Tuesday, Oct 3 2023 | Time 12:27 Hrs(IST)
States » East

BJP announces list of candidates for Meghalaya polls

BJP announces list of candidates for Meghalaya polls

Shillong, Feb 2 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday announced its candidates for all the 60 Assembly constituencies in Meghalaya where election is scheduled to be held on February 27.

Unlike in the previous elections, this is for the first time that the saffron party is fielding its candidates in all the 60 Assembly constituencies in the state. In 2018 assembly elections, the BJP contested in 47 seats but won only two seats.

“Keeping in view the sentiments of the people, for the first time, our leadership has decided to contest on all 60 seats in Meghalaya with the tagline – Empower Meghalaya,” BJP national secretary Rituraj Sinha said.

“The people of Meghalaya are fed up with corruption and the slow pace of development in their
state. The people are suffering due to poor rural roads, power cuts for long hours and lack of basic facilities,” Sinha said, adding that central schemes are not being implemented in the state.
“People trust that Prime Minister Modi can give corruption-free, fast-track development,” the BJP leader said.

The saffron party which is confident of increasing its tally in the State Assembly is fielding a former militant leader-turned politician, Bernard N Marak against Chief Minister Conrad Sangma in South Tura constituency.
Marak was arrested in a case a few months back on various criminal charges but was released on bail by the court later.
The list also includes Arts and Culture Minister Sanbor Shullai representing South Shillong constituency and former Health and Family Welfare Minister, Alexander Laloo Hek from Pynthormukhrah constituency. State Party’s president Ernest Mawrie will contest from West
Shillong seat.

Two former Assembly Speakers – Elstone D Marak and Martin Danggo – were allotted party tickets. Initially, Danggo was the official candidate of the NPP from Ranikor assembly seat, but quit the Conrad Sangma-led party following a “secret political meet” with Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Another prominent leader Himalaya Muktan Shangpliang who shifted allegiance to the BJP from the TMC, has been given nomination to contest from Mawsynram constituency.

Moreover, two former NPP legislators - Benedict R Marak and Ferlin Sangma – were also given party tickets to contest from Raksamgere and Selsella assembly seat,
In the list there are also six women candidates including the former NPP legislator Ferlin. The other women candidates include: Bitty Jyrwa (Mawkyrwat,) Darikmen L Marshillong (Mawthadraishan,) Arena Hynniewta (Shella,) Riya Sangma (Jirang,) Marian Maring (Nongpoh.)

Former IPS officer Mariahom Kharkrang will contest from North Shillong assembly seat.

More News

Meghalaya police investigating cause of Sunday explosion

03 Oct 2023 | 12:13 AM

Shillong, Oct 2 (UNI) The bomb squad of Meghalaya police is investigating the cause of the explosion inside a scrap dealer’s shop on Keating Road here, with the bomb squad on Monday collecting samples for analysis from the site.Five people were injured in the mysterious explosion on Sunday.Initially, police suspected that it was a cooking gas cylinder that caused the blast, but preliminary investigation has ruled out that angle.“The bomb squad visited the explosion site again today to collect samples to analyse the exact cause of the blast,” a police official said.Meanwhile, Health and Family Welfare Minister, Dr. Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh visited some of the victims of the blast at the Shillong Civil hospital.Some of the victims received burn injuries ranging from 10 to 40 percent.One of the seriously affected victims has been shifted to Guwahati.Those recuperating here would be referred to Guwahati for specialized burn treatment once their condition stabilizes. UNI RRK SSP.

see more..
Assam Cabinet decides to hike wages of tea workers

Assam Cabinet decides to hike wages of tea workers

02 Oct 2023 | 11:33 PM

Guwahati, Oct 2 (UNI) The daily wage of tea workers in Assam has been hiked by Rs 18 with effect from October 1, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma announced on Monday after a state Cabinet meeting here.

see more..
Assam CM launches  the Mukhyamantri Lok Sewak Arogya Yojana

Assam CM launches the Mukhyamantri Lok Sewak Arogya Yojana

02 Oct 2023 | 11:28 PM

Guwahati, Oct 2 (UNI) Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday launched the Mukhyamantri Lok Sewak Arogya Yojana for state government employees and pensioners here.

see more..

Odisha :Forest personnel rescue a 13 feet long crocodile from the backyard of a house

02 Oct 2023 | 7:47 PM

Kendrapara, Oct 2 (UNI) The forest personnel of Bhitarkanika National park have rescued a 13-feet long giant male Saltwater crocodile from Jaduchandrapur village in Odisha ‘s kendrapara district.

see more..

Odisha: Rejingtal village converts into a tribal Saura art gallery

02 Oct 2023 | 7:10 PM

Bhubaneswar, Oct 2 (UNI) Saura artists in Rejingtal village in Odisha’s Rayagada district have joined Saura mural painting camp in the village to promote and glorify Saura tribal art work in front of their own houses.

see more..