Thursday, Mar 21 2019 | Time 05:46 Hrs(IST)
  • FBI joins federal probe into certification of faulty Boeing 737 MAX aircraft
  • IAS transfers in MP
  • Pompeo, Netanyahu vow to increase pressure against Iran
  • Trump confirms 400 US troops to remain in Syria with 200 stationed 'closer to Israel'
States » North

LS polls: Dist admin organises special training for AROs regading new suvidha portal

Jalandhar, Mar 14 (UNI) Aiming to ensure smooth, regular and efficient updating of the counting of the votes on the counting day (May 23) in the general elections, the Election Commission of India (ECI) organised a mock counting training for all assistant returning officers (AROs).
The training was held in the office of National Informatics Centre in District Administrative Complex during which Deputy Commissioner cum District Election Officer Varinder Kumar Sharma and Additional Deputy Commissioner Cum Additional District Election Officer Kulwant Singh along with other officers took part.
The Resource Persons trained by the Election Commission of India imparted training to the officers, officials about the new Suvidha portal which is going to used during the counting day.

Presiding over the training session, the district election officer-cum-deputy Commissioner Mr Sharma said that the training session was mandated by ECI to improve the functioning of the election staff on the counting day.
The deputy commissioner said that on the counting day, the details of votes counting will be updated on the website of the ECI so that the people can have information of the trends.
Mr Sharma added that the counting is long exercise which involves a huge manpower to complete the process in separate rounds and training will help to sharpen their skills in completing the counting.
Deputy Commissioner said that the main aim of training was to ensure that a platform was offered to the officers for keeping them abreast with the latest technological advancements in democratic set up.
Prominent amongst present on the occasion included Joint Commissioner Aashika Jain, Sub Divisional Magistrates Paramvir Singh, Sanjiv Sharma, Charumita, RTA Secretary Dr Nayyan Jassal, Rajesh Sharma, Additional Chief Administrator PUDA Kanwaljeet Singh, District Information Officer Amolak Singh Kalsi and others were also present.
More News

Had sent proposal for strict action against fake PRC holders to Mehbooba, never heard back: Bukhari

20 Mar 2019 | 11:22 PM

Srinagar, Mar 20 (UNI) Upping the ante on the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) president over 'fake state subject certificates' issue, National Conference (NC) leader Basharat Bukhari on Wednesday said a proposal, for strict action against the fake Permanent Resident Certificates (PRC) holders and the officers involved, which was sent to then chief minister Mehbooba Mufti’s office never returned.

see more..

Buoyed up by Assembly poll success, Cong nurses ambition of capturing Morena

20 Mar 2019 | 11:14 PM

Morena, MP, Mar 20 (UNI) Though Morena parliamentary constituency – adjoining Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh – has long been a Bharatiya Janata Party citadel, the Congress is eyeing it hopefully on account of confidence experienced by virtue of coming to power in Madhya Pradesh about three months back.

see more..

CRPF jawan kills 3 colleagues in fratricide incident in Udhampur

20 Mar 2019 | 11:11 PM

Jammu, Mar 20 (UNI) A jawan of CRPF late on Wednesday evening killed three of his colleagues in an incident of fratricide in Udhampur district of Jammu and Kashmir.

see more..

Fatehgarh Sahib raise Rs 125 97 cr from allotment of liquor vends

20 Mar 2019 | 10:40 PM

Fatehgarh Sahib, Mar 20 (UNI) The draw of lots for allotment of liquor vends for 2019-20 in the district was held at Sohan Farms, Sirhind, here.

see more..
Cong, allies held back development projects: Jitendra

Cong, allies held back development projects: Jitendra

20 Mar 2019 | 10:17 PM

Jammu, Mar 20 (UNI) Union Minister Dr Jitendra Singh on Wednesday accused Congress and its allies of deliberately holding back important national and central projects in Udhampur-Kathua-Doda Lok Sabha constituency represented by him.

see more..