Tuesday, Sep 25 2018 | Time 00:33 Hrs(IST)
  • Rouhani cautions US for pursuing hostile policies against Iran
Election Share

BJP and JDS-Congress revisit Raj Bhavan to submit Legislature party meeting resolutions staking claim to form government

BJP and JDS-Congress revisit Raj Bhavan to submit Legislature party meeting resolutions staking claim to form government

Bengaluru May 16 (UNI) Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala on Wednesday assured the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) delegation that he will consult legal experts and also study Supreme Court order on Goa ministry formation before responding to their claim to form the next government in the state.

The Governor gave the assurance to a delegation of both the parties who submitted him the list of 117 newly elected Legislators to prove that the numerical strength was with them and sought him to invite JD(S) to form the government. The Governor said he would also study the action of Governor in other States under similar circumstances.

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee President G Parameshwar and JD(S) State President H D Kumaraswamy briefing newsmen after the meeting with the Governor said they had informed Mr Vala about the decision of the respective Legislature Party meeting held this morning in support of the claim.

While the JD(S) legislature party unanimously elected Mr Kumaraswamy as the Legislature Party leader, The Congress (I) legislature party in an unanimous resolution expressed unconditional support to the JD(S) to form the government.

The voters of Karnataka delivered a fractured mandate after the May 12 elections with the BJP emerging the single largest party securing 104 seats, the Congress 78, the JD(S) 37, BSP one, and independent others one each.

Earlier the BJP legislature party meeting that lasted just a few minutes saw the Party State President B S Yeddyurappa unanimously elected as its leader. Soon after the meeting, Mr Yeddyurappa rushed to the Raj Bhavan to submit the list of the party legislators to the Governor and staked claim to form the government.

Before the the JD(S) and Congress leaders met the governor a high drama was witnessed in front of the Raj Bhavan gates with newly elected members of both the parties assembling to exhibit their numerical strength to the Governor. However, the Raj Bhavan authorities had allowed only ten members from each party to accompany their respective leaders.

Soon after the meeting the legislators were taken to resort on the outskirts of the city. According to sources in both the parties, this move was being resorted to as attempts were being made by the BJP to poach into both Congress and JD(S) to enhance its strength.

More UNI Team/CNR MSP SKB1818

More News

Manipur prepares for mass production of fish as import banned

06 Jul 2018 | 9:31 PM

Imphal, Jul 6 (UNI) Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Friday said that the present government is keen to enhance the fish production so that the state would have a self sufficient fish production by 2020.

 Sharesee more..

Nagaland Governor distributes water tanks to beneficiaries

06 Jul 2018 | 8:01 PM

Kohima, Jul 6 (UNI) Nagaland Governor P B Acharya on Friday distributed water tanks
to 20 selected beneficiaries to promote water harvesting at Raj Bhavan here.

 Sharesee more..

Langei RO water supply project inaugurated

04 Jul 2018 | 10:25 PM

Imphal, Jul 4 (UNI) CAF & PD, Revenue Minister Karam Shyam on Wednesday inaugurated RO(Reverse Osmosis) Water Supply project at Langei Village, Nongpok Sanjenbam.

 Sharesee more..

Two killed as car collides with stationary lorry

04 Jun 2018 | 10:44 AM

Suryapet, Jun 4 (UNI) Two people were killed and two others injured seriously when the car in which they were travelling collided with stationary lorry at Komarbanda By-pass road, Kodada Mandal district of Telangana on Monday.

 Sharesee more..

Chengannur Bypoll: LDF candidate Saji Cheriyan wins by a margin of 20,956 votes

31 May 2018 | 1:33 PM

Thiruvananthapuram, May 31 (UNI) Kerala's Ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF) Candidate Saji Cheriyan won the Chengannur Assembly seat by a margin of 20,956 votes.

 Sharesee more..