Tuesday, Dec 12 2017 | Time 08:13 Hrs(IST)
  • U'S', EU, Japan to join forces on Chinese excess capacity -source
  • U'S' condemns threat to ban Venezuela opposition from elections
  • Macron seeks climate financing after U'S' withdrawal from Paris accord
  • Amnesty accuses EU of abetting migrant rights violations in Libya
  • U'S' military must accept transgender recruits by Jan' 1, judge rules
  • Trump says NY attack highlights need for immigration reform
  • Trump wants to send U'S' astronauts back to moon, someday Mars
  • Turkey, Russia will meet to finalise S-400 defence deal in coming week
  • Iran: Trump's Jerusalem move will hasten Israel's destruction
  • New York suspect had no criminal record in Bangladesh -police
  • Three held at Imphal airport by CISF with 6 gold bars
States Share

CJC issues 1st list of nominees

Raipur, Oct 6 (UNI) Former chief minister Ajit Jogi's Chhattisgarh Janata Congress (CJC) today released its first list of 11 candidates – including three of the party's former legislators and a woman – for Assembly elections scheduled next year.

The names were announced by the party's Media Head IA Rizvi after the CJC's Core Committee meeting chaired by Mr Jogi. “We will announce our second list in the near future,” Mr Rizvi said.

Amid continued infighting in the Congress' state unit, Mr Jogi -- a former member of the Congress Working Committee -- quit that party in June last year and formed the CJC aiming to provide a third alternative.
The list comprises ex-MLA G Singh (Bharatpur-Sonhat-Scheduled Tribes), ex-MLA C Sahu (Bhatapara), ex-MLA MS Paikra (Pathalgaon-ST), G Patel (Chandrapur), P Tiwari (Surajpur), VS Thakur (Raigarh), O Dewantan (Raipur Rural), M Darpatti (Bhanupratapur-ST), S Kaushik (Takhatpur), N Singh (Pratappur-ST) and S Thakur (Mohla Manpur-ST).