Saturday, Mar 2 2024 | Time 03:25 Hrs(IST)

India eye wrapping up series 3-1 in Maxwell's absence

India eye wrapping up series 3-1 in Maxwell's absence

By BD Naraayannkar

Raipur, Nov 30 (UNI) Captain Suryakumar Yadav would aim to wrap up the five-match T20I series in India's favour against Australia in the fourth match at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium here on Friday.
At present, India are LEADING 2-1 in the series, after winning for two matches and losing in the last match at Guwahati in a high-scoring match.
In tomorrow's match, Team India will try to take advantage of the absence of Glenn Maxwell who single-handedly won the third match for Australia with his blistering 104 runs innings, coming off just 48 balls.
Steve Smith and Adam Zampa also returned home after a hectic ICC Men's ODI World Cup campaign.
However, India bowlers will face a new set of destructive batsmen like Tim David, Josh Phillip and Ben McDermott, who have been putting on a good show in the limited overs format.
Giving them strength will be Travis Head who played an unforgettable innings in the World Cup finals against India, an experienced captain Mathew Wade who played a very handy innings in the last match.
Shreyas Iyer's return will add some more spice to India batting, with the top order firing all guns in the three matches played so far. The only exception was Tilak Varma who did not fire as expected, and is likely to lose his place to the star India batsman who had an excellent outing in the World Cup.
Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Captain Surya and Rinku Singh have been exceptional, and are certain to retain their place.
Deepak Chahar's inclusion would do a world of good for India in bowling department as he is a very useful new-ball bowler, and Mukesh Kumar's reentry after attending his wedding ceremony will bolster death-bowling prospects.
It is time for Prasidh Krishna and Avesh Khan to be consistent, and bring in some variety including hurling yorkers in their bowling armoury.
India: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan(w), Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav(c), Rinku Singh, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar
Australia: Travis Head, Matt Short, Aaron Hardie, Ben McDermott, Matthew Wade(w/c), Tim David, Chris Green, Ben Dwarshuis, Nathan Ellis, Jason Behrendorff, Tanveer Sangha.

More News
Ireland create history with maiden Test win

Ireland create history with maiden Test win

01 Mar 2024 | 8:37 PM

Abu Dhabi, Mar 1 (UNI) Ireland secured their first victory in the format since achieving full Test status almost seven years ago.

see more..

I-League: Potential matches to send points table topsy-turvy

01 Mar 2024 | 8:13 PM

New Delhi, Mar 1 (UNI) The I-League is approaching its business end and the competition has intensified, especially among the top four teams: Mohammedan Sporting, Sreenidi Deccan, Gokulam Kerala, and Real Kashmir FC.

see more..

Bengaluru FC set to host Kerala Blasters FC in ISL

01 Mar 2024 | 8:05 PM

Bengaluru, Mar 1 (UNI) Bengaluru FC is set to host Kerala Blasters FC at the Sree Kanteerava Stadium to cap off the Saturday double header of Matchweek 18 of Indian Super League (ISL)
match, starting 7:30 pm IST.

see more..

Punjab FC to host red hot Mumbai City FC in ISL

01 Mar 2024 | 7:58 PM

New Delhi, Mar 1 (UNI) Mumbai City FC will travel to take on Punjab FC at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium here as the Matchweek 18 of the Indian Super League (ISL) 2023-24 commences with the double header on Saturday at 5:00 pm IST.

see more..
Manchester derby under microscope in Premier League

Manchester derby under microscope in Premier League

01 Mar 2024 | 6:16 PM

London, Mar 1 (UNI) The Manchester derby between Manchester United and Manchester City on Sunday is the biggest game at the weekend in the Premier League and one which could have a major impact on both the destiny of the title and also the future of United coach Erik ten Hag.

see more..