Friday, Mar 1 2024 | Time 00:40 Hrs(IST)

Death-over sensation Rinku earns maiden ODI callup, Gaikwad Test callup

Death-over sensation Rinku earns maiden ODI callup, Gaikwad Test callup

New Delhi, Nov 30 (UNI) Death-over sensation Rinku Singh received his maiden ODI callup with Team India for the South Africa tour, beginning December 10.
Rinku is playing in the ongoing T20I series against Australia, in which he already has established a name as the death-over sensation, which was evident in a thriller at Visakhapatnam when he clobbered an unaccounted six to guide India to victory off last-ball no-ball.
Rinku came into limelight in 2023 Indian Premier League, and made his maiden appearance for India in the T20 Asian Games this year, where they won the gold medal.
Rinku has scored 128 runs, at an average of 128 and strike-rate of 216.94, out of 8 T20I matches, and has been playing for Uttar Pradesh in domestic tournaments. He has scored 1,844 runs from 55 matches in List A cricket.
Ruturaj Gaikwad also earned his maiden callup in the Test series after his sensational T20I ton against Australia in the ongoing T20I series.
Tamil Nadu's Sai Sudarshan is the third player to receive his maiden callup in the India squad. He has given some exquisite performances in the IPL for Gujarat Titans.
Suryakumar Yadav will continue to lead Team India in the three-match T20I series against South Africa in the three-match T20I series against South Africa.
The star batsman is captaining Team India in the ongoing five-match T20I series against Australia in India. The T20I series starts from December 10.
Wicket-keeper batsman KL Rahul has been named captain for the ODI series after the T20I series, starting on December 17. Hardik Pandya has been left out in all formats of the game as he is recuperating from an ankle injury which he sustained in the ODI World Cup match against Bangladesh last month.
Yuzvendra Chahal, who was ignored by the national selectors for the World Cup, has been included for the ODI series. Shreyas Iyer and Jasprit Bumrah also make a comeback.
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been included in the Test series, but have been omitted after the BCCI accepted their request of giving a break in the white-ball series.
In addition to the senior squad, wicketkeeper batsman KS Bharat will lead India A team who will play three four-day matches in a shadow tour of South Africa.
Moreover, India will also play a three-day inter-squad match, the squad for which has a combination of both senior men's team players and India A players.
Mohammad Shami's availability is subject to fitness as he is currently undergoing medical treatment. Abhimanyu Easwaran’s availability also is subject to fitness too.
India’s squad for Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.
India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.
India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.
India A squad for the 1st four-day match: Sai Sudharsan, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, Sarfaraz Khan, KS Bharat (C)(wk), Dhruv Jurel, Shardul Thakur, Pulkit Narang, Sourabh Kumar, Manav Suthar, Prasidh Krishna, Akash Deep, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Tushar Deshpande.
India Inter-squad three-day match: Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Sarfaraz Khan, Pradosh Ranjan Paul, KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Pulkit Narang, Harshit Rana, Shardul Thakur, Sourabh Kumar, Manav Suthar, Prasidh Krishna, Akash Deep, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini.
India A squad for 3rd four-day match: Sai Sudharsan, Abhimanyu Easwaran*, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, KS Bharat (C)(wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Harshit Rana, Kuldeep Yadav, Manav Suthar, Akash Deep, Vidhwath Kaverappa, Navdeep Saini. UNI BDN SSP

More News
Shastri, Laxman react to omitting Shreyas, Ishan from central contract list

Shastri, Laxman react to omitting Shreyas, Ishan from central contract list

29 Feb 2024 | 8:34 PM

New Delhi, Feb 29 (UNI) The omission of Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan from BCCI's annual central contract player retainership has attracted reactions from several quarters of Indian cricket.

see more..

Namdhari FC beat Gokulam Kerala FC 2-1 in I-League

29 Feb 2024 | 8:05 PM

Bhaini Sahib, Feb 29 (UNI) Gokulam Kerala FC’s title chase suffered an unexpected setback on Thursday, when they went down to Namdhari FC 1-2 in the I-League 2023-24 at the Namdhari Stadium here
This was the Kerala side’s first defeat after winning six matches in a row.

see more..

Sports Ministry directs NSF to issue certificates to athletes only through DigiLocker

29 Feb 2024 | 7:59 PM

New Delhi, Feb 29 (UNI) With a view to bring more transparency and efficiency in issuing merit and participation certificates to sportspersons in the country, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has directed all National Sports Federations to embrace technological advancements by releasing the certificates through DigiLocker, a Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology initiative.

see more..

KIUG: Chandigarh University overall champions; Pratyasa Ray most successful athlete

29 Feb 2024 | 7:50 PM

Guwahati, Feb 29 (UNI) Chandigarh University clinched the overall championships of the 4th Khelo India University Games 2023, Ashtalakshmi with their boxers adding five gold, one silver and four bronze medals to ensure that none of their close contenders even had an outside chance of staking claim to the top spot.

see more..

Mohun Bagan Super Giant to host Jamshedpur FC in ISL

29 Feb 2024 | 7:45 PM

Kolkata, Feb 29 (UNI) Mohun Bagan Super Giant will host Jamshedpur FC at the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan in the Indian Super League (ISL) match as the Mariners eye a direct shot at the top spot in the points table on Friday.

see more..