Saturday, Aug 8 2020 | Time 14:18 Hrs(IST)
  • COVID-19: Life remains crippled due to lockdown in Kashmir
  • Davinder case: NIA conduct raids in Srinagar, few other places in Kashmir
  • G C Murmu takes charge as CAG of India
  • Rain fury: Flood-like situation throws life out of gear in Karnataka
  • Odisha reports 12 more Covid deaths,Tally surges to 44,193 with 1643 new cases
  • COVID-19 claims senior politician, six-time LS member Nandi Yellaiah
  • Mahinda Rajapaksa to be sworn in as Prime Minister on Aug 9
  • Courts could meddle with decisions of legislature when decisions violates constitution : Ramakrishnudu
  • Kerala plane accident: Air India, Air India Express blacken their logos on social media
  • Flight Accident : AI CMD, Air India express CEO reaches Calicut, 17, including two pilots dead
  • Country needs to stick to basics till a safe and effective Covid vaccine is found : Experts
  • Noted academician Agha Ashraf Ali no more, demise widely condoled
  • nCoV: India's recovery rate improves to 68 32 pc
  • One more death in Meghalaya, COVID cases mount
  • COVID-19 : Small temples, mosques, churches allowed for public from Aug 10

ISSF Admn Council, Chairman of Technical Committee, others members elected under the guidance of new president

ISSF Admn Council, Chairman of Technical Committee, others members elected under the guidance of new president

Munich (GERMANY), DEC 2 (UNI) Day-2 of the ISSF General Assembly in Munich was opened by the newly elected ISSF President Vladimir Lisin (Russia), who welcomed the delegates of over 130 member federations on his first day in office, according to International Shooting Sport Federation.

on Friday, Mr. Lisin became the 7th President in the 111-year history of the federation, as he won the votes of the Assembly. He succeeded to Mexico’s Olegario Vázquez Raña, who was elected honorary president as he stepped back after leading the body for 38 years.

Alexander Ratner (RUS) joined him at the lead of the federation as Secretary General position, taking over the seat held by retiring Franz Schreiber of Germany. President Lisin and Secretary General Ratner worked together (in the same positions) in the European Shooting Confederation since 2013, proving to be a winning team.

Day-2 of the ISSF General Assembly saw the conduction of several votes, and various decisions were taken by the delegates.

The new ISSF Administrative Council

on Saturday morning, delegates of more than 130 member federations elected the 15 new Administrative Council members (in alphabetical order):

Christina Ahlstedt (Sweden), Ali Sadgar (Iran), Yair Davidovich (Israel), Alexandros Dimakakos (Greece), Catherine Fettell (Australia), Rafael Guerra Mollinedo (Cuba), Egbert Ijzerman (Netherlands),

Pekka Kuusisto (Finland), Lee Dal-gon (Korea), Liang Chun (China), György Nagy (Hungary), Hugues Senger (France), Gerardo Trotta (Venezuela), Michael Vaz (Singapore), Hans-Heinrich Von Schonfels (Germany).

Chairmen of the ISSF Committees

The General Assembly also re-elected Mr Jörg Brokamp (Germany) as the Chairman of the ISSF Technical Committee, Mr Böck Siegfried (Austria) and Mr Alexandros Dimakakos (Greece) as the new ISSF Auditors, and the Chairmen of the Section Committees:

ISSF Rifle Committee: David Goodfellow (GBR).

ISSF Pistol Committee: Susan Abbott (USA).

ISSF Shotgun Committee: Demetris Lordos (CYP).

ISSF Running Target Committee: Claes Johansson (SWE).

ISSF Judges Committee: Peter Underhill (GBR).

ISSF Statutes and Eligibility Committee: Biserka Vrbek (CRO).

