Saturday, Feb 24 2018 | Time 15:21 Hrs(IST)
image
image image
  • Aruna Reddy bags bronze for India at 2018 Gymnastic World Cup
  • AirAsia resume flight svcs from Chennai after 3 years
  • Rahul Gandhi arrives in Karnataka for second leg of Election campaign
  • We must guard against growing intolerance in society: Rahul on lynching of tribal in Kerala
  • Govt running away from responsibility in PNB bank scam: Cong
  • New US Embassy in Jerusalem in May
  • 9 killed and 20 others injured after a speeding vehicle hit them
  • Film on Cauvery ordeal released by Cycle Pure Agarbathies
  • KKR to announce their next captain LIVE on the Star Sports network
  • KKR to announce their next captain LIVE on the Star Sports network
  • Ledecka doubles up with historical PGS gold
  • Pak troops again violate ceasefire in Uri sector
  • Bank fraud cases will impact ease of doing business in India: Jaitley
  • Idea Cellular raises Rs 3,500 crore through QIP placement
  • Ashish, Rakesh, Aruna qualify for finals in respective categories of 2018 Gymnastic WC
Sports Share

Langer 'certain' he has not broken putting rule

Langer 'certain' he has not broken putting rule
Bernhard Langer

Undated, Jul 8 (Reuters) Bernhard Langer issued a statement saying he is "certain" he has not been violating a rule banning players from anchoring their putter during their stroke. Golf Channel analyst and former PGA Tour player Brandel Chamblee yesterday stoked controversy in a Golf Channel column on Wednesday by calling Langer's putting stroke into question. Langer, a former world number one and two-time Masters champion, said his stroke did not breach the rule. “I’m certain that I am not anchoring the putter and that my putting stroke is not violating the Rules of Golf,” Langer said in a statement released via the PGA Tour. “I have been in contact with the USGA and rules officials ... and each time I have been assured that my putting stroke is within the Rules of Golf. "I will continue to play with the same integrity that I’ve displayed throughout my career.” In his column, Chamblee wrote, "... I cannot believe what I am seeing on PGA Tour Champions, with regard to the putting strokes of Bernhard Langer and Scott McCarron. "When the anchored-putting ban went into effect in January 2016, putting techniques and lives changed," he added. "... Langer did not alter his long putter anchored (looking) putting technique, except to say he was moving the butt end away from his body after making practice strokes with it touching his body.” The rule states that “while making a stroke, a player may not anchor the club (i) ‘directly’ or (ii) indirectly through use of an ‘anchor point’,” noting that an anchor point exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club. Chamblee wrote that it was the use of the word “intentionally” that had created a grey area. “Intent is the get-out-of-jail-free card for both the player and those who are meant to police the player,” he wrote. In a statement released along with Langer’s, the United States Golf Association (USGA) said it had seen “no evidence” of any player breaching the rule. “We are confident that Rule (14-1b) has been applied fairly and consistently and have seen no evidence of a player breaching the rule, which does not prohibit a hand or club to touch a player’s clothing in making a stroke.” REUTERS SV 0918

More News

Aruna Reddy bags bronze for India at 2018 Gymnastic World Cup

24 Feb 2018 | 3:09 PM

Melbourne, Feb 24 (UNI) India's Aruna Budda Reddy clinched bronze medal at the ongoing 2018 Gymnastic World Cup here on Saturday.

 Sharesee more..

....

24 Feb 2018 | 2:58 PM

Mercara Plate-1100 M
Panama (Sarainaga Racing) 57.

 Sharesee more..

....

24 Feb 2018 | 2:57 PM

Bengaluru, Feb 24(UNI) Following are the results of the races
held here on Saturday.

 Sharesee more..

2018 GYMNASTIC WORLD CUP: INDIA'S ARUNA REDDY BAGS BRONZE

24 Feb 2018 | 2:54 PM

 Sharesee more..
KKR to announce their next captain LIVE on the Star Sports network

KKR to announce their next captain LIVE on the Star Sports network

24 Feb 2018 | 2:53 PM

Kolkata, Feb 24 (UNI) With dedicated two hours of daily time bands for VIVO IPL 2018 programming, Star Sports will now offer KKR and VIVO IPL fans a chance to witness Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) announcing their new captain live for the first time on television.

 Sharesee more..
image