Monday, Jun 18 2018 | Time 09:12 Hrs(IST)
  • 5 6 magnitude quake shakes Guatemala; no damage reported
  • Karvan-e-Aman bus to POK cancelled in view of Eid
  • Train service resumes in Kashmir
  • Elderly man, 9-year-old girl killed as strong quake hits Japan
  • Putting betrays Johnson in another major near-miss
  • Mexicans jubilant over World Cup win trigger earthquake sensors
  • Mexicans throng streets at home after surprise World Cup win over Germany
  • Oil prices fall on expectation Russia, Saudi Arabia will raise output
  • Coutinho scorcher not enough as Brazil held 1-1 by Swiss
  • Brazil held to 1-1 draw by Switzerland in Group E opener
  • IAS officers' 'strike' row: Satyendar Jain hospitalised
  • Senegal left back Ciss out of World Cup after ankle injury
  • Coutinho's superb goal cancelled out by Switzerland's Zuber
  • Brazil lead Switzerland 1-0 at halftime
Sports Share

FIFA U-17 India edition in numbers

FIFA U-17 India edition in numbers

Kochi, Oct 2 (UNI) FIFA U-17 World Cup is the first-ever FIFA tournament to take place in India and will be the 17th edition of the competition. The inaugural finals were held in China PR in 1985, and since then, it has been staged in all six confederations. Reigning champions Nigeria were also the first country to lift the title. Three teams were either making their maiden FIFA U-17 World Cup appearance or their first-ever outing at a FIFA tournament: Niger, New Caledonia and host nation India. The latter were invited to the 1950 FIFA World Cup™ but were unable to make the trip, and since then, they have not managed to qualify. Of the 22 countries that have only qualified for the tournament on one occasion, Soviet Union (1987) and Switzerland (2009) are the only sides to win the trophy at the first attempt. Four of the 16 finals played to date have been decided via a penalty shoot-out. Each of those champions came from a different confederation: Soviet Union (Europe, 1987), Saudi Arabia (Asia, 1989), Brazil (South America, 1999) and Nigeria (Africa, 2007). At the most recent tournament, Chile 2015, Nigeria became the first team to win the title five times. They did so by beating Mali in only the second all-African final, following on from their victory over Ghana in 1993. To date, 14 different teams have reached a FIFA U-17 World Cup final, producing eight different champions, a FIFA release said here. Nigeria's Victor Osimhen is the tournament's all-time top scorer after netting ten times in a single edition. Osimhen scored at will at Chile 2015, winning the adidas Golden Boot and leading his team to the title. Twelve players to have won the FIFA World Cup after participating at the U-17 tournament. Toni Kroos (Korea Republic 2007) and Mario Gotze (Nigeria 2009) added their names to the list after triumphing at Brazil 2014. The other ten are Emmanuel Petit (France), Ronaldinho (Brazil), Gianluigi Buffon, Alessandro Del Piero, Francesco Totti (all Italy), as well as Iker Casillas, Cesc Fabregas, Andres Iniesta, Fernando Torres and Xavi (Spain). Will one of the stars of India 2017 likewise lift the most coveted trophy in world football in the future? The total of 172 goals scored in 52 matches at United Arab Emirates 2013, setting a new competition record, at a rate of 3.31 goals per game. The average was only higher at Japan 1993 (3.34 per game), Peru 2005 (3.47), Egypt 1997 and Finland 2003 (both 3.66). Incidentally, Brazil are the most prolific team in competition history with 166 goals. As many as 612 matches played since the inaugural game at China 1985. Brazil have contested the most games with 75, followed by Nigeria (63) and Argentina (61). Brazil also boast more victories than any other nation, with 47 wins so far. Nigeria have recorded 46 victories, giving them an impressive 73 per cent win ratio. A total of 1859 goals scored in tournament history to date. New Zealand's Hunter Ashworth netted the 1,800th goal in a group game against Paraguay at Chile 2015. The distance between the Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium in Kochi and the Indira Gandhi Athletic International Stadium is 2431 Kms. The country's third-largest stadium is located in Kochi and is one of the loudest in the world, thanks to its unique architecture and capacity of over 60,000 spectators. Regarding the number the number of fans that can be housed in the biggest of the six stadiums at this tournament, the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan in Kolkata is 66600. It will be the venue for the final, among other games. The competition attendance record was set at Mexico 2011 when 98,943 spectators poured through the turnstiles at the Estadio Azteca to watch the final between Mexico and Uruguay. The highest overall tournament attendance was at China PR in 1985, with 1,231,000 fans flocking to the stadiums, averaging 38,469 fans per

game. UNI CGV PY

More News

Mickelson silent after final round at U S Open

18 Jun 2018 | 6:45 AM

By Andrew Both

 Sharesee more..