ISSF Medical Committee: Dr. James LALLY (USA)

The General Assembly also elected Mr Derek Ivy of Great Britain) as an Honorary Member by unanimous decision. Ivy served as a member of the Pistol Committee from 1984 to 1996 and as a Member of the ISSF Administrative Council from 2006 to 2018, and chaired the ISSF Judges Committee from 1998 to 2006.

The elected officers join the new leadership team of the ISSF, along with President Lisin, Secretary General Ratner, and Vice-Presidents Kevin Kilty (IRL), Raninder Singh (IND), Robert Mitchell (USA) and Wang Yifu (CHN).

Delegates selected the host of the 2019 ISSF Shotgun World Championship, after hearing the presentation of Italy, Cyprus and Spain. The bid of Lonato (Italy) won the votes of the Assembly, proposing a championship to be held at the well-known Trap Concaverde shooting club on the shores of the Garda Lake, in north Italy. The dates of the Championship will be decided - and communicated on this website - later on.

ISSF Competitions

The General Assembly decided to postpone the review of the ISSF Competitions Calendar (and the world championship scheduling) for the Olympic cycle 2021-2024 to a possible ISSF Extraordinary General Assembly to be held in 2019.

Concerning the current Olympic cycle (2016-2020), and upon a proposal of the German Shooting Federation, the planned 2020 Junior World Cup to be hosted in Suhl (GER) was upgraded to an ISSF Junior World Championship.

The 2019 ISSF Junior World Cup planned to be held in Lima (PER) was cancelled.

The General Assembly received an update on the preparation for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games by Mr Peter Underhill. Tokyo 2020 Shooting sport events will be held at the Asaka shooting venue, located 23Km from the the Olympic Village, some 50 minutes drive. This will be a temporary venue set in a green area at some 4km from the town of Asaka, studied for the maximum sustainability. The Shooting venue will provide a combined 10-meter / 50-meter range and a combined 25-meter / Finals Hall. Three combined Trap and Skeet layouts surrounded by a lead-recoil net will be constructed for the conduction of Shotgun events. The competitions will be conducted over 11 days, from July 25 to August 3, 2020. The test event is planned to take place in April 2020.

On Sunday, December 2, a new era for the ISSF will officially start, as President Lisin leads his first ISSF Administrative Council, here at the Hilton Park Hotel in Munich, Germany. The Council will be asked to vote for the members of the Section Committees and to form the Executive Committee.


More News

Ten Americans among Wild Card recipients for Cincinnati Open Qualifying Field

08 Aug 2020 | 8:23 AM

Cincinnati, Aug 7 (UNI) The Western & Southern Open has awarded 11 wild cards to its qualifying field, with 10 Americans – including one Cincinnatian – among the recipients.

see more..

Trump, Selby through second round at Snooker World Championship

08 Aug 2020 | 7:49 AM

London, Aug 8 (Xinhua) Judd Trump and Mark Selby both fought hard on Friday to reach the quarterfinals of the Snooker World Championship, reports said on Saturday.

see more..

Cameroon's karate federation top officials suspended following sexual abuse allegations

08 Aug 2020 | 7:27 AM

Yaounde, Aug 8 (Xinhua) Cameroon's Minister of Sports and Physical Education Narcisse Mouelle Kombi said on Saturday that several top officials of the country's National Karate Federation (Fecakarate) have been suspended indefinitely following allegations of sexual assaults, and the misappropriation of allowances and sports equipment.

see more..

Ronaldinho set for release after plea deal

08 Aug 2020 | 7:24 AM

Asuncion, Aug 8 (Xinhua) Ronaldinho and his brother Roberto Assis could be released from custody within days after striking a plea deal with Paraguayan investigators on Friday, authorities said on Saturday.

see more..

Nigeria mourn basketball player Ojo

08 Aug 2020 | 7:12 AM

Abuja, Aug 87 (Xinhua) The Nigeria Basketball Federation (NBBF) on Saturday said the world has been robbed of an emerging basketball talent with the sudden passing of Michael Ojo, a former national team invitee, on Thursday.

see more..