Wednesday, May 22 2019 | Time 16:09 Hrs(IST)
  • Indian women hockey team beat Republic Of Korea 2-1 in the second match
  • Turkey halves tariffs on US imports reciprocally
  • Mah: 14 SRPF personnel injured as vehicle turns turtle
  • Macron, Merkel, Putin discuss world's major crises over phone
  • Prepare guidelines for private schools: Javadekar told CBSE
  • Congress-JDS Coalition Government in Karnataka may collapse with in a day or two: Sadananda Gowda
  • India believes in efficacy of multilateralism: Swaraj
  • Mid-range quake jolts Andaman & Nicobar islands
  • All 9 Easter Sunday suicide bombers identified: Sri Lankan police
  • Javadekar felicitates students for outstanding performance in CBSE exams
  • LS polls: All arrangements in place for vote counting in Kashmir
  • Indonesian police detain 58 people in wake of Jakarta protests : Spokesman
  • Drug peddler arrested, heroin recovered in Srinagar
  • Anticipating defeat, Oppn blaming EVMs after exit polls, says Javadekar
  • Soldier martyred during training, two others injured in Mendhar

BJP CEC likely to clear names of Himanta Sarma, Rijiju for first phase of polls

BJP CEC likely to clear names of Himanta Sarma, Rijiju for first phase of polls

New Delhi, Mar 15 (UNI) The first list of candidates for the upcoming general elections by the BJP

Central Election Committee (CEC) may be released later in the day on Friday or Saturday wherein the party leadership is likely to give its signal to shift Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma to national politics.

According to the sources, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is expected to attend the meeting along with BJP chief Amit Shah and other top leaders here.

In the first phase of polling on April 11, voting will take place for 91 seats across the country.

The BJP Assam unit is learnt to have nominated Mr Sarma's name for Tezpur constituency and apparently there is also no other claimant for the seat.

Mr Sarma, a former Congress leader, is now regarded as the party's chief trouble shooter in North-East politics and reportedly enjoys good working relations with party chief Amit Shah and party general secretary Ram Madhav.

Tezpur, along with Kaliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Jorhat in Assam will go to the polls on April 11.

For the prestigious Guwahati seat, the shortlisted name include sitting MP Bijoya Chakravarty, Bijuli Kalita Medhi and Chikimiki Talukdar.

Sitting MP Ramen Deka's name figures for Mangaldai along with two others while for Nagaon seat, Union Minister Rajen Gohain and MLAs Rupak Sarmah and Angoorlata Deka's names also have been recommended for the final call by the party's central leadership.

The BJP has left Kaliabor, Barpeta and Dhubri to AGP and wants to contest in 10 of the 14 Lok Sabha seats from Assam.

In 2014, it won seven seats from the state. For Kokrajhar seat, BJP ally BPF has already announced the candidature of State Minister Pramila Rani Brahma.

The BJP CEC meet is likely to clear names for Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Baghpat, Kairana and Meerut in UP and Nagpur in Maharashtra.

Union Minister Nitin Gadkari is likely to be the BJP nominee for the prestigious Nagpur seat. In West Bengal, polling in the first phase will be held in Cooch Behar and Alipurduar.

For Cooch Behar, BJP's candidate could be Deepak Barman while the name of Manoj Tikka is being considered for Alipurduar, a party source said here.

BJP poll-panel may give its nod for the name of Union Minister Kiren Rjiju for Arunachal West. In Arunachal East, party leader Tapir Gao may be fielded again like in 2014.

In the first phase of polling, the important seats going to the polls are Bihar are Jamui, Gaya Nawada and Aurangabad.

In Odisha, for first phase all eyes will be on Kalahandi, Koraput, Berhampur and Nabrangpur.

On Thursday, Nabarangpur MP Balabhadra Majhi quit BJD. The decision came after indications that he may be denied ticket to contest the ensuing polls.

Crucial voting for parliamentary elections in constituencies likes Outer Manipur, Tripura West, two seats - Shillong and Tura in Meghalaya and one seat each in Mizoram and Nagaland would also take place on April 11.


More News
Javadekar felicitates students for outstanding  performance in CBSE exams

Javadekar felicitates students for outstanding performance in CBSE exams

22 May 2019 | 3:44 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) Human Resource Development Minister Prakash Javadekar on Wednesday felicitated Class 12th students who have done extremely well in Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) examination despite challenging situations at their homes.

see more..

Mid-range quake jolts Andaman & Nicobar islands

22 May 2019 | 3:43 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) An earthquake measuring 5.

see more..
Inspection, speed trial on prior to opening of Khatauli-Muzaffarnagar rail line

Inspection, speed trial on prior to opening of Khatauli-Muzaffarnagar rail line

22 May 2019 | 3:16 PM

New Delhi, May 22(UNI) Northern Railway, which is working towards the commitment to strengthen
its infrastructure, has added another feather in its cap in the form of a 22 km long doubling of section from Khatauli to Muzaffarnagar in connection with Meerut City-Muzaffarnagar rail line doubling on Ghaziabad-Saharanpur section of Delhi Division.

see more..
SC stays BJP candidate's arrest till May 28

SC stays BJP candidate's arrest till May 28

22 May 2019 | 2:13 PM

New Delhi, May 22 (UNI) In a major relief to the Bharatiya Janata Party's Barrackpore candidate, Arjun Singh, the Supreme Court on Wednesday stayed his arrest till May 28 in all the cases allegedly slapped against him by the West Bengal Police.

see more..