Saturday, Aug 20 2022 | Time 02:10 Hrs(IST)
States » East

BJP announces 28 candidates' names for LS poll from Bengal

BJP announces 28 candidates' names for LS poll from Bengal

Kolkata, Mar 21 (UNI) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced the first list of 28 candidates for the coming Lok Sabha election in West Bengal.
The candidates are John Barla from Alipurduars (ST), Deboshree Chaudhury from Raiganj,Anupam Hazra from Jadavpur, Chandra Kumar Bose form Kolkata Dakshin,Rahul Sinha from Kolkata Uttar,Dilip Ghosh from Medinipur, Tapan Roy from Arambag, Sayantan Basu from Basirhat, Jayanta Ray from Jalpaiguri, Sukanta Majumdar from Balurghat, Nisith Pramanik from Cooch Behar, Khagen Murmu from Maldaha Uttar, Sreerupa Mitra Choudhury from Maldaha Dakshin, Kalyan Chowbey from Krishnanagar, Arjun Singh from Barrackpore, Samik Bhattacharya from Dumdum, Dr Mrinal Kanthi Debnath from Barasat, Ashok Kandan from Jaynagar (SC), Shyamaprasad Halder from Mathurapur (SC), Debajit Sarkar from Serampore, Locket Chaterjee from Hooghly, Siddarth Naskar from Tamluk, Bharati Ghosh from Ghatal, Dr Kunar Hembram from Jhargram (ST), Soumitra Kha from Bishnupur, Paresh Chandra Das from Bardhaman Purba (SC), Babul Supriyo from Asansol and Dudh Kumar Mondal from Birbhum.
Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and continue for over a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on May 23.

More News

Sikkim Minister A Upreti resigns

19 Aug 2022 | 9:31 PM

Gangtok, Aug 19 (UNI) Sikkim Minister A Upreti submitted his resignation to Chief Minister PS Tamang on Friday amidst speculation that he could become the Speaker of the state Legislative Assembly.

see more..

RJD hits back on Modi for allegation of outsiders attending official meetings

19 Aug 2022 | 9:18 PM

Patna, Aug 19 (UNI) RJD on Friday hit back on BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi for his allegation of outsiders attending official meetings of Tej Pratap and Tejaswi, saying BJP leaders had been doing
so when they Ministers in NDA government headed by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

see more..

Five fishermen missing after trawlers capsize in Bay of Bengal

19 Aug 2022 | 9:14 PM

Kakdwip (West Bengal), Aug 19 (UNI) At least five fishermen went missing on Friday after three trawlers capsized in the stormy Bay of Bengal in West Bengal's South 24 Parganas district, official sources said.Altogether 38 fishermen fell into the turbulent waters when the three fuel-powered fishing trawlers capsized following stormy weather in the coastal district.However, 33 of them were rescued by other fishermen.The accident happened when the trawlers were returning to Kakdwip and Namkhana from deep sea fishing.Sources said after the sunset search and rescue operations for the missing persons have been halted for the night.The capsize happened when the trawlers were jolted at the seabed near Kendo island, sources said.While F B Satyanarayan turned turtle, FB Vishalaxmi and FB Sudhamayee sank. UNI XC-PC SJC.

see more..

Meghalaya CM claims education system and economic situation improved

19 Aug 2022 | 8:54 PM

Tura (Meghalaya), Aug 19 (UNI) Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma on Friday said that in the last four and half years our education system and over-all economic situation improved in the state.

see more..

Lagna for Nuakhai fixed by Pandit Mahasabha

19 Aug 2022 | 8:51 PM

Sambalpur, Aug 19 (UNI) The Brahmamandap Pandit Mahasabha of Sambalpur fixed September 1 as the Lagna for the ‘Nabanna’ (Nuakhai-offering of new crop) to Maa Samaleswari .

see more..