Saturday, Jul 21 2018 | Time 07:45 Hrs(IST)
image
image
  • Hiding in Nicaragua, Ortega's battered opponents plan comeback
  • Concern in White House over intelligence chief's Russian summit surprise
  • Canada's immigration detention reviews stacked against detainees -audit
  • Incoming Mexico leader blasts campaign fine as 'act of vengeance'
  • Amazon, Toyota, Alcoa and others working to counter Trump's tariff plans
  • Missouri tourist boat tragedy claims lives of 9 family members, others
  • Israel, Hamas agree to restore calm in Gaza Strip -Hamas
  • After win against 'No Trust' motion, PM says Govt's efforts to transform India to continue
  • Trump on Putin meeting: it wasn't all rosy
  • Ivory Coast government faces collapse in coalition row
  • US, European allies map out larger role for F-35 fighter
Sports Share

Langer 'certain' he has not broken putting rule

Langer 'certain' he has not broken putting rule
Bernhard Langer

Undated, Jul 8 (Reuters) Bernhard Langer issued a statement saying he is "certain" he has not been violating a rule banning players from anchoring their putter during their stroke. Golf Channel analyst and former PGA Tour player Brandel Chamblee yesterday stoked controversy in a Golf Channel column on Wednesday by calling Langer's putting stroke into question. Langer, a former world number one and two-time Masters champion, said his stroke did not breach the rule. “I’m certain that I am not anchoring the putter and that my putting stroke is not violating the Rules of Golf,” Langer said in a statement released via the PGA Tour. “I have been in contact with the USGA and rules officials ... and each time I have been assured that my putting stroke is within the Rules of Golf. "I will continue to play with the same integrity that I’ve displayed throughout my career.” In his column, Chamblee wrote, "... I cannot believe what I am seeing on PGA Tour Champions, with regard to the putting strokes of Bernhard Langer and Scott McCarron. "When the anchored-putting ban went into effect in January 2016, putting techniques and lives changed," he added. "... Langer did not alter his long putter anchored (looking) putting technique, except to say he was moving the butt end away from his body after making practice strokes with it touching his body.” The rule states that “while making a stroke, a player may not anchor the club (i) ‘directly’ or (ii) indirectly through use of an ‘anchor point’,” noting that an anchor point exists when the player intentionally holds a forearm in contact with any part of his body to establish a gripping hand as a stable point around which the other hand may swing the club. Chamblee wrote that it was the use of the word “intentionally” that had created a grey area. “Intent is the get-out-of-jail-free card for both the player and those who are meant to police the player,” he wrote. In a statement released along with Langer’s, the United States Golf Association (USGA) said it had seen “no evidence” of any player breaching the rule. “We are confident that Rule (14-1b) has been applied fairly and consistently and have seen no evidence of a player breaching the rule, which does not prohibit a hand or club to touch a player’s clothing in making a stroke.” REUTERS SV 0918

More News
Lakshya ensures medal for India; sails into semi-finals at Jakarta

Lakshya ensures medal for India; sails into semi-finals at Jakarta

20 Jul 2018 | 7:58 PM

New Delhi, July 20 (UNI) Sixth-seeded Lakshya Sen caused one of the major upsets so far in the Badminton Asia Junior Championships when he toppled second-seeded Chinese Li Shifeng 21-14, 21-12 to enter the men singles semi-finals on the third day of the individual events at Jakarta on Friday.

 Sharesee more..

Women Quarterfinalists spotted in World Junior Squash

20 Jul 2018 | 5:41 PM

Chennai, Jul 20 (UNI) Amid intense competitions, the race to the top has begun as the quarterfinalists in the Women's section in the WSF World junior squash championship were identified on Friday.

 Sharesee more..

Fakhar becomes first Pakistani batsman to score 200 in ODI

20 Jul 2018 | 5:39 PM

Islamabad, July 20 (UNI) Opener Fakhar Zaman has become the first Pakistani batsman to enter the 200 club in One-day International cricket when he scored an unbeaten 210 runs against Zimbabwe, according to the reports here.

 Sharesee more..

FC Goa announce signing of Senegalese central defender Mourtada Fall

20 Jul 2018 | 4:43 PM

Panaji, Jul 20 (UNI) FC Goa have announced the signing of Senegalese central defender Mourtada Fall.

 Sharesee more..
PINTO NAMES 25-MEMBER SQUAD FOR U-20 COTIF TOURNAMENT

PINTO NAMES 25-MEMBER SQUAD FOR U-20 COTIF TOURNAMENT

20 Jul 2018 | 4:25 PM

New Delhi, Jul 20 (UNI) India U-20 National squad participating in the
U-20 COTIF International Football Tournament will leave for Valenica,
Spain, on July 21, All India Football Federation (AIFF) said on
Friday.

 Sharesee more..
image