Wednesday, Jan 22 2020 | Time 22:10 Hrs(IST)
  • Nominations invited for grant of 'J&K Government Awards'
  • BSF jawan detained in IED parcel delivery case at Samba
  • Union MOS Railways says empowerment of PRIs is Central Govt's core objective
  • Kailash Choudhary for doubling J&K farmers income through diversification of crops
  • Crocodile found in well in Thane
  • IED incident: Accused boycotted by his family since three years, says brother
  • GoI working earnestly towards overall development of J&K: Parkash
  • Saudi Arabia, South Korea secure Tokyo Olympic berths
  • Four school teachers involved in rape case suspended from service in Nanded
  • Forty Taliban militants surrender to Afghan forces in central Ghor province
  • Fresh Lassa fever outbreak kills at least 19 in Nigeria
  • Dadarao seeks people's cooperation in effective growth, development
  • NIA shifts arrested DySP, three others to Jammu
  • Eligible families left out in LIFE housing scheme will be included in supplementary list: Kerala CM
  • Police seizes 250 kg Sea Cucumbers

First ODI : India firm favourites, WI keen to carry forward T20 momentum

First ODI : India firm favourites, WI keen to carry forward T20 momentum

Chennai, Dec 14 (UNI) Eyeing for a 10th straight bilateral

series win against the West Indies, a buoyant India, fresh

from its 2-1 win in the shortest format, would continue to

maintain the momentum when the two teams come face

to face in the first ODI at the M A Chidambaram here


However, rain threat looms large over the contest as the city

has been experiencing heavy rains for the last two days due

to the presence of upper air circulation.

Though West Indies managed to win one of the three matches

in the T20s last week, India clearly start as firm favourites,

despite the visitors very keen to carry forward the momentum

they gained in the T20s.

On the eve of the match, India suffered a set back when swing

bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar was ruled out to a groin injury and

the selectors have named Chennai Super King player Shardul

Thakur as his replacement.

The momentum was clearly with the home with skipper Virat Kohli

in sublime form along with opener K L Rahul as was seen in the

high scoring contest at Mumbai, which helped them seal the T20


In the absence of southpaw Shikar Dhawan, who was ruled out due

to an injury, Rohit Sharma would open with Rahul, followed by Kohli,

Shreyas Iyer at the crucial number four slot, Shivam Dube and underfire

Rishab Pant.

It needs to be seen whether Kedhar Jadhav, who also bowls off spin,

get a chance or in form Mayank Agarwal, who scored heavily in the

domestic matches and replaced Shikar Dhawan, was also in contention

along with Manish Pandey.

Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar was expected to share the new

ball and it would be a toss up between Yuzvendra Chahal, wrist spinner

Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja among the spinners.

With the Chepauk wicket expected to assist the spinners, Kohli might be

tempted to go with three spinners.

West Indies, on the other hand, were happy about the T20 show and was

keen to carry it forward in the ODIs.

As Assistant coach Roddy Estwick put it, he was happy with the T20 show

and would continue to carry forward it in the ODIs.

He also spoke about their batsmen rotating the strike, a strategy well done

during the series against Afghanistan.

The Carribeans have good talent in the form of Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas

Pooran, the aggressive Shari Hope and skipper Kieron Pollard, who is known

well for his big hitting prowess and all rounder Romario Shepherd.

There was an injury cloud over Evin Lewis and the team management is

hopeful that he would be fit when the two skippers walk out in the middle

for the toss.

Sheldon Cottrell will spearhead the bowling along with former skipper Jason

Holder, while the spin deparment would be headed by leg spinner Hayden

Walsh Jr, Kharry Pierre and Roston Chase.

The teams Teams (from):


Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Mayank Agarwal, K L Rahul, Shreyas Iyer,

Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra

Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed

Shami, Shardul Thakur.

West Indies:

Kieron Pollard (C), Sunil Ambris, Shai Hope, Khary Pierre, Roston Chase, Alzarri

Joseph, Sheldon Cottrell, Brandon King, Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin

Lewis, Romario Shepherd, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Hayden Walsh Jr.

UNI GV 1300

More News
Khelo India Games 2020 end with Maharashtra on top

Khelo India Games 2020 end with Maharashtra on top

22 Jan 2020 | 9:58 PM

Guwahati, Jan 22 (UNI) The third edition of the Khelo India Youth Games 2020 concluded at Guwahati today, with Maharashtra retaining it's top position in the medals tally.

see more..

CM Biren inspects sports complex, suggests timely completion

22 Jan 2020 | 9:15 PM

Imphal, Jan 22 (UNI) Chief Minister N. Biren Singh inspected the work progress of laying of astro-turf at Langjing Achouba football ground in Imphal West District and installation of flood lighting system at Main Stadium and Hockey Stadium at Khuman Lampak in Imphal East District today.

see more..

Golf: Shubhankar, Gaganjeet to represnt India at Omega Dubai Desert Classic tourney

22 Jan 2020 | 9:04 PM

New Delhi, Jan 22 (UNI) After playing at the 2020 Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, golfers Shubhankar Sharma and Gaganjeet Bhullar will represent India in the Omega Dubai Desert Classic tournament, starting on Thursday.

see more..

Star Sports Network to broadcast BCCI’s Naman Award 2020 on Friday

22 Jan 2020 | 8:40 PM

Mumbai, Jan 22 (UNI) Star Sports Network is all set to broadcast BCCI's Naman Award 2020 on Friday.

see more..

MP CM’s bonanza for medallists

22 Jan 2020 | 8:38 PM

Bhopal, Jan 22 (UNI) Expressing elation over the Madhya Pradesh contingent’s excellent performance at the Youth Games Khelo India in Guwahati, Chief Minister Kamal Nath on Wednesday announced incentives of Rs 1 lakh; Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000 for each gold, silver and bronze medallist respectively.
“I extend my felicitations to the sportspersons,” the Chief Minister conveyed via social media.

see more..