11 by a former Supreme Court judge Justice (retd), Faqir Muhammad Khokhar as an independent adjudicator.

see more..
ISL: Bengaluru FC sign Joe Zoherliana, Wungngayam Muirang

ISL: Bengaluru FC sign Joe Zoherliana, Wungngayam Muirang

05 Jun 2020 | 7:40 PM

Bengaluru, Jun 5 (UNI) Bengaluru FC on Friday announced the addition of two more new faces to
their squad in 21-year-olds Joe Zoherliana and Wungngayam Muirang.

see more..