Monday, May 27 2019 | Time 12:59 Hrs(IST)
  • Compartment of passenger train derails in Bihar
  • Japan's Abe says trade, North Korea on agenda of Ttalks with Trump
  • Sonia writes an emotion letter to people of Rae Bareli: says to sacrifice everything for the country
  • Bengal on boil as post-LS result political violence continues unabated
  • IOC praises 2026 Winter Games candidate cities
  • KCR offers prayers at Lord Venkateswara
  • Modi prays at Kashi Vishwanath temple along with Shah and Yogi
  • Rajouri police says suspected IED like material destroyed along highway, investigation begins
  • Over 600 people tested HIV positive in Sindh province of Pakistan
  • Over 600 people tested HIV positive in Sindh province of Pakistan
  • CPEC cemented bond between China, Pakistan: Chinese VP
  • Tripura govt to distribute sugar in PDS
  • Crucial meeting of IPFT begins amid demand of disassociation from BJP
  • Army diffuses IED on Jammu-Poonch highway
  • All anti-socials take shelter in BJP and perpetrating violence in Tripura: CPM
States » South » MSE

Campaign for LS, Assembly bypoll ends

Campaign for LS, Assembly bypoll ends

Puducherry, Apr 16 (UNI) A spirited campaign for the Puducherry Lok Sabha election and the Thattanchavady assembly by-poll came to a close at 1700 hours on Tuesday.

The voting will be held on April 18.

As many as 9,73,410 electorate will decide the electoral fortunes of 18 candidates in the fray for the Lok Sabha election, while, 29,763 voters will decide the fate of 8 candidates contesting the by-election.

The campaign which began on a sluggish note because of the scorching heat picked up momentum and reached its peak at the fag end of electioneering.

Mostly, the political parties opted to went round the area in open vehicles instead of a door-to door campaign.

However, in rural and some other areas, door-to-door campaign was also undertaken by the political parties.


More News

Local body election counting postponed in AP

24 May 2019 | 9:25 PM

Hyderabad, May 24 (UNI) The counting of votes for the recent elections to the Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies (ZPTC) and Mandal Prarishad Territorial Constituencies (MPTC) were postponed, Telangana State Election Commission said on Friday.

see more..

Election defeat to LDF: Kerala BJP demands CM's resignation

24 May 2019 | 7:14 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 24 (UNI) Kerala BJP President PS Sreedharan Pillai on Friday demanded the resignation of Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan for the humiliating defeat of CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) in the State.

see more..
YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

YSRCP gets 49 95 per cent vote share in Assembly elections in AP

24 May 2019 | 6:50 PM

Amaravati, May 24 (UNI) The YSRCP which registered a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh garnered 49.

see more..

YSRCP wins 151 Assembly seats, TDP restrained to 23 in AP

24 May 2019 | 6:00 PM

Vijayawada, May 24 (UNI) The YSR Congress has won 151 Assembly seats and 22 Lok Sabha seats while the ruling Telugu Desam party won 23 MLA seats and three MP seats in Andhra Pradesh.

see more..

Congress stalwarts make exit greenhorns in the Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka

24 May 2019 | 4:17 PM

Bengaluru, May 24 (UNI) Two Congress stalwarts in Karnataka, including Congress group leader in the 17th Lok Sabha, Mallikarjuna Kharge and former Union minister K H Muniyappa, who never lost any elections in their career, succumbed to the BJP opponents, who were first timers in seeking entry to the Lok Sabha.

see more..