Saturday, Jan 18 2020 | Time 22:18 Hrs(IST)
  • Protest over CAA is a conspiracy against the country: UP CM
  • Hardik Patel arrested after issuance of NBW in sedition case
  • Rahul credits floating role with helping him ‘learn so much about batting as an art’
  • Man wanted for duping over dozen of Rs 90 lakh arrested in Thane
  • MP CM to attend WEF meet
  • Tamim Iqbal returns to Bangladesh squad for Pakistan T20Is
  • CISF to replace J&K Police at Srinagar, Jammu Airports
  • News of Shabana Azmi getting injured in road mishap is 'distressing': PM
  • Delhi Polls: Cong releases first list of 54 candidates, AAP turncoats get tickets
  • Premier Badminton League season 5 kicks off in Chennai
  • Developing intelligence, character true goal of education: CJI Bobde
  • Delhi Polls: AAP MLA Adarsh Shastri joins Cong
States » South » MSE

LDF wrests two seats from UDF in bypolls

Thiruvananthapuram, Oct 24 (UNI) The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) wrested two seats from Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) whereas UDF retained two seats and conquered one seat of Left.
LDF wrested Vattiyoorkavu and Konni seats from UDF while UDF retained Mancheswaram and Eranakulam.
Though Congress lost their two sitting seats, it managed to won Aroor, a Left bastion. This is the first in 58 years that a Congress candidate winning this seat
Congress candidate Ms Shanimol Usman won the Aroor Assembly seat by a margin of 2,079 votes defeating the rival Manu C Pulickal of CPI(M), according to the final voting figures.
The Congress candidate bagged 69,356 votes against CPI(M) candidate who garnered 67,277 votes. BJP candidate Prakash Babu stood in third position by 16,277 votes.
Congress wrested the Aroor from CPI (M) as the bypoll in this seat was necessitated after the winning of sitting MLA AM Arif to the Lok Sabha in the previous polls from Alappuzha Lok Sabha seat.
CPI (M) candidate VK Prasanth, who is also Mayor of City Corporation here, won by 14,465 votes in Vattiyoorkavu Assembly constituency.
VK Prasanth garnered 54,830 votes defeateling his rival Congress candidate K Mohan Kumar who bagged 40,365 votes, while BJP's Advocate S Suresh is in the third position by 27,453 votes.
Talking to newspersons here, VK Prasanth who termed his victory as unexpected said the Left Front always stands with the people who voted in favour of him.
The people rejected caste factor and voted for the LDF giving comfortable majority in this bypoll, he added.
Congress candidate TJ Vinod defeated LDF independent Manu Roy by a margin of 3,750 votes in Eranakulam Assembly constituency.
The Congress candidate garnered 37,891 votes against the CPI (M) candidate who got 34,141 votes, while BJP candidate CG Rajagopal bagged only 13,351 votes falling in the third position.
More News

EC to notify elections to Municipalities and Corporations shortly

25 Oct 2019 | 8:09 PM

Hyderabad, Oct 25 (UNI) State Election Commission will shortly notify poll details to Municipalities and Municipal Corporations in the state.

see more..

Bypolls results give setback for those using caste organisations for political gains: Kanam

24 Oct 2019 | 11:51 PM

Kannur, Oct 24 (UNI) Communist Party of India (CPI) State Secretary Kanam Rajendran on Thursday said that the bypolls results in Kerala gave setback for those who try to use the caste organisations to hijack political grounds in the State.

see more..

LDF wrests two seats from UDF in bypolls

24 Oct 2019 | 8:52 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, Oct 24 (UNI) The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) wrested two seats from Congress-led United Democratic Front (UDF) whereas UDF retained two seats and conquered one seat of Left.

see more..

BJP condemns open threat statement issued by CM KCR to RTC striking employees

24 Oct 2019 | 8:14 PM

Hyderabad, Oct 23 (UNI) Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao is acting like CEO of a profit centric private enterprise than an elected Chief Minister of a democratically run state government, state BJP Chief spokesperson K Krishna Saagar Rao alleged here on Thursday.

see more..

Haryana voters have given befitting verdict: CPI

24 Oct 2019 | 7:49 PM

Eluru, Oct 24 (UNI) CPI State secretary K Rama Krishna said that the people of Haryana had given a befitting verdict by rejecting the BJP in the Assembly elections.

see more..