Saturday, Aug 15 2020 | Time 15:35 Hrs(IST)
  • Nepal PM Oli greets PM Modi on 74th Independence Day
  • Let us pledge to fulfill PM Modi’s dream of Atmanirbhar Bharat: Shah
  • CM Biren appeals to protect all lives during Independence day celebrations
  • HP celebrates 74th I-Day with gaiety maintaining Covid norms
  • ID: Mobile internet restored in Kashmir after about 5 hours
  • COVID 19 tally crosses 1 lakh in Bihar
  • Khandu calls upon people to follow Covid-19 protocols
  • Russia records 5,061 COVID-19 cases in past 24 hours
  • Amidst COVID SOPs, I-Day celebrated with enthusiasm in Jammu
  • US elections: Postal service warns of delays in mail-in vote count
  • Turkey may suspend ties with UAE over Israel deal
  • UN Security Council rejects US bid to extend Iran arms embargo
  • I-Day: Telangana Governor hoists National Flag at Raj Bhavan
  • India records 65,002 COVID-19 cases, 996 deaths
  • India developing 3 vaccines; will achieve victory over Covid 19 soon: PM Modi
States » West » BYE

LS Polls 2019: Ambedkar's Vanchit Bahujan Agadhi slashed Congress' voter-base in Mah

Aurangabad, May 24 (UNI) The 17th Lok Sabha polls finally culminated with the May 23 vote-count and the poll results reflected an unabashed triumph for the BJP-led NDA government, whereas the Opposition faced a bitter debacle, corroborating the exit polls.
In Maharashtra, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance bloomed on 41 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats, whereas the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) was cornered to four seats of Baramati, Raigad, Satara and Shirur.
Out of the remaining three seats, Congress won the Chandrapur LS seat, the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM)'s Imtiaz Jaleel emerged victorious in Aurangabad LS seat, whereas Independent nominee Navnit Kaur Rana claimed victory from the Amravati LS seat.
The Congress-NCP's fallout is being attributed to the Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Agadhi (VBA), as the party fielded its candidates on several seats across Maharashtra and garnered 7.2 per cent votes.
The VBA's move to field its nominees across Maharashtra's Lok Sabha seats resulted in scattering of the secular votes, owing to which, more than eight Congress-NCP poll nominees lost their respective contesting seats.
The prominent Opposition candidates, from whom the voters shied away, include Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee President Ashok Chavan and former Chief Minister Sushilkumar Shinde.
Mr Chavan lost the Nanded LS seat to BJP's Prataprao Chikkalikar by a margin of more than 40,000 votes and VBA candidate Yashpal Bhinge garnered 1.65 lakh votes.
A tough battle of ballots was witnessed at the Solapur LS seat, which was contested by political heavyweights Sushilkumar Shinde, BJP's Dr Jaysidhesvar Swami and VBA chief Prakash Ambedkar.
BJP's Dr Swami wooed the voters in Solapur seat and won by a margin of 1.58 lakh votes, whereas Mr Ambedkar managed to get 1.70 lakh votes.
The VBA contest in LS constituencies of Akola, Buldhana, Gadchiroli, Hatkanangale, Parbhani and Sangli, resulted in scattering of votes and in turn, eroded the Congress-NCP's winning chances.
Chandrapur is the lone LS seat, won by Congress' Balu Dhanorkar, who defeated BJP's Hansraj Ahir by a margin of 45,000 votes. VBA's Rajendra Mahadole got 1.10 lakh votes.

In Amravati LS seat, Independent candidate Navnit Rana won by a margin of 36,000 votes, defeating Shiv Sena's Anandrao Adsul and VBA's Gunwant Deopare.
More News
Mah Polls: 24 women nominees win this year; marginal rise since '14 polls

Mah Polls: 24 women nominees win this year; marginal rise since '14 polls

27 Oct 2019 | 6:29 PM

Aurangabad, Maharashtra, Oct 27 (UNI) The count of women legislators, getting elected in the 2019 assembly polls, marginally went up by two head-counts as compared to the 2014 polls.

see more..
NOTA stands second in Latur Rural beating Shiv Sena candidate

NOTA stands second in Latur Rural beating Shiv Sena candidate

27 Oct 2019 | 2:11 PM

Latur, Oct 27 (UNI) In the recently concluded state assembly polls, more than 27,500 voters of Latur Rural constituency have opted for the None of the Above (NOTA) option, which secured the second slot in the segment.

see more..
Mah Assy polls: Debutant Ramesh Bornare wins by highest margin in Aurangabad district

Mah Assy polls: Debutant Ramesh Bornare wins by highest margin in Aurangabad district

27 Oct 2019 | 11:02 AM

Aurangabad,Maharashtra,Oct 27(UNI) Shiv Sena candidate from Vaijapur assembly constituency Prof Ramesh Bornare, the first time election contender, has achieved the highest victory margin in the district by defeating his nearest rival NCP's Abhay Chikatgaonkar.

see more..
32 candidates lost their deposits in Aurangabad East

32 candidates lost their deposits in Aurangabad East

26 Oct 2019 | 10:21 AM

Aurangabad,Maharashtra, Oct 26 (UNI) Except winning BJP candidate and loser to him AIMIM candidate ,rest all 32 candidate lost their deposits in Aurangabad East assembly constituency.

see more..

MNS MLA Raju Patil to take up issue of exclusion of 27 villages from KDMC

25 Oct 2019 | 11:01 PM

Thane, Oct 25 (UNI) Lone MNS MLA from the state Raju Patil, who was elected from Kalyan Rural constituency, on Friday declared that he would place the problems faced by Kalyan before the state government and get them solved.

see more..